PSU Library logo

Geography Resources

 

 

Reference sources | Databases | Electronic journals | Subject Headings | Call Numbers | Web Sources

 

Reference Books

The Columbia gazetteer of the World (1998). Cohen, S. New York: Columbia University Press. 3 Vols. G103.5 .C645 1998 | 2nd Floor Reference

The Columbia gazetteer of North America (2000). Cohen, S. New York: Columbia University Press. E35 .C65 2000 | 2nd Floor Reference

Portland metro area street guide and directory: including Clackamas, Columbia, Multnomah, Washington and Yamhill, OR, and Greater Vancouver area, WA. (1995). Irvine, CA: Thomas Bros. Maps. G1494 .P6 T5 | 2nd Floor Reference

Also known as the "Thomas Guide," it contains detailed maps in book form of the entire Portland metro area.

Background Notes U.S. Department of State. Government documents: S 1.123 | 4th Floor, G59 .U5 | 2nd Floor Reference also http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/ with archives at http://www.state.gov/www/background_notes/index.html

Weather America: the latest detailed climatological data for over 4,000 places--with rankings (1996). Garwood, A. ed. Milpitas, CA: Toucan Valley Publications. QC983 .W385 1996 | 2nd Floor Reference

The Climate of Oregon: from Rain Forest to Desert (1999). Taylor, G. and C. Hannan. Corvallis: Oregon State University Press. QC984 .O6 T37 1999 | 2nd Floor Reference

The Oregon Weather Book: A State of Extremes (1999). Taylor, G. Corvallis: Oregon State University Press. QC984 .O6 T39 1999 | 2nd Floor Reference

Provides information on weather events and where they occur and have occurred in Oregon (i.e., tornadoes, ice storms, floods, droughts, etc.)

Return to top


Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.

Geobase

Provides citations to Covers journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports. Subject coverage includes: cartography, climatology, energy, environment, geochemistry, geophysics, geomorphology, hydrology, meteorology, paleontology, petrology, photogrammetry, sedimentology, volcanology.

Coverage: 1980 - the present

Environmental Abstracts

Environmental Abstracts Consists of thirteen (13) databases
relating to environment and pollution. These include "Ecology
Abstracts", "Pollution Abstracts", "Water Resource Abstracts",
and others in toxicology, health and safety, and risk analysis.
To access these databases click on the button below.

Coverage: 1980 - updated daily

Return to top


Electronic Journals

The following journals can be found online through the Electronic Journals listing. Use this link http://wq5rp2ll8a.search.serialssolutions.com/ and search journals by title to access the electronic version of the periodical.

Geography Journals Online

Return to top


Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.

Geography (G1-G922)
Atlases (G1000-G3122)
Cartography (GA101-1776)
Geomorphology. Landforms. Terrain. (GB400-GB649)
Hydrology (GB651-GB2998)
Human Ecology (GF1-GF900)

For more Library of Congress Call numbers check out the Library of Congress Classification Online site. http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/lcco.html

Return to top


Web Resources

Geographical Names Information Server

Contains information about almost 2 million physical and cultural
geographic features in the United States. The Federally recognized name of each feature described in the data base is identified, and references are made to a feature's location by State, county, and geographic coordinates

GEOnet Names Server

The GEOnet Names Server provides access to the National Imagery and Mapping Agency's database of foreign geographic feature names.

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home
Send comments to:
Gretta Siegel
 
Last updated: