PSU Library logo

 

Environmental Economics, Sustainability and Natural Resource Managment

 

Introduction | Reference Works | Databases and Indexes | Electronic Journals | Finding Books | Organizations | Natural Resource Managment | Renewable Resources | Sustainability | General Web Resources | Writing and Citation Guides |
Ask A Librarian

See also the following Subject Guides:
Economics | Nonprofit Management | Public Administration

 

Introduction

The objective of environmental economics is to help decision makers make better decisions about choices involving the environment. The primary forces which drive the rising concerns behind sustainability are: increasing global population, environmental impact of human activities on the global commons, and natural resource depletion. Sustainability is an economic state where the demands placed upon the environment by people, industrial activity and commerce can be met without reducing the capacity of the environment to provide for future generations. In order to achieve sustainability, natural resource management employs environmental science, social cost benefit analysis, planning techniques, public policy and conflict resolution for disputes arising from multiple use of resources.

Go to top of page

Reference Works

book 1996 urban natural resource directory for Portland-Vancouver metropolitan region HC107 .O72 P623 1996 / Reference
book The complete guide to environmental careers in the 21st century GE60 .D69 1999 / Reference
book Conservation and environmentalism : an encyclopedia GE10 .C68 1995 / Reference
book Cooper's comprehensive environmental desk reference. Van Nostrand Reinhold
GE123 .C64 1996 / Reference
bookpsu-only access via the web A dictionary of ecology. Oxford University Press, 1998. 2nd. ed. QH540.4 .C66 1998 / Reference also INTERNET
book Dictionary of environment and development : people, places, ideas, and organizations GE10 .C78 1993 / Reference
book Dictionary of Environmental and Sustainable Development. Jossey-Bass. HC79 .E5 G518 1996 / Reference
book Dictionary of natural resource management
HC15 .D86 1996 / Reference
book Encyclopedia of global change : environmental change and human society GE149 .E47 2002 / Reference
book Environmental encyclopedia. Gale Research, 1994. GE10 .E57 / Reference
book Environmental forensics : a glossary of terms. Robert D. Morrison KF3775 .A68 M67 2000
book The environment A to Z. David Hosansky. CQ Press GE10 .H67 2001 / Reference
www source GEneral Multilingual Environmental Thesaurus
www source Glossaries of Economic Terms
www source Glossary of Environmental Economics Terms
book The international yearbook of environmental and resource economics : a survey of current issues
HC79 .E5 I616 1999/2000 / Reserve
www source McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Environmental Science & Engineering
GE10 .M38 1993
/ Reference
www source McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Q121 .M3 1997 / Ready Reference
book McGraw-Hill Recycling Handbook
TD794.5 .M397 2001 / Stacks
www source Sustainable Development Principles @IISDnet
book The Wiley Encyclopedia of Energy and the Environment
TJ163.235 .W55 1997 / Reference
cd rompsu-only access via the web World Development Indicators / Reference
Partial data may also be found on the Web at
World Bank Data & Maps
bookpsu-only access via the web World Factbook / HC59 .N248 Latest ed. in Ready Ref
Internet

Go to top of page

Databases and Indexes

Access UN 1951-2001 - UN Microfiche collection contains full documents. PSU has: Microfiche 1970- Abstracts
Agricola (Good source for policy information on agriculture and environment.) Citations; Some links to full text
Biosis previews (1990-present) Abstracts
Conference Papers Index (1982- ) Citations to papers and poster sessins presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Citations
CQ Library Includes: CQ Researcher 1991- ; CQ Weekly 1983- CQ's Electronic Encyclopedia of American Government Full-Text
Dissertation Abstracts International 1861-
PSU Theses 1997- are Full Text (slow).
Abstracts
EconLit 1969- (Economics journals, collective volumes, books, dissertations, and working papers.) Abstracts
EBSCOhost - Academic Search Elite, Business Source Elite, MasterFILE Premier, Newspaper Source, Professional Development Collection (1990- ; coverage varies) Full-Text
Emerald Library MCP Press journals in fields of business and management, library and information science, engineering, and education. (Coverage varies.) Full-Text
Environmental Abstracts 1980- Abstracts
GeoBase 1980- Useful source for environmental and development issues as well as earth science topics. Abstracts

Impact/ACCESS GDOCS 1976- (U.S. Government Publications)

Citations
Ingenta (formerly Carl Uncover)
Current awareness service. View tables-of-contents or select titles and have tables-of-contents e-mailed to youl
Abstracts
Index to Current Urban Documents Abstracts
JAKE (Find out which databases index a journal title.)  
JSTOR Multidisciplinary academic journal backfiles - articles in PDF files. (Coverage varies) Full-Text
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Contains: Congressional Universe, Statistical Universe, journals and newspapers Mostly full text
National Newspaper Index Indexing and citations to articles from the Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, New York Times Book Review, New York Times Magazine, Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post. 1997-present Citations
Newspaper Source Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers. Full-Text
Oregon Index 1995- (Varying coverage of Oregon Newspapers.) Citations
Oregonian Oregonian 1988- (Does not cover news wire stories.) Full-Text
PAIS International 1972- Abstracts
PapersFirst (1993- ) Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly. Citations
Proceedings An OCLC FirstSearch index of worldwide conference proceedings Citations
Social Science Index  Abstracts
STAT-USA Business, trade and economic information. Full-Text
TRIS Online 1960's- Transportation Research Board Citations; some links to full text
Wall Street Journal Online 1984- Eastern Edition Full-Text
Web of Science
Citations; citation searching
World News Connection Foreign Broadcast Information Service Full-Text
WorldCat WORLDCAT includes over 35 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries including manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. Citations only

Electronic Journals

A comprehensive list of electronic journals can be found at the top of the Full Text Databases page.


Go to top of page

Finding Books

Subject Headings
| Keywords | Call Numbers
| Catalogs

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in environmental economics. A complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings is available at the Reference Desk.

Acidification
Agriculture (or "X" industry)--economic aspects
Biological diversity conservation--Economic aspects
Climatic changes--Economic aspects
Consumption (Economics)--Environmental aspects
Contingent valuation
Ecofeminism
Economic development--environmental aspects
Economic forecasting
Endangered species--Economic aspects
Environmental degradation--economic aspects
Environmental economics
Environmental justice
Environmental law--economic aspects
Environmental monitoring--economic aspects
Environmental policy--economic aspects
Environmental protection--("X" country)
Forests and forestry--economic aspects
Greenhouse gas mitigation
Greenhouse gases
Industrialization--environmental aspects
International trade--environmental aspects
Natural resources--management
Nonpoint source pollution
Pollution--economic aspects
Urban runoff
Social ecology
Social justice
Social responsibility of business
Source reduction (Waste management)--Economic aspects
Sustainable agriculture
Sustainable development
"x" industry or trade--environmental aspects

Keywords
Sometimes a subject heading does not exist for a particular area of focus, or the subject heading does not reflect contemporary usage or terminology. In that case, a keyword search is necessary. Sometimes a subject search does not yield any results. In this case, Vikat automatically offers to search your words as keywords.

Call Numbers
Environmental Economics does not have distinct ranges of numbers in the Library of Congress Classification system. Instead, the literature of Environmental Economics is dispersed among the areas of sciences and social sciences. The best approach to finding materials is to use a Subject or Keyword search in the Online Catalog.

Catalogs

Use these catalogs to search for your monographic materials and documents. Selected Subjects are provided below. Keywords may also be used. For materials that are not owned by PSU OR ORBIS, PSU users may use our Interlibrary Loan Service (be sure to check Vikat and ORBIS before submitting an Interlibrary Loan Request).

Catalogs and Publications Indexes
PSU
Online Catalog
(Vikat)

SUMMIT
(Formerly ORBIS)

Worldcat
Includes over 35 million records in libraries in U.S. and elsewhere.
National Library for the Environment Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information Catalogue


Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering and Technology

EPA Publications Source

U.S. Department of State Electronic Research Collection

 

Request Interlibrary Loan


Back to Finding Books

Go to top of page


Organizations

Asian Development Bank

Center for Health and the Global Environment

CIRS.net (Portal to Scientific Organizations)

Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN)

Eco.org
The Environmental Careers Organization

Economics Departments, Institutes and Research Centers in the World: Resource and Environmental Economics

Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Environment Agency (U.K.)

Environmental Protection Agency (U.S.)

European Environment Agency

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)

The Foundation Center

Global Environment Facility
" The Global Environment Facility was established to forge international cooperation and finance actions to address four critical threats to the global environment: biodiversity loss, climate change, degradation of international waters, and ozone depletion. Related work to stem the pervasive problem of land degradation is also eligible for GEF funding..."

Inter-American Investment Corporation

International Finance Corporation
World Bank Group

International Institute for Sustainable Development
The International Institute for Sustainable Development is concerned with advancing policy recommendations on international trade and investment, economic policy, climate change, measurement and indicators, and natural resource management to make development sustainable--not just for tomorrow, but for countless generations to come.

International Monetary Fund (Publications)
The IMF is an international organization of 183 member countries, established to promote international monetary cooperation, exchange stability, and orderly exchange arrangements; to foster economic growth and high levels of employment; and to provide temporary financial assistance to countries to help ease balance of payments adjustment.

Metropolis
World Association of the Major Metropolises

National Council for Science and the Environment
"The National Council for Science and the Environment (NCSE) has been working since 1990 to improve the scientific basis for environmental decisionmaking. NCSE is supported by nearly 500 academic, scientific, environmental, and business organizations..."

Nature Conservancy

NRDC: National Resources Defense Council

North American Development Bank

OECD Online
Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development

UNESCO
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

United Nations
The Library maintains a microfiche depository of UN documents listed in the database Access UN.

United Nations Environment Programme

United Nations Industrial Development Organization

U.S. Agency for Internatinal Development (USAID)

U.S. Council for International Business

U.S. Department of State

U.S. International Trade Administration (ITA)

Volunteers in Technical Assistance
Mission: For over four decades VITA has empowered the poor in developing countries by providing access to information and knowledge, strengthening local institutions and introducing improved technologies. Its particular focus is on support to entrepreneurs in the private, public and community sectors and on facilitating connectivity and technical information exchange between and among individuals and organizations.

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

World Forest Institute

The World Bank Group
Also known as the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development.


Go to top of page



Natural Resource Management

Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations

Global Resource Information Database (GRID)

IEMA - Institute of Environmental Management & Assessment (U.K.)
"The professional body for the Environment"
Formed in September 1999, following the merger of the Institute of Environmental Management, the Environmental Auditor's Registration Association, and Institute of Environmental Assessment, the Institute is the leading UK membership organisation dedicated to the promotion of the goal of sustainable development and to the professional development of individuals involved in environmental management and assessment, whether they be in business, government, consultancy or the regulators.

Integrated Natural Resource Management
INRM can be defined as the responsible and broad-based management of the land, water, forest and biological resources base--including genes--needed to sustain agricultural productivity and avert degradation of potential productivity.

NAEM - National Association for Environmental Management
A non-profit educational association composed of professional, private and public sector environmental managers. NAEM provides professional development, recognition, and opportunities.

Oregon Natural Resources Council
News, conservation programs and links to conservation organizations.

Population & Environment Linkages Service
National Library for the Environment, National Council for Science and the Envrionment Information and communication for understanding.

UNEP Risoe Centre on Energy, Climate and Sustainable Development

United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Links to State Environmental Agencies and Community-Based Environmental Management.

Urban Environmental Management
The World Wide Web Virtual Library

Winrock International
Winrock International is a global team dedicated to increasing long-term productivity, equity, and responsible resource management.

Go to top of page


Renewable Resources

Alternative Technology - Internet Links and News Groups
PEOPLE IN ACTION for a Better World

American Wind Energy Association

Asian Alternative Energy Program (ASTAE)
World Bank Group

CADDET
IEA/OECD
International Information on Renewable Energy

CANMET - Energy Diversification Research Laboratory
Natural Resources Canada

Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Network (EREN)
U.S. Department of Energy

Enersol
A nonprofit international development organization whic uses clean solar energy to improve people’s quality of life in rural Latin America while protecting the global environment. Enersol assists rural communities and other nonprofit organizations of the Americas with the application of solar electric technologies to improve health and education, particularly for children.

Himalayan Light Foundation (HLF)
A non-profit, non-governmental organization (NGO) based in Nepal. HLFs main objective is to improve the quality of the life of the remote population of the Himalayan region via the introduction and use of environmentally friendly energy technologies (RETs).

Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Information
REB Research & Consulting

International Solar Energy Society (ISES)

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Renewable Energy
Ecomall

Renewable Energy Nonprofit Organizations in the World
Momentum Technologies LLC

Solar Electric Light Fund
The Solar Electric Light Fund, Inc. (SELF) is a non-profit charitable organization founded in 1990 to promote, develop, and facilitate solar rural electrification and energy SELF-sufficiency in developing countries.

Solar Energy Industries Association

Solar Energy Laboratory
Univerisity of Wisconsin-Madison

Solar Energy Links
Flasolar.com

Solarhost
Renewable engery policy project.

Go to top of page


Sustainability

The EcoGateway - Your Guide To Sustainability Online
EcoIQ.com
Portal to environmental news and organizations.

Global Knowledge Partnership
Provides an ongoing forum for discussion of a range of issues related to the role of knowledge and information as tools of sustainable development.

Greenhouse Gas Technology Information Exchange (GREENTIE)

InterAction
A coalition of over 165 non-profit organizations working world-wide, and the U.S.'s leading advocate for sustainable development, refugee and disaster assistance, and humanitarian aid.

Joint Center for Sustainable Communities
The United States Conference of Mayors and The National Association of Counties
The primary mission is to provide a forum for cities and counties to work together to develop long-term policies and programs that will lead to job growth, environmental stewardship and social equity.

Sustainable Development
World Wide Web Virtual Library
" A comprehensive list of internet sites dealing with sustainable development, including organisations, projects and activities, electronic journals, libraries, references and documents, databases, directories or metadatabases."

United Nations Sustainable Development Networking Program


Go to top of page


General Web Resources

Amazing Environmental Organization Web Directory
"Earth's Biggest Environment Search Engine"

Biodiversity Bibliography: Ecology, Economics and Policy
Steve Polasky, Fesler-Lampert Professor of Ecological/Environmental Economics Department of Applied Economics Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior Conservation Biology Graduate Program.

CIESIN (Center for International Earth Science Information Network)
Columbia University

The Civil Society Initiative/Nongovernmental Organizations
World Health Organization

Country Studies
Library of Congress

CorpWatch - Holding Corporations Accountable

EM (Environmental Management)
U.S. Department of Energy - Office of Environmental Management "...managing the legacy of contamination from the nuclear weapons complex."

EnviroLink Network
Network for Change is a collaboration between the EnviroLink Network, the Animal Concerns Community, the Sustainable Business Network and GreenMarketplace.com, who are working together to develop a comprehensive resource for individuals, organizations and businesses working for social and environmental change.

Federation of American Scientists
FAS conducts analysis and advocacy on science, technology and public policy, including national security, nuclear weapons, arms sales, biological hazards, secrecy, education technology, information technology, energy and the environment.

FedStats - Environmental Statistics

GEMI - Global Environmental Management Initiative
Mission: To help business achieve environmental, health and safety excellence.

Green Cities
U.S. State Department International Information Programs

International Development
WWW Virtual Library - International Affairs Resources

Internet Resources for Latin America
Princeton University

Nongovernmental Organizations
The WWW Virtual Library - International Affairs Resources

Nongovernmental Organizations with Environmental Interest (Pacific Northwest)
University of Washington
Organizations offering information on environmental issues. Some also provide volunteer and internship opportunities.

The Policy Page
Hamline University
This page was created by Kate Borowske be used in conjunction with Dr. Ellen Dickson's policy analysis courses for Hamline University's Graduate School of Public Administration and Management.

Remote Sensing Data and Information (NASA)

Scorecard
An information service provided by Environmental Defense. "Scorecard is the ultimate source for free and easily accessible local environmental information."

United Nations Capital Development Fund

United Nations Development Program

U.S. Department of State Electronic Research Collection

The Electronic Research Collection (ERC) represents a partnership between the Government Printing Office (GPO) through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), the United States Department of State (DOS) and the Richard J. Daley Library, University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC).

Virtual Library on International Development
Canadian International Development Agency
A collection of links to international development resources on the Internet

The Virtual Library on Microcredit
The World Wide Web Virtual Library

The WWW Virtual Library: Remote Sensing

World Health Organization
WHO continuously monitors disease outbreaks, including deliberate chemical /biological attacks, through The Global Outbreak Alert and Response Network.

Go to top of page

Writing and Citation Guides

Internet Citation Guides
University of Wisconsin Library

Writing, Citing and Evaluating Guides on the Internet
University of British Columbia


Return to top of page


Library Home | Other Guides

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home

Page developed by:
Daphne Allen
Maintained by:
Elizabeth Howell

Send comments to:
Elizabeth Howell

 
Last updated: