| |
|
|
INTRODUCTION
Researching the foreign market for U.S. goods and services can
be a complicated and time consuming process. All kinds of data are
required to develop a sound marketing plan, but finding statistical
information can be among the most difficult of tasks facing market
researchers. This guide will help make sense of international statistical
information by highlighting some of the most useful sources, and
providing information about how to find others.
All of the sources in this guide can be found in the Portland
State University Library, accessed through the Library's computer
network, or are available on the world wide web. Many of the statistical
sources listed here are used widely and will also be found in other
university and college libraries, or large public libraries.
Please see our guide, International Marketing
Research for general help with research in international marketing.
For research on domestic marketing topics, see U.S.
Marketing Research.
back to contents
|
|
|
INDICES & GUIDES
Indices to statistics and statistical sources and bibliographic
guides can be invaluable. Where do you find out the percentage of
people in Mexico, Belize, and Costa Rica who own their own homes,
or the number of grocery stores operating in Ireland? A bibliography
or index can help you find the right sources to answer these questions.
Finding statistics online : how to locate the elusive numbers
you need
Information Today. 1998.
Detailed guide to finding statistics online, arranged topically.
Includes information about how each type of data is gathered and
presented, and provides a case study for finding statistics on each
topic.
HA33.5 .B47 1998 2nd Floor / Reference, 1998
Eurodata Databases
CERGE-EI Library provides statistica data on European Union nations.
There are numerous links to data on the Czech Republic as well as
other nations.
http://www.cerge-ei.cz/library/databases/eurodata/
Findex : the worldwide directory of market research reports,
studies and surveys
NSA Directories. Annual.
A comprehensive listing of commercially available market and business
research, indexed by industry, company name, geographic area. (Market
research reports which deal with a specific market or product tend
to be very expensive.)
HF5415.2 .F55 2nd Floor / Reference, 2003
Global data locator
Bernan Press. 1997.
Comprehensive and richly annotated guide to international statistics
sources, covering all subjects.
Z7551 .K459 1997 2nd Floor / Reference, 1997
Latin American statistical sources
Latin
American & Caribbean government documents project, at Cornell
University.
Links to national statistical bureaus for Latin American and Caribbean
countries, other national statistics producers, and international
agency statistics producers.
http://lib1.library.cornell.edu/colldev/lastatistics.html
Statistical resources on the web : foreign government sources
University of Michigan
Documents Center.
List of foreign governmental statistical sources on the world wide
web, list of links to government-produced or provided statistical
data for specific countries.
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/foreign.html
Foreign Economics http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stecfor.html
Statistical
universe
Congressional Information Service.
Online index to U.S. and international statistics. Covers the Index
to international statistics (IIS) and American statistics
index (ASI) microfiche. (Portland State University only)
back to contents
|
|
|
MARKETING DATA
The sources in this section provide general statistical information
about foreign countries, arranged specifically for market researchers.
Here you will find demographic, economic, trade, and general business
data, structured for use in marketing research.
Consumer Asia
Euromonitor Publications. Annual.
Demographics, economic indicators, standard of living, household
statistics, consumer spending, advertising, service industries,
and consumer market data. Arranged by country.
HC411 .C623 2nd Floor / Reference, 1997
Consumer China
Euromonitor Publications.
Narrative essays providing an overview of the Chinese economy and
market, and statistics on background marketing parameters and consumer
markets.
HC430 .C6 C65 2nd Floor / Reference, 1997
Consumer Eastern Europe
Euromonitor Publications.
Regional data, data on consumer markets, and detailed country statistical
profiles.
HC244 .A1 C66 Basement, 1992
Consumer Europe
Euromonitor Publications. Irregular.
Consumer market information on the former Soviet-bloc countries
of Eastern Europe. Market statistics on various consumer products,
data on consumption trends. Arranged by product type.
HD7022 .C68 2nd Floor / Reference, 1994
Consumer international
Euromonitor Publications.
Consumer market information on 27 major non-European markets. Covers
a variety of consumer products and tracks consumption trends. Arranged
by product type, with detailed tables.
HC79 .C6 C64 2nd Floor / Reference 1997/98
Consumer Japan
Euromonitor Publications.
Market overview, statistical factfile (demographics, economic data,
etc.), major consumer markets, and company profiles for major companies
and major retailers.
HF3821 .C66 2nd Floor / Reference, 1990
Consumer Latin America
Euromonitor Publications. Annual.
Demographics, economic indicators, standard of living, household
statistics, consumer spending, advertising, service industries,
and consumer market data. Arranged by country.
HC130 .C6 C67 2nd Floor / Reference, 1998
Consumer Middle East
Euromonitor Publications. Annual.
HC415.15 .Z9 C6 2nd Floor / Reference, 1998
European marketing data and statistics
European Research Consultants. Annual.
HA1107 .E87 2nd Floor / Reference, 2001
International marketing data and statistics
Euromonitor Publications. Annual.
Comprehensive source for international statistics, arranged topically
to allow for comparison between countries and regions. Subjects
covered include: demographic trends, economic indicators, trade,
labor, defense, consumer expenditure, retailing & retail distribution,
advertising and media patterns, consumer market sizes, consumer
prices & costs, environmental data, cultural indicators, travel
& tourism, and transportation. Also includes country studies for
more than 160 nations, with basic statistics and a narrative political/cultural
outline.
HA42 .I56 2nd Floor / Reference, 2001
International marketing handbook
Gale Research Co., c1981-
Provides marketing profiles for countries from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe,
including statistics on import/exports, manufacturing, advertising,
labor, taxation, and credit. Also includes a series of international
marketing briefs, on topics ranging from trade fairs and exporting
to foreign business practices.
HF1416 .I62 2nd Floor / Reference, 1988
World market share reporter
Gale Research. Biennial.
HF5410 .W67 2nd Floor / Reference, 1999/2000
back to contents
|
|
|
DEMOGRAPHIC DATA & GENERAL SOURCES
Typically, governmental agencies are the only groups that have
the resources to compile in-depth statistical information about
population and national or regional economies and trade. Most of
the items in this section were collected or compiled by governmental
statistics bureaus for use in their own country or region, but contain
much information that is useful for other purposes. Many of the
sources listed here go beyond demographics to include economic,
trade, and cultural data.
If you are interested in statistical yearbooks or annual abstracts
for countries not listed here, perform a keyword search from the
Library's online catalog (eg.,
search for Thailand statistics).
Annual abstract of statistics.
Great Britain. Board of Trade. Annual.
Abstract of statistics for the United Kingdom. Each volume contains
statistics for the 15 years preceding its publication.
HA1122 .A33 2nd Floor / Reference, 2004
Demographic yearbook = Annuaire démographique
Dept. of Economic and Social Affairs, Statistical Office, United
Nations. Annual.
Demographic statistics for the United Nations member countries.
HA17 .D45 2nd Floor / Reference, 2000
IIS microfiche 3080-S4
Global statistics
United Nations.
Comprehensive, central source for online statistics on United Nations
member countries. Includes links to other international agencies
and national statistical bureaus.
http://www.un.org/Depts/unsd/global.htm
Human development report
Oxford University Press / United Nations Development Programme.
Annual.
Demographic, industry, economic, and social statistics with an emphasis
on development.
HD72 .H85 Basement, 2003
Infonation
United Nations.
Database allowing comparison of statistical data among different
United Nations member countries.
http://cyberschoolbus.un.org/infonation3/menu/advanced.asp
Japan statistical yearbook
Statistics Bureau, Prime Minister's Office. Annual.
HA1831 .J36 Basement / 2003
Monthly bulletin of statistics
United Nations Statistical Office. Monthly.
HC57 .U66 Basement, 1988
IIS microfiche 3080-P2
Statistical abstract of Latin America
UCLA Latin American Center. Annual.
Updated irregularly by the Statistical abstract of Latin America.
Supplement series.
HA 935.S8 2nd Floor / Reference,
Statistical abstract of the world
Gale Research. Annual.
HA154 .S83 2nd Floor / Reference, 1996
Statistical yearbook = Annuaire statistique.
United Nations Statistical Office. Annual.
Comprehensive annual compilation of statistics for the United Nations
member countries, covering all subjects. Arranged topically.
HA12.5 U63 Basement / Reference, 1948-
IIS microfiche 3080-S16
Statistical yearbook = Annuaire statistique / UNESCO.
UNESCO. Annual.
Cultural, scientific, and social statistics for the 188 United Nations
Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) member
nations. Includes data on education, publishing, cinema & the arts,
broadcasting, and cultural heritage.
AZ361 .U45 2nd floor, 1963-70, 1972-
Statistical yearbook of China.
Hong Kong Economic Information Agency. Annual.
HA4631 .A35 Basement / Reference, 1981-
Statistical yearbook for Asia and the Pacific.
Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific. Annual.
JX1977 .A2 ST/ESCAP Basement / Documents Collection, 1973- (later
volumes on microfiche)
Statistical yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean.
U.N. Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean. Annual.
JX1977 .A2 LC/G Basement / Documents Collection, 1985-
IIS Microfiche 3230-S2, 1987
UNESCO institute for statistics.
United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization.
Wide variety of educational, scientific, and cultural statistics.
http://unescostat.unesco.org/
World population projections.
World Bank. Annual.
HA154 .W66 Basement, 1985, 1987/88
back to contents
|
|
|
ECONOMIC & FINANCIAL DATA
Information about economics, banking, finance, income, and spending
can be very important to marketing research. The items listed in
this section focus on economic and financial data, though some of
the sources listed above in the Demographic
Data & General Sources section will also provide this information,
together with other data. In particular, the statistical or census
bureaus of nations and international organizations are useful for
providing economic and financial statistics.
Economic survey of Japan.
Japan. Economic Planning Agency. Annual.
HC461 .E3 Basement / Reference, 1952/53-
Economic survey of Latin America and the Caribbean.
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean. Annual.
HC121 .U525 Basement / Reference, 1982-
International economic scoreboard.
Conference Board. Semiannual.
HC10 .I4662 Basement/Serial, 1979-
International financial statistics.
International Monetary Fund. Monthly, with an annual yearbook.
Monthly statistics for member countries, including GNP, debt, interest
rates and exchange rates.
HG3881 .I626 Basement/Serial (latest in current periodicals section),
1979-
Mark Bernkopf's central banking resource center.
Directory of central banks of various countries, including internet
links.
http://patriot.net/~bernkopf/
OECD economic surveys.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Annual.
Individual reports for each OECD member country.
To retrieve a list of OECD Surveys available at the Portland State
University Library, perform a title word search from the Library's
online catalog (search for OECD
economic surveys).
Call number varies
IIS microfiche 2300-S2
OECD statistics.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
Economic indicators, labor force, agricultural, industry, and trade
statistics.
http://www.oecd.org/std/
World development report.
World Bank. Annual.
Production, capital, human resources, and general economic data.
HC59.7 .W659 Basement / Reference, 1978-
The world economic factbook.
Euromonitor. Annual.
HC10 .W7984 Basement / Reference, 1996-
back to contents
|
|
|
TRADE DATA
Statistics on international and foreign internal trade are invaluable
in providing information on what has been successful in the past,
where markets are flourishing or stagnating, and what opportunities
exist. Trade data can also be found in some of the sources listed
above in the Demographic Data & General Sources.
Statistical bureaus of nations and international organizations often
record trade statistics.
Direction of trade statistics.
International Monetary Fund. Quarterly, with annual yearbook (1972-
).
HF91 .D5 Basement / Reference, 1981-
IIS microfiche 3840-P4
Globus & NTDB
Part of the STAT-USA
database. Provides access to the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB),
Global Business Opportunities (GLOBUS), and the International Trade
Library. Gives access to international trade statistics, exchange
rates, and international trade and business leads. Market research
reports are available for most countries and provide extensive economic,
social, and governmental information.
(Portland State University users only)
Handbook of international trade and development statistics.
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development. Annual.
JX1977 .A2 TD/STAT Basement / Documents Collection, 1972-
IIS microfiche 4050-S1
International trade statistics yearbook.
United Nations Statistical Office. Annual.
HF91 .U473 Basement/Serial, 1950-
IIS microfiche 3080-S15 Basement
back to contents
|
|
|
BUSINESS & INDUSTRY DATA
International business rankings and statistics of manufacturing
and industry are also valuable to market researchers. This section
lists a few basic sources for these data, which will provide company
rankings and manufacturing statistics.
European business rankings.
Gale Research.
Lists of companies, products, services and activities.
HG4132 .A2 Basement / Reference, 1992
Manufacturing worldwide : industry analyses, statistics,
products, and leading companies and countries.
Gale Research. Biennial.
World manufacturing statistics arranged by product. Also has statistical
profile of manufacturing by country.
HD9720.4 .M37 Basement / Reference, 1981-91
Year-book of labour statistics.
International Labour Office. Annual.
Updated quarterly by the Bulletin of labour statistics and
monthly by the Supplement of the bulletin of labour statistics.
Includes household income and expenditure surveys.
HD4826 .I633 Basement / Reference, 1960-
back to contents
|
This guide was compiled by Emily-Jane Dawson in June of
2000, as a teaching aid for students in International Marketing.
University
Home | Library Home | Subject
Guides
|