PSU Library logo

 

International Development

 

Introduction | Reference Works | Databases and Indexes | Electronic Journals | Finding Books | Organizations |International Development Resources | Writing and Citation Guides | Ask A Librarian

See also the following Subject Guides:
Economics | Environmental Economics |
Nonprofit Management | Public Administration

 

Introduction

The study of international development is concerned with economic, environmental, political and social change with an emphasis on improving living conditions and opportunities for poor and disenfranchised Third World populations. The challenges of the present and future are to achieve economic equality among nations and avoid the potentially catastrophic results of inequality, disenfranchisment, pandemics and terrorism.

International development agencies and grass-roots organizations navigate the political and ethical landscape of development issues, including the nature of foreign assistance, to establish a sense of community and hope within these populations. The establishment of opportunities for better health, education and macro/micro economic development are the focus of development organizations, ideally without regard to class, race or gender. Many of these organizations are known as NGOs, or Non-Governmental Organizations.

Go to top of page

Reference Works
book Africa South of the Sahara (Regional Surveys of the World) DT351.A37 / Latest at Reference
book African international relations : an annotated bibliography. Z6465 .A36 A36 1997 / Reference
book Annual review of United Nations affairs.
JX1977 .A1 A5 / Latest at Reference
book Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin American and the Caribbean. F1406 .C36 1992 / Reference
book Demographic Yearbook. HA17 .D45 / Latest at Reference
www source Development Dictionary Plan
book Dictionary of Development: Third World Economy, Environment and Society. HC59.7 .D513 1990 / Reference
book Dictionary of environment and development : people, places, ideas, and organizations GE10 .C78 1993 / Reference
book Dictionary of Environmental and Sustainable Development. Jossey-Bass. HC79 .E5 G518 1996 / Reference
book Dictionary of Third World Terms. D883 .H33 1992 / Reference
www source Directory of Development Organizations
book Encyclopedia of global change : environmental change and human society GE149 .E47 2002 / Reference
book Encyclopedia of Human Rights. JX1904 .A42 / Reference
book Encyclopedia of international peacekeeping operations.
JZ6374 .R36 1999 / Reference
book Encyclopedia of the Third World. HC59.7 .K87 1992 / Reference
book Europa World Year Book. JN1 .E85 / Latest at Reference
book Global Development: A Reference Handbook.
HC59.7 .S283 1995 / Stacks
psu-only access via the webbook Handbook of Latin American studies [electronic resource]. 1997
Handbook of Latin American studies. Z1605 .H23/ Latest at Reference
book Human Development Report. HD72 .H85
book Illustrated Book of World Rankings
HA155 .K87 1997/ Latest at Reference
book International African bibliography. Z3503 .I5 / Reference
book International bibliography. "Publications of intergovernmental organizations." Z6482 .I55 / Reference
book International Development Dictionary.
HF1359 .F79 1991 / Reference
book International Financial Statistics. Yearbook.
HG3881 .I627 / Latest at Reference
book International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia and Oceania.
HA4675 .M552 1998 / Reference
book International Organizations. JX1995 .A72 1983 Stacks
book The international yearbook of environmental and resource economics : a survey of current issues
HC79 .E5 I616 1999/2000 / Reserve
book The Middle East and North Africa (Regional Surveys of the World). DS49.M5 / Latest at Reference
book

National accounts of OECD countries.
HC79 .I5 O67 / Latest at Reference

www source OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
www source Sociology, anthropology, and development [electronic resource] : an annotated bibliography of World Bank publications, 1975-1993
book Statesman's Yearbook. JA51 .S7 / Latest at Reference
book Statistical Yearbook. Unesco. AZ361 .U45
book Statistical Yearbook (United Nations Statistical Office)
HA12.5 .U63 / Latest at Reference
www source Sustainable Development Principles @IISDnet
book Third world women's literatures : a dictionary and guide to materials in English. PN849 .U43 F58 1995 Stacks
book Women in development : a resource guide for organization and action. HQ1154 .W8832 1983 Stacks
book Women in the Third World: A Reference Handbook
HQ1870.9 .K58 1997 Stacks
www source World Bank Organization Data
Limited subsets of data from World Bank Statistical Publications
cd rompsu-only access via the web World Development Indicators / Reference
Partial data may also be found on the Web at
World Bank Data & Maps
book World Development Report. HC59.7 .W659 2003 / Reference
bookwww source World Factbook HC59 .N248 / Latest ed. in Ready Ref
Internet
book World hunger : a reference handbook.
HD9000.5 .K883 1991 Stacks
book World Tables. HC59 .W669 Stacks
book Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations.
G63 .W67 1998 / Reference
book Yearbook of International Organizations.
JX1904 .A42 / Latest at Reference


Go to top of page

Databases and Indexes (PSU only)

Business Source Premier
Full-text access to business journals and company reports
Full-Text
Access UN 1944-2004 - UN Microfiche collection contains full documents. PSU has: Microfiche 1970- ; Recent publications may available via Internet Abstracts; some web documents
Agricola (Good source for policy information on agriculture and environment.) Citations; Some links to full text
EconLit 1969- (Economics journals, collective volumes, books, dissertations, and working papers.) Abstracts
EBSCOhost - Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Newspaper Source, Professional Development Collection (1990- ; coverage varies) Full-Text
Environmental Abstracts 1980- Abstracts
ERIC (journal articles and documents in the field of education). Full-text may be available for documents in ERIC Documents and for articles in Education Abstracts Full Text Abstracts; some full text in related databases
GeoBase 1980- Useful source for environmental and development issues as well as earth science topics. Abstracts

Impact/ACCESS GDOCS 1976- (U.S. Government Publications)

Citations
Statistical Universe (Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe) Abstracts and Tables
JAKE (Find out which databases index a journal title.)  
JSTOR Multidisciplinary academic journal backfiles - articles in PDF files. (Coverage varies) Full-Text
Newspaper Source Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers. Full-Text
PAIS International 1972- Abstracts
Population Index Online (JSTOR & Population Index on the Web) Full-Text
Project Muse -- Scholarly Journals Online Full-Text
Social Science Index  Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts Abstracts
STAT-USA Business, trade and economic information. Full-Text
Wall Street Journal Online 1984- Eastern Edition Full-Text
Web of Science
Citations; citation searching
World News Connection Foreign Broadcast Information Service Full-Text
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Abstracts

Electronic Journals

A comprehensive list of electronic journals can be found at the top of the Full Text Sources page. For example, Journal of Development Studies is available full text in Business Source Premier for the years 1964-1 year ago. Typically, there is a "rolling wall" of full text coverage for many journals so the latest articles may not be in full text. You may refer to the full-text sources list to determine the coverage.


Go to top of page

Finding Books

Subject Headings | Keywords | Call Numbers | Catalogs & Internet Sources

Subject Headings and Keywords (Vikat)

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in international development. A complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings is available at the Reference Desk.

Agriculture - Developing countries
Developing countries - Economic policy
Developing countries - Social conditions
Developing countries - Politics and government
Ecofeminism
Economic assistance - developing countries
Industrialization--environmental aspects
International trade--environmental aspects
Natural resources--management
Rural development - ("X" country)
Social ecology
Social justice
Social responsibility of business
Sustainable agriculture
Sustainable development
Women in development

Keywords
Sometimes a subject heading does not exist for a particular area of focus, or the subject heading does not reflect contemporary usage or terminology. In that case, a keyword search is necessary. Sometimes a subject search does not yield any results. In this case, Vikat automatically offers to search your words as keywords.

Call Numbers
International Development does not have distinct ranges of numbers in the Library of Congress Classification system. Instead, the literature of International Development is dispersed among the areas of sciences and social sciences. The best approach to finding materials is to use a Subject or Keyword search in the Online Catalog.

Catalogs

Use these catalogs to search for your monographic materials and documents. Selected Subjects and Keywords are provided below. For materials that are not owned by PSU OR ORBIS, PSU users may use our Interlibrary Loan Service (be sure to check Vikat and SUMMIT before submitting an Interlibrary Loan Request).

Catalogs
PSU
Online Catalog
(Vikat)
SUMMIT Worldcat
Includes over 35 million records in libraries in U.S. and elsewhere.
Internet Publication Sources
Center for International Development at Harvard University Office of Women in Development Publications

USAID Publications

U.S. Department of State Electronic Research Collection International Monetary Fund Publications

World Bank Publications

 


Request Interlibrary Loan

Back to Finding Books

Go to top of page


Organizations

Asian Development Bank

Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations

Inter-American Development Bank

Inter-American Investment Corporation

International Finance Corporation
World Bank Group

International Institute for Sustainable Development
The International Institute for Sustainable Development is concerned with advancing policy recommendations on international trade and investment, economic policy, climate change, measurement and indicators, and natural resource management to make development sustainable--not just for tomorrow, but for countless generations to come.

International Monetary Fund

National Council for Science and the Environment

"The National Council for Science and the Environment (NCSE) has been working since 1990 to improve the scientific basis for environmental decisionmaking. NCSE is supported by nearly 500 academic, scientific, environmental, and business organizations..."

Nongovernmental Organizations
The WWW Virtual Library - International Affairs Resources

OECD Online
Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development

Office of the United States Trade Representative

UNESCO
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

UNESCO INSTITUTE FOR STATISTICS

UNICEF (United Nations Childrens Fund)

UNFPA - The United Nations Population Fund

United Nations
The Library maintains a microfiche depository of UN documents listed in the database Access UN.

United Nations Capital Development Fund

United Nations Conference on Trade and Development

United Nations Development Program

United Nations Environment Programme

United Nations Human Rights Website

United Nations Industrial Development Organization

United Nations Statistical Division Compilation of Social Indicators

United Nations Sustainable Development Networking Program

U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID)

U.S. Department of State

U.S. International Trade Administration (ITA)

The World Bank Group
Also known as the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development.


World Health Organization
WHO continuously monitors disease outbreaks, including deliberate chemical /biological attacks, through The Global Outbreak Alert and Response Network.


Go to top of page



International Development Resources

Center for Health and the Global Environment

Center for World Indigenous Studies

The Civil Society Initiative/Nongovernmental Organizations
World Health Organization

Country Studies
Library of Congress

Eldis - The Gateway to Development Information

Global Environment Facility
" The Global Environment Facility was established to forge international cooperation and finance actions to address four critical threats to the global environment: biodiversity loss, climate change, degradation of international waters, and ozone depletion. Related work to stem the pervasive problem of land degradation is also eligible for GEF funding..."

Global Resource Information Database (GRID)
United Nations Environment Programme

Human Rights Watch

Human Rights Web

ID21 Development Research Reporting Service
U.K. Department for International Development

IDRC's To the World
Internet Sites related to international development.

IDSNet
International Development Studies Network

Institute for Global Communications (IGC.org)

International Development
WWW Virtual Library - International Affairs Resources

International Development Studies Internet Links
Trent University

Internet Resources for Latin America
Princeton University

Oxfam Policy Papers
Oxfam GB is a development, relief, and campaigning organisation dedicated to finding lasting solutions to poverty and suffering around the world.

Political Database of the Americas
Georgetown University

Praxis: Resources for Social and Economic Development
International Development Home Page of Professor Richard Estes, University of Pennsylvania

Social Science Information Gateway (SOSIG): Economic Growth (Portal)


Sustainable Development

World Wide Web Virtual Library
" A comprehensive list of internet sites dealing with sustainable development, including organisations, projects and activities, electronic journals, libraries, references and documents, databases, directories or metadatabases."

Third World Network

Trade and Environment Database
American University

Virtual Library - Agriculture
World Wide Web Virtual Library

Virtual Library - Education

World Wide Web Virtual Library

Virtual Library - International Affairs Resources
World Wide Web Virtual Library

Virtual Library - International Development
World Wide Web Virtual Library

Virtual Library on International Development
Canadian International Development Agency
A collection of links to international development resources on the Internet

The Virtual Library on Microcredit
The World Wide Web Virtual Library

Virtual Library - Social Sciences
World Wide Web Virtual Library

Virtual Library - Sustainable Development
World Wide Web Virtual Library

The World's Water

Go to top of page

Writing and Citation Guides

Internet Citation Guides
University of Wisconsin Library

Writing, Citing and Evaluating Guides on the Internet
University of British Columbia


Return to top of page


Library Home | Other Guides

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home

Page developed by:
Daphne Allen
Maintained by:
Allen Hauser


 
Last updated: