PSU Library Logo
Judaic Studies

 

Judaic Studies is an interdisciplinary topic which includes history, art, literature, anthopology, education, sociology, etc. If your research focuses on any of these areas, you should explore their specific Subject Guides. For information about Judaic Studies at Portland State Univeristy, see the Judaic Studies Web site.



Starting Your Research | Culture | History | Religion & Spirituality |  Diaspora | Israel

  
Culture

Reference Resources:

Blackwell companion to Jewish culture from the eighteenth century to the present / ed. by Glenda Abramson
Location: DS102.8 .B46 1989b Reference

The Encyclopedia of Jewish life before and during the Holocaust / ed. by Shmuel Spector
Location: DS135.E8 E45 2001 Reference

Jewish films in the United States : a comprehensive survey and descriptive filmography / compiled by Stuart Fox
Location: DS115.95 .Z9 F68 Reference
  

Web Resources:

Jewish Language Research
http://www.jewish-languages.org/
Information on this site is provided to encourage collaboration among scholars in the field of Jewish linguistics; to provide information and bibliographic references for linguists and Jewish studies scholars who wish to incorporate Jewish languages into their research; and to to provide an introduction to Jewish languages for the general public.

National Foundation for Jewish Culture
http://www.jewishculture.org/

Nextbook: A gateway to Jewish literature, culture & ideas
http://www.nextbook.org/

New Jewish Valuesfinder
http://www.ajljewishvalues.org/
The purpose of AJL’s New Jewish Valuesfinder is to identify the Jewish values found in contemporary Jewish children’s books. The free database allows you to search by author, title, subject, or by a particular value.

Yiddish Literature
http://www.jewish-literature.de/
The first database of Yiddish literature on the Internet, containing about 800 valuable Yiddish books, most of which were printed in West, Central and Eastern Europe. The publication dates of the books range from the mid-16th century to the beginning of the 20th century. The collection includes women's bibles, liturgy, practical guide books, science and education, works on religious customs, legends, chronicles, and translations of other texts. The database is a project of the Frankfurt University Library.

Page developed by Jennifer Dorner
Please send comments to dorner@pdx.edu

Last updated: