PSU Library Logo
 
 

French & Francophone Studies

   

 

The francophone culture encompasses the continents of Africa, Europe, North America, and Asia. The cultural and political impact of France covers the last millennium and before, from the caves of Lascaux to the restoration of the Musée d'Orsay. We can trace the French influences throughout the study of western civilization.

Access the Portland State Department of Foreign Languages & Literatures at http://www.fll.pdx.edu/

Portland Art Museum - Current Exhibits

Saturday, September 11, 2004 – Sunday, January 2, 2005
Christo and Jeanne-Claude
The Pont-Neuf Wrapped, Paris, 1975-85

Saturday, July 31, 2004-Sunday, October 24, 2004
Daumier to Lautrec: French Prints and Drawings

   


Encyclopedias   |  Reference Resources  |   Databases and Indexes | Museums
Other Important Resources   |  Subject Headings   |  Call Numbers 
 Web Resources

 

   

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background information and a good place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general or expert audiences. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing articles. Provide bibliographies for further reading.
book Critical Dictionary of the French Revolution
Françoise Furet and Mona Ozouf
DC148 .D5313 1989 (Reference)
book Dictionnaire des auteurs de langue Française en Amérique du Nord
Réginald Hamel, John Hare, et Paul Wyczynski, eds.
PQ3900.2 .H36 1989 (Reference)
book

Dictionnaire des grandes oeuvres de la
litterature française
Direction de Henri Mitterand
PQ41 .D528 1992 (Reference)

book Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française
Jean-Pierre de Beaumarchais, Daniel Couty et Alain Rey
4 vols. PQ41 .B4 1994 (Reference)
book Dictionnaire Napoléon
Direction de Jean Tulard
DC147 .D53 1989 (Reference)
book Dictionnaire des ouvres litteraires de langue française
Jean-Pierre de Beaumarchais et Daniel Couty
4 vols. PQ41 .B42 1994 (Reference)
book

Dictionnaire de poésie de Baudelaire á nos jours
Michel Jarrety, ed.
PQ431 .D53 2001

book Encyclopedia of Canada's people
Paul Robert Magosci, ed.
F1006 .E66 1999 (Reference)
book Encyclopedia of contemporary French culture
Alex Hughes and Keith Reader, eds.
DC33.7 .E53 1998 (Reference)
book Feminist encyclopedia of French literature
Eva Martin Sartori, ed.
PQ149 .F47 1999 (Reference)
book

Encyclopédie de la littérature
Milano : Garzanti, 2003.
PN41 .E4714 2003 (Reference)

book Histoire et dictionnaire de Paris
Alfred Fierro, ed.
DC704 .F53 1996 (Reference)

Go to top of page

   

Reference Resources

book Le grand Robert de la langue Française
Paul Robert
Deuxieme edition, vols. 1-9
PC2625 .R553 1992 (Reference)
book

Harrap's standard French and English dictionary
J.E. Mansion
Revised and edited by D.M. Ledesert & R.P.L. Ledesert
PC2640 .H317 1985 (Reference)

"[The editors] have maintained Mr Mansion's principle of giving the phonetics of every word listed, using the notation of the International Phonetic Association."

book

Dictionnaire des écrivains de langue français
Jean-Pierre de Beaumarchais, Daniel Couty, Alain Rey
Paris : Larousse, 2001.
PQ41 .B412 2001, 2 vols. (Reference)

book NTC's Dictionary of Canadian French
Sinclair Robinson, Donald Smith, eds.
PC3637 .R59 1991 (Reference)
book Oxford-Hachette French dictionary:
French-English · English-French

PC2640 .O82 1994 (Reference)
www resource Francophone Literature: Web and other Electronic Resources
at Bobst Library, New York University
http://library.nyu.edu/research/french/francophone/web.html
www resource World Factbook 2000
CIA Annual
http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html
www resource Unite Reseaux du CNRS
Guide to WWW in France
http://www.urec.cnrs.fr/annuaire/
www resource

Webguide Quebec
Guide to WWW in Canada
http://www.webguidequebec.com/

www resource ARTFL Project: French-English Dictionary Form
http://humanities.uchicago.edu/forms_unrest/FR-ENG.html
book Cassell's French dictionary
French-English, English-French
PC2640 .C3 1981 (Reference)

Go to top of page

   

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.

book

 

 

psu-only access via the web

Humanities index - (1975-)
AI3 .H8 (Reference)

A cumulative index to English language periodicals. Subject fields indexed include archaeology and classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language and literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology, and related subjects.

Humanities index online - 1984 - Present

Journals in Humanities index held by PSU.

psu-only access via the web

Gales Literary Index
Reference Index, Z6511 .G35

A master index to 43 literary series published by Gale. Use this resource to find biographical entries on authors and critical analysis of literary works. Indexes such resources as Contemporary World Writers, Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century, Hispanic Literature Criticism, Hispanic Writers, Latin American Writers, Reference Guide to World Literature, Twayne's World Authors, World Literature and Its Times, and World Literature Criticism.

psu-only access via the web

International Medieval Bibliography

The leading bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500). The International Medieval Bibliography was founded in 1967 with the support of the Medieval Academy of America, with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. The IMB now comprises 300,000 articles, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location, and provide full bibliographical records.

psu-only access via the web

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Iter presents an online bibliography of more than 600,000 records for articles, essays, books and reviews. Updated daily and with thousands of new records added annually, this powerful research tool will be of great use to scholars interested in the Middle Ages and / or Renaissance (400-1700).

psu-only access via the web

JSTOR -

Holds the full text of 117 scholarly journals with complete back file access in the Arts & Sciences I Collection. The literature and history journal selections will retrieve relevant results.
Contains the journal Yale French Studies, (1948-1998), Modern Language Notes (1886-1961), and MLN (1962-1994).

book

psu-only access via the web

MLA international bibliography (1921-)
Z7006 .M64 (Reference)

MLA international bibliography (1963-)

MLA Bibliography covers literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide. Licensed from the Modern Language Association.
psu-only access via the web Project Muse: scholarly journals online

Holds over 100 full text scholarly journals online in the arts & humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics. The back files for the journals are scant.
Contains the journals Comparative Literature (2000-),
French Historical Studies
(1999-), French Forum (2001-), French Colonial History (2003-), Nineteenth Century French Studies (2001-) & MLN (1993,1995-).
psu-only access via the web WorldCat

Contains more than 30 millions records for materials cataloged by the Library of Congress and OCLC member libraries, including most academic and many public libraries in the U.S. Catalog includes books, serials (journals, magazines and newspapers), musical scores, recordings, videos, computer software, films, maps and manuscripts. Locations for all materials are cited. Can be searched by author, title, subject, year, language, material type.

Go to top of page

   

Museums

 

www resource

Louvre
http://www.louvre.fr
Musée du Louvre
75058 Paris Cedex 01.
Telephone: (33) 01 40 20 50 50.
Fax : (33) 01 40 20 54 42
E-mail:
info@louvre.fr

www resource

Musée d'Orsay
http://www.musee-orsay.fr
62, rue de Lille
75343 Paris
cedex 07
France
Telephone: +33 (0)1 40 49 48 14

Site du Musée d'Orsay, Paris, 1848-1914 beaux arts, cinéma, photographie. Site of the Paris museum of 19th-century fine arts.

www resource

Centre Pompidou
www.cnac-gp.fr

Centre national d'art et de culture Georges Pompidou
75191 Paris cedex 04
Telephone: +33 1 44 78 12 33

www resource

Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal
Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
http://www.mbam.qc.ca/
P.O. Box 3000, Station "H"
Montreal, Quebec H3G 2T9
Telephone: (514) 285-1600
Information: (514) 285-2000

 

   

Important Resources

 
book

Cambridge illustrated history of France
Colin Jones
DC33 .J66 1994

Includes illustrations, maps, bibliography and index.

book

www resource

Monde (Paris, France)
AN .M6
http://www.lemonde.fr/

Library has
current issues and retains the last three months.

Indexed by Infobank 1967-

book

Companion to French cinema
Ginette Vincendeau
PN1993.5 .F7 V55 1996 (reference)

Includes a select bibliography for European and French Cinema

book

French art
André Chastel ; translated from the French by Deke Dusinberre.
2 volumes
N6841 .C4813 1994

book

French constitution, adopted by the referendum of September 28, 1958 and promulgated on October 4, 1958.
JN2594.2 .A5 1958
French text and English translation

book

French dictionary of business, commerce and fincance / Dictionnaire anglais des affaires, du commerce et de la finance
New York: Routledge, 1995.
HF1002 .R684 1996

book

Le Bon Usage : Grammaire Française, Avec Des Remarques Sur La Langue Française D'aujourd'hui
Grevisse, Maurice.
Gembloux: J. Duculot, 1975.
PC2112 .G84 1975

 

   

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often searches by subject headings can be more productive than searching by keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in French & Francophone Studies. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desk.  
 
Francophone cultures and literatures
French art
French language

French language [name of country]

French language composition and exercises
French language conversation and phrasebooks
French-speaking countries
France history

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks or shelves.
DC1-947 France
DC701-790 Paris
DT545-545.9 Africa. Ivory Coast
F1030-F1030.9 French-Canadian-history

F1052-F1056.8 Quebec (Province)-history

F1601-2191 West Indies
F1901-1929 Haiti
PC2001-3761 French. Provençal - Romance language
PQ1-3999 French literature
PQ3803-PQ3989.2 Francophone literature

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Web Resources

www resource La Bibliothèque nationale de France
http://www.bnf.fr/
www resource Le Centre historique des Archives nationales
http://www.archivesnationales.culture.gouv.fr/chan/
www resource ARTFL Project
http://humanities.uchicago.edu/ARTFL.html
University of Chicago

Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language. 1700 texts in French, 17thc-20thc:
literature, philosophy, art, sciences.
www resource Poésie Française
http://poesie.webnet.fr/

"C'est pourquoi nous avons sélectionné plus de 3500 poèmes de langue française, du Moyen Âge au début du XXème siècle." This searchable database contains over 3500 poems in French from the Middle Ages to the present.

www resource

UCLA French Department
http://www.french.ucla.edu/index.html

www resource

Radio France internationale
http://www.rfi.fr/fr.txt/

Covers the daily news.

www resource

France-Presse:
Agence mondiale d'information
http://www.afp.com/francais/home/

This service from AFP provides access to world news in these languages: French, English, Dutch, Spanish and Portuguese.

www resource

Ressources Internet Francophones http://www.lehman.cuny.edu/depts/langlit/french/

A comprehensive site created by the French Department at the City University of New York (CUNY) provides access to literature, social science, and current news sites in the Francophone world.

Go to top of page

 

 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 

  PSU Library Home
Page developed by:
Kimberly Willson-St. Clair
Please send comments to:
willsons@pdx.edu

 

Last updated: October 7, 2004