
What
are primary sources?
Primary sources enable the researcher to get as close as possible
to what actually happened during an historical event or time period.
A primary source reflects the individual viewpoint of a participant
or observer. They include:
- Those
items that describe events where the author is a participant or observer:
diaries, letters, memos, journals, speeches, interviews, etc. Ex:
Diary of Charles Rumley from St. Louis to Portland, 1862
- Photographs,
audio and video recordings, and other electronic records that record
an event. Ex: Oregon Politics Radio Disc Collection [sound recording],
1938-1958
- Records
collected by government agencies such as birth and death records,
marriage records, land deeds, census data, etc. Ex: 15th census,
population, 1930. Oregon
- Records
created by organizations or agencies, such as reports, minutes of
meetings, bylaws, etc. Ex: The dawn of British trade to the East
Indies as recorded in the Court Minutes of the East India Company,
1599-1603
- Memoirs
and autobiographies. Ex: Autobiography of Samuel L. Campbell,
1824-1902 : frontiersman and Oregon pioneer : together with his summary
of the Whitman Massacre.
- Material
published at the time of an event, such as books, newspapers and magazine
and journal articles. These are distinguished from secondary sources
because they are contemporary. Ex: Jones, W. F. D. "An Oregonian
Poet Hermit." Overland Monthly and Out West Magazine, V. 25,
issue 148, April 1895, pp. 375-378.
- Data
collected by researchers, such as field notes, results of experiments,
measurements, etc. Ex: Climatological data. Oregon.
Locating
Primary Sources in the Library
The Millar
Library has a large collection of reprinted or microfilmed primary
source materials, including the collected writings of historical figures,
government documents, diaries, collections of speeches, etc. Items
owned by the Oregon
Historical Society's Research Library are also searchable
through our catalog.
Searching for primary source materials by subject
Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials
on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more
productive than searching by simple keywords. Copies of the complete
set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the
reference desk. After identifying the relevant subject heading, you
can add subheadings that will retrieve primary sources. Some of the
subheadings are:
correspondence
diaries
early works to 1800
interviews
pamphlets
periodicals
personal narratives
sources
For example:
Conservationists Oregon Correspondence
Women pioneers Colorado Diaries
Great Britain History Civil War, 1642-1649 Pamphlets
World War 1939-1945 England Personal Narratives
Searching for primary source materials by author
When looking for as materials related to a specific historical figure,
do an author search in the catalog as well. Materials written by the
person are considered primary sources. Materials produced by a corporation
or organization are also primary sources, and those organizational
names (ex: Hudson's Bay Company) can be searched as authors.
Searching Other Libraries' catalogs
Remember, too, that you are not just limited to what we own in our
Library. Whenever you are searching, you have the option of expanding
your results by clicking on the SUMMIT button in the upper right hand
corner of the results screen. This automatically redoes your search
in the SUMMIT catalog of the ORBIS/CASCADE Alliance. If you find an
item in that catalog that you'd like to see, click on the "REQUEST
THIS ITEM" link and follow the directions on the screen.
Locating government documents
The
laws, rules, reports, statistics, court case decisions, treaties and
other documents produced by the various branches of governments (both
foreign and US) are primary sources. To locate US documents on your
topic, you should try these resources:
American
State Papers & the U.S.
Congressional Serials Set
Digitized and searchable online editions of the American State
Papers and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
The American State Papers, comprising a total of thirty-eight
physical volumes, contain the legislative and executive documents
of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. The collection includes
documents that cover the critical historical gap from 1789 to the
printing of the first volume of the U.S. Serial Set in 1817. The books
are arranged into ten topical classes (Foreign Relations, Indian Affairs,
Finances, Commerce and Navigation, Military Afairs, Naval Affairs,
Post Office Department, Public Lands, Claims, and Miscellaneous).
These papers were compiled, printed and distributed between 1831 and
1861. Not all of the classes contain documents from the entire 1789-1838
period.
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set contains the House and
Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports bound by session
of Congress. These publications began with the 15th Congress, 1st
Session (1817). Documents before 1817 may be found in the American
State Papers. In general, the Serial Set includes committee reports
related to bills and other matters, presidential communications to
Congress, treaty materials, certain executive department publications,
and certain non-governmental publications.
