PSU Library Logo
Judaic Studies

 

Judaic Studies is an interdisciplinary topic which includes history, art, literature, anthopology, education, sociology, etc. If your research focuses on any of these areas, you should explore their specific Subject Guides. For information about Judaic Studies at Portland State Univeristy, see the Judaic Studies Web site.



Starting Your Research | CultureHistory | Religion & Spirituality| Diaspora | Israel

 

  
Religion & Spirituality

Reference Resources:

Anchor Bible Dictionary / ed. by David Noel Freedman
Location: BS440 .A54 1992 Reference
A six-volume illustrated dictionary containing articles on all apsects of biblical scholarship, including the Hebrew Bible. Entries include cross-references and bibliographies.

Dictionary of Judaism in the biblical period : 450 B.C.E. to 600 C.E. / ed. by Jacob Neusner, editor in chief
Location: BM50 .D525 1996 Reference

The Encyclopedia of Judaism / ed. by Jacob Neusner, Alan J. Avery-Peck & William Scott Green
Location: BM50 .E63 1999 PSU Shelves

The Encyclopedia of Religion / ed. by Mircea Eliade
Location: BL31 .E46 1987 Reference

Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion / ed. by R.J. Zwi Werblowsky & Geoffrey Wigoder
Location: BM50 .O94 1997 Reference
  
Web Resources:

Online Treasury of Talmudic Manuscripts
http://jnul.huji.ac.il/dl/talmud/
A searchable database of images of major Talmudic manuscripts from libraries throughout the world. As the manuscripts are entirely in Hebrew and Aramaic, the navigation tools of this site are in Hebrew. Windows users may have to install the appropriate language packs to view the Web pages. The database is the work of the Jewish National and Univeristy Library, Davide and Fela Shapell Family Digitization Project and the Hebrew University Department of Talmud.

 

 

Page developed by Jennifer Dorner
Please send comments to dorner@pdx.edu

Last updated: