PSU Library Logo

Law Resource Guide

Sections of this guide:
Encyclopedias | Reference WorksDatabases and Indexes | Databases and Indexes for U.S. Federal Law | Databases and Indexes for U.S. Case Law | Databases and Indexes for Oregon Law | Subject Headings | Call NumbersOrganizations & Societies | Web Resources

   

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing in which articles a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.
book Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
KF4548.E53 2000 (Reference)
book American Justice
KF154.A44 1996 (Reference)
book West's Encyclopedia of American Law
KF154.W47 1998 (Reference)

Go to top of page

   

Reference Books

Handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.
book Black's Law Dictionary
KF156.B53 1990 (Ready Reference, Reference)
book Parry & Grant Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Law
KZ1161.P37 2004 (Reference)
book American Dictionary of Criminal Justice
HV7411.C48 2001 (3rd floor)
book Education and the Law: A Dictionary
KF4117.T39 (Reference)
book West's Tax Law Dictionary
KF6287.W475 (Reference)
book The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation
KF245.U5 (Ready Reference, Reference)
book Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Citations
KF246.P73 1997 (Reference)
book Legal Research in a Nutshell
KF240.C54 1992 (Ready Reference)

Go to top of page

   

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.
psu-only access via the web Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
book Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
Z6453.I55 (Reference)
book Shepard's Acts and Cases by Popular Name
KF80.S5 (Ready Reference)

Go to top of page

   

U.S. Federal Law

psu-only access via the web Congressional Universe
book Thomas
book GPO Access
book Congressional Record
J11.R52 (4th floor)
See Vikat for online availability
book United States Statutes at Large
KF50.U5 (Government Information)
book United States Code Congressional and Administrative News
KF48 (3rd floor)
book United States Code
KF62 (Reference)
book United States Code Annotated
KF62 1927.T5 (3rd floor)
book Shepard's Federal Statute Citations
KF101.2.S545 (3rd floor)

Go to top of page

   

U.S. Federal Case Law

psu-only access via the web Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
book West's Decennial and General Digest
KF141 (3rd floor)
book United States Supreme Court Digest
KF101.1.U55 (3rd floor)
book Federal Practice Digest
KF127.W48 (3rd floor)
book Shepard's United States Citations
KF101.2.S54 (3rd floor)

Go to top of page

   

Oregon Law

psu-only access via the web Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
book Oregon Digest
KFO2447.1.O725 (3rd floor)
book Shepard's Oregon Citations
KFO2459.S44 (3rd floor)
book Oregon Administrative Rules
Oregon Bulletin
book Oregon Administrative Rules
J87.O735 (Reference)
book Oregon Revised Statutes
Search Current Oregon Legislation
book Oregon Revised Statutes
KFO2429.O73 (Reference)
book Oregon Laws
KFO2425.A2 (3rd floor)
book General Laws of Oregon
KFO2430 (3rd floor)
book Journals of the Senate and House
J87.O7H3 (4th floor)
book Final Legislative Calendar of the Oregon Legislative Assembly
J87.O7H4 (4th floor)
book Joint Legislative Schedule
J87.O7H7 (4th floor)
book Journal of the House of Representatives
J87.O7J3 (4th floor)
book House Bills
J87.O7K5 (4th floor)
book Weekly Cumulative Index to Legislative Measures
J87.O7M2 (4th floor)
book Oregon Bulletin
J87.O74ad (4th floor)
book Code and Charter of the City of Portland, Oregon
book Code and Charter of the City of Vancouver, Washington

Go to top of page

   

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in speech and hearing. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library.

Law [name of country or state]
Law and Ethics
Law and Literature
Law and Politics
Law Enforcement
Law History
Law in Literature
Law Interpretation and Construction
Law Medieval
Law Periodicals
Law Philosophy
Law Reform
Law Study and Teaching
Law United States

Go to top of page

   

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
HV6001-HV9475
Criminal Justice
K1-K36.5
Law Periodicals
K85-K89
Legal Research
K140-K165
History of the Law
KE
Canadian Law
KF1-KF9827
United States Federal Law
KFO2401-KFO2999
Oregon Law

Go to top of page

   

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society or an organization.
www source American Bar Association
http://w3.abanet.org/home.cfm
www source American Law Institute
http://www.ali.org/
www source American Political Science Association
http://www.apsanet.org/
www source Oregon State Bar
http://www.osbar.org/index.html
www source Multnomah Bar Association
http://www.mbabar.org/
www source Washington State Bar
http://www.wsba.org/
www source International Bar Association
http://www.ibanet.org/
www source International Law Institute
http://www.ili.org/

Go to top of page

   

Web Resources

www source FirstGov.gov
http://www.firstgov.gov/Topics/Reference_Shelf.shtml#Laws
www source Harvard Law School Research Guides
http://www.law.harvard.edu/library/services/research/guides/
www source Legal Associations and Organizations
http://www.findlaw.com/06associations/
www source Internet Law Library
http://www.lawguru.com/ilawlib/
www source Internet Legal Research Group
http://www.ilrg.com/
www source Senior Law
http://www.seniorlaw.com

Go to top of page

 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 

  PSU Library Home

Page managed by:
Don Frank

Last updated:
July 12, 2004