Congressional
Information Service
Information from 1970-present is indexed in Congressional
Universe
Some full-text information is included in the database. If not, then
to locate the document try a call number search in VIKAT for the SUDOC
number that appears in the record. Included in Congressional Universe
are legislative histories, hearings, bills, public laws, committee
information, biographical information about members of Congress, etc.
Congressional
Record
Full text from 1985-present is searchable in Congressional
Universe
Print copies from 1873/4-present located at J11 .R52 Govt Info Federal
The Congressional Record covers the proceedings and debates
of Congress. While later issues are searchable through Congressional
Universe, you should use the Congressional Record Index to
find information in earlier issues. Page numbers in the index are
proceeded by letters that indicate the four sections of the Congressional
Record: House (H), Senate (S), Extension of Remarks (E), and
Daily Digest (D).
For example,
an entry followed by S7495 [2JN] indicates that the content appears
in the June 2nd issue of the Congressional Record, in the
Senate section, on page 7495.
Monthly Catalog
Contents from 1994-present indexed online at http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cgp/index.html
Contents from 1976-2003 located at Z1223 .A18
Contents from 1951-1975 located at Z1223 .A18
Contents from 1907-1939 located at Z1223 .A18 Govt Info Microfilm
First issued in 1895, this is the most comprehensive source for locating
all kinds of U.S. government documents produced by Congress, the executive
branch, independent agencies, government corporations and boards.
For help with locating earlier government documents, use these:
A Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of
the United States, September 5, 1774-March 4, 1881. / by
Benjamin Perley Poore
PSU Reference Z1223 .A 1885
Provides a chronological list which gives the title, author and date
of each document. The subject and name index at the end of the volume
refers the user to the page on which the document is listed. The page
must then be browsed to locate the entry or entries.
Document Catalogue, 1893-1940
PSU Reference Z1223 .A13
A dictionary catalog listing publications by agency, subject, title,
and author. Provides the best subject approach to government publications
from 1893-1940. Each of the 25 volumes of the Catalogue covers approximately
two years of government publishing activity.
Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents,
1789-1976 / compiled by Daniel W. Lester, Sandra K. Faull
and Lorraine E. Lester.
PSU Reference Z1223 .Z7 L47
This 16-volume set contains an alphabetical listing of titles of book
and series publications contained in the Public Documents Library
of the Government Printing Office. The Cumulative Title Index includes
only those titles which have been assigned a SuDoc number.
Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909
PSU Reference Z1223 .A113 (volume 1 only)
Commonly known as the 1909 Checklist, this volume is the basic source
for SuDoc numbers prior to the 20th century. Although there is no
subject indexing to documents through the 1909 Checklist, the volume
is useful for browsing the publishing output of government agencies
and for identifying various editions of the same document. An agency
index appears at the end of the volume.
Millar
Library Collections of Primary Sources
Online
Sources
Early
American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800)
A searchable database of digitized images of American books, pamphlets
and broadsides published between 1639-1800, and which illuminate all
aspects of 17th and 18th century American life, including agriculture,
foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, warfare,
slavery, temperance, and witchcraft. The resource is searchable by
title, author, subject, and keyword within full text.
Early
American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
A searchable database of digitized images of American pamphlets, broadsides,
state papers and governmental materials published from 1801 to 1819,
and which illuminate all aspects of early 19th century American life,
including agriculture, foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music,
religion, warfare, slavery, and western expansion. The resource is
searchable by title, author, subject, and keyword within full text.
Digitization of the collection will be complete in 2007.
Early
English Books Online
This resource contains nearly every British book published dating
from 1475 to 1700. This collection, based on the short-title catalogs
of Pollard and Regrave and Donald Wing, includes materials ranging
from official publications hundreds of pages long to single page posters
and handbills.
Newspapers
A list of our print and electronic subscriptions to newspapers can
be found at http://www.lib.pdx.edu/resources/current_periodicals/newspapers.html.
Older issues of some newspapers are microfilmed and stored in the
Microforms area on the 3rd floor:
The New York Times at PSU Microforms AN
.N47 from 1851-present. Access the full-text online
version for the years 1851-2001. A printed index to the New
York Times is located in Reference at AI21 .N44.
The Oregonian is at PSU Microforms AN .O739.
Access the full-text online
version for the years 1988-present.
The
University of Oregon has compiled an online
index to the Oregonian from 1850-1987.
US Newspaper
Program
The National Endowment for the Humanities is sponsoring the microfilming
and/or digitization of United States' newspapers. A list of participating
organizations and descriptions of their projects can be found at the
site, as well as links to their collections.
Microform
The Library owns a large collection of microformed documents and not
all of them are cataloged. I have compiled a list of the microfilm
and microfiche that relate to history and it is located at http://web.pdx.edu/~dorner/microfilm.htm.
Although
some microform collections are cataloged, the contents in many cases
are not. This means that keyword or subject searches in Vikat may
not uncover items that we have related to your topic. In some cases,
you will have better luck finding a particular item by using the printed
finding aids located on the shelves next to the microform cabinets.
For example, the Library owns a Microfilmed series titled American
Women's Diaries located in the microfilm cabinets at PS669 .A47
1984. On the shelves by the cabinets can also be found a printed guide
to this collection, located at the call number PS669 .A47 1984.
Primary
Source Collections in Other Libraries & Archives
Some primary sources, such as diaries or letters, are original manuscripts
which exist in only one place in the world. Unless these have been
microfilmed or digitized, you will have to visit the source to use
these. Nearby institutions that contain primary source materials include:
Oregon Historical Society
1200 SW Park Avenue
Portland, OR 97205
http://www.ohs.org/
Multnomah County Public Library - Central Library
801 S.W. 10th Avenue
Portland, OR 97205
http://www.multcolib.org/agcy/cen.html
Northwest Digital Archives
Finding Aids of collections at libraries, museums, and historical centers in the Northwest can be searched through the Northwest Digital Archives database. Though a significant number of finding aids are included, they do not represent the entire holdings of the participating institutions.
Microfilmed or reprinted primary source materials at remote locations
may be requested through Interlibrary Loan (although these requests
may not always be filled). To locate possible additional sources,
you can try WorldCat:
WorldCat
When searching in WorldCat
for primary source materials, you can use the same headings you used
while searching VIKAT. Another option would be to do a keyword search,
but limit your search to Archival Materials.

National
Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
http://www.loc.gov/coll/nucmc/nucmc.html
This source lists manuscript collections and their locations and is
especially useful if you are trying to locate where someone's personal
papers are held. The Library has a print copy covering 1959-1992 at
Reference Z6620.U5 N3.
Manuscript collections which have been cataloged since 1986 appear
in the online searchable NUCMC
catalog. There are two parts, the OCLC and the RLG Union Catalog.
WorldCat includes the OCLC records, so you may just want to use the
RLG Union Catalog.
If you find an item of interest and want to know where it is located,
look for the "Control no." toward the end of the full record
and note the first four letters of the control number which is the
RLG library identifer. You can then search for this identifier in
the list of RLG Identifiers.
National
Archives & Records Administration Archival Research Catalog
http://www.archives.gov/research_room/arc/index.html
About 40% of the materials in the National Archives have been included
in this catalog, although that amount continues to grow. You can limit
your search to digital archival material by checking the box in the
search screen, or broaden your search to locate more materials. Most
microfilmed materials can be borrowed from the NARA. The search below
also demonstrates how you can limit to the holdings of the local NARA
branch in Seattle.

Other guides to finding archival collections include:
Columbia
University: Archives and Manuscript Collections
http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/eguides/speccol.html
Repositories
of Primary Sources
http://www.uidaho.edu/special-collections/Other.Repositories.html
Locating
Primary Sources on the Web
Using Primary Sources on the Web
http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/History/RUSA/
This excellent guide to finding and using primary sources on the
Web was designed by the librarians in the History Section of the American
Library Association's Reference and User Services division. As well
as linking you to key online primary resources, the site provides
guidance on how to search for additional resources, judge the quality
of those resources, and cite the sources in a bibliography.
|