PSU Library logo

 

International Marketing

 

 

Introduction | Country Background Information | Economic & Demographic Data | Business Customs, Regulations & Resources | Guides to Specific Foreign Markets | CD-ROM & Online Databases | Market Research Firms

See also related guides listed on the Business Librarian's Page.

 

 

INTRODUCTION

Researching the foreign market for U. S. goods and services can be a complicated and time-consuming process. Data must be gathered from a variety of sources in order to develop a marketing plan. This guide highlights some of the most useful foreign market information sources and offers suggestions for locating others.

Please see our guide, International Marketing - Statistical Sources, for help finding statistical data for international marketing research.

back to contents

 

COUNTRY BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Area handbook series / Country studies
Library of Congress. Irregular
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
A series of country studies prepared for the U.S. Department of Defense. Individual publications are available for many countries, both in print and online. Check the Library's online catalog by series (search for: Area handbook series for a list of those available).
Mostly on 4th floor; call numbers vary.

Asia yearbook
Far Eastern Economic Review. Annual
HC411 .F19 2nd Floor / Reference, 1973-

Background notes
U.S. Department of State. Irregular
http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/
A series of pamphlets providing basic cultural, demographic and economic data for countries of the world. Available in print and online. Check the Library's online catalog for individual titles in the series by searching by title (eg., search for: Background notes Egypt).
4th Floor, dates vary

Europa world yearbook
Europa Publications Ltd. Annual
Provides political, economic, and commercial information for countries.
JN1 .E85 2nd Floor / Ready Reference, 1959-

Additional sources may be identified by searching the Library's online catalog by subject using the country headings, e.g. Japan - industries.

back to contents

 

ECONOMIC & DEMOGRAPHIC DATA

If you are interested in statistical yearbooks or annual abstracts for a specific country, perform a subject word search from the Library's online catalog (eg., search for Thailand statistics). Also, you may search the Internet (eg., Korea statistics) via Google or other search engine to find government statistics web sites of countries.

Google

Demographic yearbook = Annuaire démographique
Dept. of Economic and Social Affairs, Statistical Office, United Nations. Annual
Demographic statistics for the United Nations member countries.
HA17 .D45 2nd Floor / Reference, 1948-
IIS microfiche 3080-S4

Direction of trade
International Monetary Fund. Annual
HF91 .D5 Basement, 2002

Economic survey of Japan
Japan. Economic Planning Agency. Annual
HC461 .E3 2nd Floor Reference, 1993/94

Economic survey of Latin America and the Caribbean
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean. Annual
HC121 .U525
Basement, 1982-84
IIS Microfiche 3230-S4 / Basement

Global statistics
United Nations
http://www.un.org/Depts/unsd/global.htm
Comprehensive, central source for online statistics on United Nations member countries. Includes links to other international agencies and national statistical bureaus.

Handbook of international trade and development statistics
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development. Annual
JX1977 .A2 TD/STAT 4th Floor / Documents Collection, 1972-1986
IIS microfiche 4050-S1

Human development report.
Oxford University Press / United Nations Development Programme. Annual
Demographic, industry, economic, and social statistics with an emphasis on development.
HD72 .H85 Basement, 2003

Infonation
United Nations
http://cyberschoolbus.un.org/infonation3/menu/advanced.asp
Database allowing comparison of statistical data between different United Nations member countries.

International economic scoreboard
Conference Board. Semiannual
HC10 .I4662 Basement / Serial, 1979-

International financial statistics
International Monetary Fund. Monthly, with an annual yearbook.
Monthly statistics for member countries, including GNP, debt, interest rates and exchange rates.
HG3881 .I626 Basement / Serial (latest 6 months in 2nd Floor Reference) 1979-

International trade statistics yearbook
United Nations Statistical Office. Annual
HF91 .U473 Basement 1983-85
IIS microfiche 3080-S15 Basement

Mark Bernkopf's central banking resource center
http://patriot.net/~bernkopf/
Directory of central banks of various countries, including internet links.

Monthly bulletin of statistics
United Nations Statistical Office. Monthly
HC57 .U66 Basement, 1952-
IIS microfiche 3080-P2

OECD economic surveys
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Annual.
Individual reports for each OECD member country.
To retrieve a list of OECD Surveys available at the Portland State University Library, perform a title word search from the Library's online catalog (search for OECD economic surveys). Many OECD economic surveys available in electronic format as well.
Call number varies
IIS microfiche 2300-S2

OECD statistics
http://www.oecd.org/std/
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
Economic indicators, labor force, agricultural, industry, and trade statistics.

Statistical abstract of Latin America
UCLA Latin American Center. Annual
Updated irregularly by the Statistical abstract of Latin America. Supplement series
HA 935.S8 2nd Floor / Reference, 2002

Statistical abstract of the world
Gale Research. Annual
HA154 .S83 2nd Floor / Reference, 1996

Statistical yearbook = Annuaire statistique
United Nations Statistical Office. Annual
Comprehensive annual compilation of statistics for the United Nations member countries, covering all subjects. Arranged topically.
HA12.5 U63 Basement, 1948-
IIS microfiche 3080-S16

Statistical yearbook = Annuaire statistique / UNESCO
UNESCO. Annual
Cultural, scientific, and social statistics for the 188 United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) member nations. Includes data on education, publishing, cinema & the arts, broadcasting, and cultural heritage.
AZ361 .U45 Basement, 1963-70, 1972-

Statistical yearbook for Asia and the Pacific
Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific. Annual
JX1977 .A2 ST/ESCAP 4th Floor / Documents Collection, 1973-
IIS Microfiche 4110-S1

Statistical yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean
U.N. Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean. Annual
JX1977 .A2 LC/G 4th Floor / Documents Collection, 1985
IIS Microfiche 3230-S2

UNESCO Institute for Statistics
United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization
http://unescostat.unesco.org/
Wide variety of educational, scientific, and cultural statistics.

World development indicators CD-ROM
HC59.15 .W657
2nd Floor / Ready Reference, 2003
Partial data may also be found on the Web at
World Bank Data & Maps

World development report
World Bank. Annual
Production, capital, human resources, and general economic data.
HC59.7 .W659 2nd Floor / Reference, 2004

The world economic factbook
Euromonitor. Annual
HC10 .W7984 2nd Floor / Reference, 2003-03

United Nations Population Information Network
United Nations Population Division
Data on world population trends.

http://www.un.org/popin/

back to contents

 

BUSINESS CUSTOMS, REGULATIONS & RESOURCES

Access Nippon : how to succeed in Japan
Access Nippon
HC461 .A535 2nd Floor / Reference, 1994

A basic guide to exporting
U.S. Department of Commerce
Available in print - C 61.8:EX 7/3/[date] 4th Floor / Documents Collection
and on the web at http://www.unzco.com/basicguide/index.html

A basic guide to importing
U.S. Department of Commerce
HF3035 .B373 2nd Floor / Ready Reference, 1995

Country commerce
Business International Corporation
Arranged by regions, this reference guide provides information to the operating conditions, commercial laws, and business regulations in 60 countries. Updated semi-annually.
HC10 .B87 2nd Floor / Reference, 2003

Country commercial guides
U.S. Department of State. Annual
http://www.state.gov/www/about_state/business/com_guides/index.html
Information on the business and economic situation of foreign countries and the political climate as it affects U.S. business. Prepared by U.S. embassies. Link covers 1996-2001.
Also available through the STAT-USA database. In the database, click on GLOBUS & NTDB (National Trade Data Bank). (Portland State University users only)

Country finance
Economist Intelligence Unit. Annual, with quarterly updates.
Reference guide to financing techniques and banking services available to foreign firms in over 40 countries.
HG4538 .B8 2nd Floor / Reference. 2003

Culturegrams : the nations around us
David M. Kennedy Center for International Studies, Brigham Young University
A loose-leaf collection of short pamphlets describing the culture, people, economics, customs, and society for various countries.
GT150 .C85 Basement / Reference, 2000

Developing capital markets in Eastern Europe : a business reference
Printer Publishers
HG5430.7 .A3 L56 Basement, 1992

Doing business in Russia : basic facts for the pioneering entrepreneur
Oasis Press/PSI Research, 2nd ed.
HG5580.2 .A3G65 1996 Basement, 1996

Doing business in today's India
Quorum
HC435.2 .B86 1998 Basement, 1998

East European opportunity : the complete business guide & sourcebook
John Wiley & Sons
HC244 .Z593 1992 Basement, 1992

European companies : a guide to sources of information
CBD Research, 4th ed.
HC240 .R53 1992 2nd Floor / Reference, 1992

Exporters' encyclopedia
Dun and Bradstreet, Inc. Annual, with semi-monthly issues.
HF3011 .E9 2nd Floor / Reference

U.S. custom house guide
North American Publishing Company
HE953 .N5 C8 2nd Floor / Reference, 2000

U.S. Customs & Border Protection
Information on importing/exporting, traveler information and customs enforcement.
http://www.customs.gov

World chamber of commerce directory
Lists chambers of commerce and visitor's bureaus from all over the world. Annual
HF294 .W75 2nd Floor / Reference, 2003

World Market Share Reporter
Gale Research
HF5410 .W67 1999-2000 2nd Floor / Reference, 1999-2000

back to contents

 

GUIDES TO SPECIFIC FOREIGN MARKETS

World Consumer Markets on CD-ROM
Euromonitor Publications 2000/2001
World Consumer Markets is a global database of consumer market size data spanning 52 countries. It provides up-to-date volume and value sales statistics for more than 330 consumer products.
HF5415 .W67 2nd Floor / Ready Reference

Consumer Asia
Euromonitor Publications. Annual
Demographics, economic indicators, standard of living, household statistics, consumer spending, advertising, service industries, and consumer market data. Arranged by country.
HC411 .C623 2nd Floor / Reference, 1997

Consumer China
Euromonitor Publications
Narrative essays providing an overview of the Chinese economy and market, and statistics on background marketing parameters and consumer markets.
HC430 .C6 C65 2nd Floor / Reference, 1997

Consumer Eastern Europe
Euromonitor Publications
Regional data, data on consumer markets, and detailed country statistical profiles.
HC244 .A1 C66 Basement, 1992

Consumer Europe
Euromonitor Publications. Irregular
Consumer market information on the former Soviet-bloc countries of Eastern Europe. Market statistics on various consumer products, data on consumption trends. Arranged by product type.
HD7022 .C68 2nd Floor / Reference, 1994

Consumer international
Euromonitor Publications
Consumer market information on 27 major non-European markets. Covers a variety of consumer products and tracks consumption trends. Arranged by product type, with detailed tables.
HC79 .C6 C64 2nd Floor / Reference, 1997/98

Consumer Japan
Euromonitor Publications
Market overview, statistical factfile (demographics, economic data, etc.), major consumer markets, and company profiles for major companies and major retailers.
HF3821 .C66 2nd Floor / Reference, 1990

Consumer Latin America
Euromonitor Publications. Annual
Demographics, economic indicators, standard of living, household statistics, consumer spending, advertising, service industries, and consumer market data. Arranged by country.
HC130 .C6 C67 2nd Floor / Reference, 1998

Consumer Middle East
Euromonitor Publications. Annual
HC415.15 .Z9 C6 2nd Floor / Reference, 1998

Cracking the Pacific rim : everything marketers must know to sell into the world's newest emerging markets
Probus
HF5415.12 .A8 E53 1992 Basement, 1992

European business rankings
Gale Research
Lists of companies, products, services and activities.
HG4132.A2 2nd Floor / Reference, 1992

European marketing data and statistics
Euromonitor Publications. Annual
HA1107 .E87 2nd Floor / Reference, 2001

Findex : the worldwide directory of market research reports, studies and surveys
NSA Directories. Annual
A comprehensive listing of commercially available market and business research, indexed by industry, company name, geographic area. (Market research reports which deal with a specific market or product tend to be very expensive.)
HF5415.2 .F55 2nd Floor / Reference, 2003

International marketing data and statistics
Euromonitor Publications. Annual
Comprehensive source for international statistics, arranged topically to allow for comparison between countries and regions. Subjects covered include: demographic trends, economic indicators, trade, labor, defense, consumer expenditure, retailing & retail distribution, advertising and media patterns, consumer market sizes, consumer prices & costs, environmental data, cultural indicators, travel & tourism, and transportation. Also includes country studies for more than 160 nations, with basic statistics and a narrative political/cultural outline.
HA42 .I56 2nd Floor / Reference, 2001

International marketing handbook
Gale Research Co., c1981-
Provides marketing profiles for countries from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, including statistics on import/exports, manufacturing, advertising, labor, taxation, and credit. Also includes a series of international marketing briefs, on topics ranging from trade fairs and exporting to foreign business practices.
HF1416 .I62 2nd Floor / Reference, 1988

The other Europe: a complete guide to business opportunities in Eastern Europe
McGraw-Hill
HG5430.7 .A3 E53 1994 Basement, 1994

Panorama of EU industry
Commission of the European Communities. Annual, with updates.
Describes over 125 sectors of the European Community's industry, including manufacturing, services and emerging industries.
HC241.2 .P313 2nd Floor / Reference, 1995/96

World market share reporter
Gale Research. Biennial
HF5410 .W67 2nd Floor / Reference, 1999-2000

back to contents

 

CD-ROM AND ONLINE DATABASES (PSU users only)

Business Source Premiere
Coverage: 1980-Present. Citations and some full text (approximately one third to one half of publications from dates beginning in the mid 1990's) from business and management periodicals, trade/industry journals, scholarly journals, local area titles, popular business magazines and newspapers. Topics include finance, acquisitions and mergers, international trade, money management, new technologies and products, local and regional business trends, investments and banking.

Globus & NTDB
Part of the STAT-USA database. Provides access to the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB), Global Business Opportunities (GLOBUS), and the International Trade Library. Gives access to international trade statistics, exchange rates, and international trade and business leads. Includes a Market Research Repository providing access to market reports for foreign countries, Country commercial guides, and international industry sector analysis.


F&S Index Plus Text International

Information Access Corporation. Monthly
CD-ROM index with some full-text, covering a large number of business and trade journals - especially useful for hard to find international trade publications.
Z7164 .C8 F17 2nd Floor / Ready Reference, 1995


Investext Plus
Information Access Corporation, 1997-
Investext Plus is the premier financial research database available today. Search this database to find investment, company & industry reports from over 500 brokers in North America, Europe, Asia/Pacific, Latin America, Africa and the Middle East.

Wall Street Journal Index Online
Full text of the Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition. (Excludes stock quotes and classified ads). Coverage: 1984 - present

World Consumer Markets on CD-ROM
Euromonitor Publications 2000/2001
World Consumer Markets is a global database of consumer market size data spanning 52 countries. It provides up-to-date volume and value sales statistics for more than 330 consumer products.
HF5415 .W67 2nd Floor / Ready Reference

back to contents


 

MARKET RESEARCH FIRMS

Although most of the firms listed below want to sell their research reports for a profit, some of the sites contain some free information and data.

Larry Chase's Search Engine for Marketers
http://wdfm.com/

Gartner
http://www3.gartner.com/Init

Electronic Trend Publications
http://www.electronictrendpubs.com/

Findex - "The directory of market research reports, studies and surveys"
NSA Directories

HF5415.2 .F55 / Reference, 2003

Frost & Sullivan (F&S)
http://www.frost.com/

The Gallup Organization
Consumer and demographic research around the world, e.g. Americans Lean Toward Trade Pact With China
http://www.gallup.com

International Data Corporation (IDC): Computer and information technology (IT) market research and consulting
http://www.idcresearch.com/

The Information Gatekeepers Group
http://www.igigroup.com/

Jupiter Research
http://www.jupiterresearch
.com/

Marketing Research Association (MRA)
http://www.mra-net.org/

The NPD Group Home page
http://www.npd.com/

back to contents



Revised June 2004 by Library staff.

University Home | Library Home | Subject Guides

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home
Page created by:
Elizabeth Howell and Daphne Allen
 
Last updated:
Tuesday, 07-Aug-2001 09:53:34 PDT

00601 hits since January 8, 2001