PSU Library Logo
 
 

Environmental Science

   

Subject Resource Guide for Environmental Science

   

Sections of this guide:

Encyclopedias   |  Reference Works  |   Databases and Indexes | Online Full Text Journals
Other Important Resources   |   Call Numbers   |    Organizations & Societies   |  Web Resources


   

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing articles in which a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.

book Conservation and Environmentalism : an Encyclopedia (GE10 .C68)
book Encyclopedia of Hydrology and Water Resources (GB655 .E53)
book Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management
(GE300 .E53)
book McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Environmental Science & Engineering
(GE10 .M38)
book Environmental Encyclopedia (GE10 .E57)

Go to top of page


   

Reference Books

Handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.

book Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater. 20th ed. (QD142 .A5 1998)

Go to top of page


   

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.
psu-only access via the web Ebscohost: Academic Search Premier

For lower division students, Ebscohost is a great choice. Most environmental topics are 'hot' enough that there is plenty of literature out there and if comprehensive searching is not needed, this one does the trick.

psu-only access via the web Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management

Consists of thirteen databases relating to environment and pollution. These include "Ecology Abstracts,""Pollution Abstracts,""Water Resource Abstracts," and others in toxicology, health and safety, and risk analysis.

Coverage: 1980 - updated daily

psu-only access via the web Agricola

A database complied by the U.S. National Agriculture Library providing citations and abstracts for journal articles, chapters, reports, books, and audiovisual material. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics,extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences."

Coverage: "Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century."

psu-only access via the web Geobase

Provides citations to journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports. Subject coverage includes: cartography, climatology, energy, environment,
geochemistry, geophysics, geomorphology, human geography, hydrology, meteorology, paleontology, petrology, photogrammetry, sedimentology, volcanology.

Coverage: 1980 - the present

Go to top of page


   

Online Full Text Journals

Many, but by no means ALL, of the journals of interest in environmental sciences are available online. Most of the journals require authentication for off campus use.


psu-only access via the web

Environmnetal science journals online

Go to top of page


   

Important Resources

These sources don't fit into any particular category, but are important for the discipline.

 

Forest Service Index

A card index of Forest Service technical publications. Use this for pre-1976 publications (1976 on is in Vikat).

Go to top of page


   

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
GB 650-3000 - Hydrology
GE - Environmental Science - this is a fairly new classification so only recent works are classified here
GF - Human ecology - human/environment relationship
QC 851-999 - climatology
QH 75-78 - Biology, also general ecology, nature conservation
QH 541.5 - biology / ecology by environment
TD - Environmental Technology, Sanitation Engineering.
Includes environmental protection and pollution

Go to top of page


   

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society or an organization.
www source There are countless environmental organizations and virtually all have websites. Most of these are 'guessable' from their name or acronym (examples: http://www.sierraclub.org, http://www.nrdc.org). Be sure to explain to students that strong bias will be present.

Go to top of page


   

Web Resources

psu-only access via the web Environment RouteNet is an encyclopedic reference guide to environmental related resources on the Internet. There are links to daily news, patents and standards, grants, legislation, etc. Access to this is via the library databases page.
www source Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

Good for finding out about projects around Oregon.

www source Environmental Protection Agency

The 'your community' feature is helpful for gathering local environmental information.

www source United States Geological Survey

Very information rich site, covers geology and biology.

www source National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association

Good for climate, weather, and marine information.

Go to top of page


 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 


Page developed by:
Gretta Siegel
Please send comments to:
Gretta Siegel

Last updated: