PSU Library Logo
History: Historiography

This guide is not a comprehensive listing of resources, but instead is intended to assist you in finding some of the most useful and important materials in our collection. If researching an interdisciplinary topic, you may want to consult the Subject Guides related to the other disciplines. For information about studying history at Portland State University, see the History Department Web site. For help with questions relating to historical research, contact Jennifer Dorner, the History Librarian, at dorner@pdx.edu or 503-725-4125.



Starting Your Research | HistoriographyPrimary Sources

History of Science | Public History

  

Reference Resources

American historians, 1607-1865
Location: PN451 .D52 vol. 30 Reference

American Historians, 1866-1912
Location: PN451 .D52 vol. 47 Reference

The American Historical Association's guide to historical literature
Location: Z6201 .A55 1995 Reference

Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing
Location: DS13 .E522 1999 Reference

A Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing
Location: D13 .G47 1998 Reference

Great historians of the modern age : an international dictionary
Location: D14 .G75 1991 Reference

History in Dispute
Location: D20 .H543 2000 Reference

The Routledge Companion to Historical Studies
Location: D13 .M86 2000 Reference

Twentieth-century American historians
Location: PN451 .D52 vol. 17 Reference
 

Finding Articles

To find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, you will need to use one of the Library's print indexes or article databases. It is possible to search for articles related to historiography in the general history databases. The bibliographies listed here are collections of resources related to historiography. They contain identifying information, for example title, author, publisher, date and place of publications of a book, so that you can locate the item.

Annales Historiography and Theory: A Selective and Annotated Bibliography
Location: Z6208 .H5 H47 1994 Reference

Historiography: An Annotated Bibliography of Journal Articles, Books, and Dissertations
Location: Z6208 .H5 H57 1987 Reference

Historiography, Method, History Teaching: A Bibliography of Books and Articles in English, 1965-1973
Location: Z6208 .H5 B57 Reference

A selected bibliography of modern historiography
Location: Z6208 .H5 P64 1992 Reference

The Study of History: A Bibliographic Guide
Location: Z6208 .H5 R53 2000 Reference


Journals

The Columbia Journal of Historiography

History and Memory
Vol. 11, no. 1 (1999); Vol. 12 (2000) through current issue

HISTOS: The Electronic Journal of Ancient Historiography (at the University of Durham)

Rethinking history
Full text available: Mar 1998- (Due to publisher restrictions, the most recent 12 months are not available.)

Finding Books

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research on historiography. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library.

Historians
Historiography
History -- Methodology
History -- Philosophy
Latin America -- Historiography [or any other geographic area of interest]


Web Resources

Cromohs-Cyber Review of Modern Historiography
This is the first electronic review of the history of modern historiography.
http://www.unifi.it/riviste/cromohs


Page developed by Jennifer Dorner
Please send comments to dorner@pdx.edu

Last updated: