Persistence
is the rule when looking for book reviews. Reviews can be very elusive,
even for books that are fairly well known. Some books are reviewed many
times, while others are reviewed once or not at all.
TO BEGIN, YOU NEED TO KNOW:
· Author and /or title
· Date of publication
YOU CAN FIND THIS INFORMATION:
· On the book or the title page
· In the Online Catalog, Vikat
· In Books in Print, listed under databases or at http://www.booksinprint.com/bip/
BOOK REVIEW INDEXES
Begin your search by looking in these indexes which list
ONLY book reviews. If you do not find your book listed in these indexes,
recheck the publication date and spelling of the author's last name
and try other sources listed here.
Book Review Digest,
1905 to present, with cumulative indexes. Includes quotations from some
of the reviews. Reference Counter, Z1219 .C95.
Book
Review Index,
1965 to present. Reference Counter, Z1035 .A1 B6.
Index
to Book Reviews in the Humanities,
1961 to 1990. Reference Counter, Z1035 .A1 I63.
SCHOLARLY
BOOK REVIEWS
Scholarly
and technical works for specialists are often reviewed in scholarly
journals as late as two years after publication. See "Book Reviews"
section at the end of each issue of appropriate printed indexes: some
major ones are listed below. Reviews are also to be found through their
equivalents in CD-ROM (various electronic indexes in the reference area)
or on electronic databases, or at Internet sites for book dealers, such
as www.amazon.com.
Business Periodicals Index, 1958 to present. Index Table,
Z7164 .C81 B98
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals,
1802-1974. Reference Counter, Z1035 .A1 C65.
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals,
1886-1974. Reference Counter, Z1035 .A1 C64.
Education Index, 1929 to present. Index Table, Z5813 .E23.
General Science Index, 1978 to present. Index Table, Z7403
.E23.
H-Net Reviews in
the Humanities and Social Sciences, 1998-
H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences is an online scholarly
review journal which allows scholars ready access to reviews, while
also providing a forum for discussion concerning review articles.
Humanities
Index
Social
Science Index
POPULAR
BOOK REVIEWS
Fiction
and nonfiction for the general reader, especially those books that might
appear on a bestseller list, will often be reviewed in popular magazines
and newspapers.
Academic
Search Premier in Ebscohost,
electronic database.
Reader's
Guide to Periodical Literature, 1976 to present. See the "Book
Reviews" section at the end of each issue. Index Tables, AI3 .R38.
The
New York Times Index, 1851 to present. Reference Area, AI21
.N44.
TO WRITE
A REVIEW
Drewry,
John. Writing Book Reviews. Reference Area, PN98 .B7 1966.
In this book for the experienced or the novice reviewer, the author
discusses both style and content requirements for book reviews in different
subject fields. The book contains questions to elicit the ideas crucial
for a reasoned review, and gives examples written by experts.
FOR ADDITIONAL
SUGGESTIONS, ASK AT THE REFERENCE DESK.