PSU Library Logo
 
 

International Business

   

This resource guide presents reference and research sources in the broad area of International Business.

See also related guides Business Research | International Marketing | International Marketing - Statistical Sources | Government Information

   

Sections of this guide:
Encyclopedias  | Directories | Reference Works  |  Databases and Indexes
| Subject Headings  |  Web Resources

 

   

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing in which articles a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.

book

Encyclopedia of global industries
HD 2324 .E53 / 2nd Floor Ready Reference, 1996

book

International encyclopedia of business and management
HF 1001 .I53 / 2nd Floor Reference, 1996

book

International encyclopedia of the stock market
HG4551 .I528 / 2nd Floor Reference, 1999

Go to top of page

   

Directories

book

D&B Principal International Businesses
HF54 .U5 P7 / 2nd Floor Reference, 2003-04

book Director of American firms operating in foreign countries
HG4538 .A1 D5 / Basement, 2001
book

Directory of foreign firms operating in the U.S.
HG 4057 .A155 / Basement, 2000

book

Euromonitor directory of Asian companies
HG4234.85 .Z65 E87 / 2nd Floor Reference, 1997

book

World business directory
HF54 .U5 W667 / 2nd Floor Reference, 2001

Go to top of page

   

Reference Books

Handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.

book

International business information: how to find It, how to use it
HF54.5 .P33 / 2nd Floor Reference, 1998

book

Country Commerce. Economist Intelligence Unit
Annual and quarterly guides to investing, licensing and trading in 55 countries.
HC10 .B87 / Basement, 2003

book

Country Finance. Economist Intelligence Unit
Annual and quarterly reports on multinational financing for over 40 countries.
HG4538.B8 / 2nd Floor Reference, 2003
Online access available on a trial basis

book

The dictionary of international business terms
HD62.4 .S524 / 2nd Floor Reference, 1998

Dictionary of International Business Terms Online
Both of these online dictionaries are available through NetLibrary, an e-book collection. Click here to find out more about how to use NetLibrary.

book

Europa world yearbook
JN1.E85 / 3rd Floor, 2003

book

Hoover's handbook of world business
HG4009.H66 / 2nd Floor Reference, 2001

book

Panorama of EU industry
HC241.2 .P313 / 2nd Floor Reference, 1995/96

book

International financial statistics
HG3881.I626 / 2nd Floor Reference, 2004

book International financial statistics yearbook
HG3881 .I627 / 2nd Floor Reference, 2003

book

www source

World factbook
HC59.N248 / Basement, 2003

URL: http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html

book

World market share reporter
HF5410.W67 / 2nd Floor Reference, 1999-2000

Go to top of page

 

   

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.
psu-only access via the web Business Source Premier
Full-text access to business journals and company reports
psu-only access via the web

Mergent Online
Provides financial and descriptive information for publicly traded companies. Includes international company database.

psu-only access via the web

STAT-USA
Includes the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB), which is the U.S. Government's most comprehensive source
of international trade data and export promotion information.

CD-ROM World Consumer Markets on CD-ROM
Euromonitor Publications 2000/2001
World Consumer Markets is a global database of consumer market size data spanning 52 countries. It provides up-to-date volume and value sales statistics for more than 330 consumer products.
Ask at 2nd Floor Reference Desk
psu-only access via the web

World News Connection
World News Connection (WNC) is an online news service offering translated news and information compiled from non-U.S. media sources.

Go to top of page

 

   

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in international business. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library. 
 
Business etiquette -- Japan (or any country name here)
Corporate culture -- Japan (or any country name here)
Foreign Trade Regulation
Intercultural Communication
International Business Enterprises
International Business Enterprises -- accounting

International Business Enterprises -- Japan (or any country name here)

International Business Enterprises -- management
International Economic Integration
International Economic Relations
International Trade
Investments, Foreign -- Japan (or any country name here)
Management -- cross cultural studies

Go to top of page

 

   

Web Resources

www source

Background Notes
URL: http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/

www source

Business Information Service for the Newly Independent States (BISNIS)
URL: http://www.bisnis.doc.gov

www source

U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Guides
URL:
http://www.buyusainfo.net/adsearch.cfm?search_type=int&loadnav=no

www source

globalEDGE
Michigan State University Center for International Business Education and Research (MSU-CIBER)

URL: http://globaledge.msu.edu/ibrd/ibrd.asp

www source

OECD International Regulation Database
URL: http://www.oecd.org/home/

www source

International Trade Administration
Trade Information Center
URL: http://www.trade.gov/td/tic/

www source

United States Council for International Business
URL: http://www.uscib.org/

Go to top of page

 

 

University Home | Library Home | Subject Resource Guides 

 

Page developed by:
Elizabeth Howell and Daphne Allen
Revised 14 June 2004
by Library staff.