PSU Library Logo
 
 

Literature in English

   

This guide is highly selective and is designed to provide an overview of some of the general reference materials in English and American Literature. All items listed are available in Millar Library.

Within this page the following symbols are used:
book to denote books; cd rom to denote cd-rom resources; psu-only access via the web to denote PSU licensed web resources; and www source to denote generally accessible internet resources.

Items having this background color are particularly important resources.

See also related guides Applied Linguistics | Medieval Studies l Shakespeare | Theater

   

Sections of this guide:
Encyclopedias   |  Reference Works  | Literary Definitions | Guides to English Literature Research |   Databases and Indexes |  Subject Headings   | Call Numbers  | Organizations & Societies   |  Web Resources-Literature in General  | Web Resources for Writers

 

   

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing articles in which a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.
book

Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia. 4th Ed.
Reference, Z699.5 .R44 A8

book Dictionary of the History of Ideas: Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas. 1974. 5 Vols.
Reference, CB5 .D52
book Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory: Approaches, Scholars, Terms.
Reference, PN81 .E468 1993
book Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature.
Reference, PN41 .E48 1998
book Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism, 2 Vols. Reference, PN74 .E53 1999
book Encyclopedia of Post-colonial literatures in English, 2 Vols. Reference, PR9080 .A53 1994
book Encyclopedia of the Novel, 2 Vols.
Reference, PN41 .E487 1998
book Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century. Reference, PN771 .E5 1999
book Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
Reference, PN41 .M42 1995

Go to top of page

   

Reference Books

Handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.
book The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English.
Reference, PR85 .C29 1993. (Covers the literature of Britain, America and the Post-colonial British countries.)
book The Feminist Companion to Literature in English: Women Writers from the Middle Ages to the Present.
Reference, PR111 .B57 1990
book A Literary History of England, 2nd Ed.
Reference, PR83 .B3 1967a
book Literary History of the United States, 2 Vols.
Reference, PS88 .L522 1974
book The Oxford Companion to American Literature, 6th Ed.
Reference PS21 .H3 1995
book The Oxford Companion to English Literature, 6th Ed.
Reference, PR19 .O94 2000
book The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-century Literature in English.
Reference, PR471 .O94 1996

Go to top of page

   

Literary Definitions

book Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable.
Reference, PN43 .B65 1970
book Dictionary of Literary Themes and Motifs, 1988. 2 Vols.
Reference, PN43 .D48 1988
book A Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory, 4th Ed. J. A. Cuddon.
Reference, PN41 .C83 1998
book Dictionary of Symbols and Imagery, 2nd Rev. Ed.
Reference, BL600 .V74
book A Glossary of Contemporary Literary Theory, 4th Ed. Jeremy Hawthorn.
Reference PN44.5 .H35 2000
book A handbook to Literature, 8th Ed.
Reference, PN41 .H355 2000
book The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics.
Reference, PN1021 .N39 1993

book

cd rom

The Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd Ed.,
Reference, PE1625 .O87 1989
The Oxford English dictionary second edition on compact disc,
Reference, PE1625 .O87 1992
book Symbolism: A Comprehensive Dictionary.
Reference, CB475 .O38 1986

Go to top of page

   

Guides to English Literature Research

book A Guide to English and American Literature, 3rd Ed.
Reference, Z2011 .B32 1976
book Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies, 3rd Ed. James Harner.
Reference, Z2011 .H34 1998
book A Reference Guide for English Studies. Michael J. Marcuse.
Reference Desk, PR56 .M37 1990

book

psu-only access via the web

Reference works in British and American Literature.
Z2011 B74 1990.
Also Computer File,
Z2011 B74 INTERNET

Go to top of page

   

Databases, Indexes, and Abstracts

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.
book Abstracts of English Studies, 1958-1991.
Reference Index, PE1 .A22
book Alternative Press Index.
Reference Index, AI3 .A27
book American Humanities Index, 1975-.
Reference Index, AI3 .A29
book Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1923-. Z2011 .M69
book Arts & humanities citation index (1974-present)
AI3 .A75 (Reference Index)

Allows searching of references cited in books and journal articles as well as author, title and subject searching.
book British Humanities Index, 1962-.
Reference Index, AI3 .B7
book

The Columbia Granger's world of poetry
PN1022 .C628 1997 (Reference)

psu-only access via the web EBSCOhost
Academic Search Premier


Provides full text for nearly 1,380 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, and education.

psu-only access via the web

Early English Books Online EEBO
The collection contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection. Additionally, the database inclused the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
A guide to the microfilm collection of Early English Books:: http://www.lib.pdx.edu/instruction/courserelated/EnglishClasses/earlyenglishbooks.html

book

psu-only access via the web

Essay and general literature index (1900-1996)
AI3 .E752 (Reference Index)

Essay and General Literature Index

Provides an author and subject index to essays in collections. Emphasizes the humanities and social sciences.

book Gales Literary Index.
Reference Index, Z6511 .G35. (A master index to 43 literary series published by Gale, including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism and Twentieth Century Literary Criticism.)

book

 

 

psu-only access via the web

Humanities index - 1975 - Present
AI3 .H8 (Reference)

A cumulative index to English language periodicals. Subject fields indexed include archaeology and classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language and literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology, and related subjects.

Humanities Index

psu-only access via the web Inter-Play: an on-line index to plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals. http://www.lib.pdx.edu/systems/interplay

An index to the complete texts of plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals in the PSU Library.

psu-only access via the web

JSTOR -

Holds the full text of 117 scholarly journals with complete back file access in the Arts & Sciences I Collection. The literature and history journal selections will retrieve relevant results.
Contains the African American Review, 1992-2000; Black American Literature Forum, 1976-1991; Negro American Literature Forum, 1967-1976; American Literature, 1929-1999; Callaloo, 1976-1994; ELH, 1934-1994; MLN, 1962-1994; Modern Language Notes, 1886-1961; Nineteenth-Century Literature, 1986-1999; Nineteenth-Century Fiction, 1949-1986; Trollopian, 1945-1949; Representations, 1983-1999; Shakespeare Quarterly, 1950-2000; Speculum, 1926-1998; Transition, 1961-1999; Yale French Studies, 1948-2001.

psu-only access via the web Literature Online-LION. (English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key critical and reference sources.)

book

psu-only access via the web

MLA international bibliography (1921-present)
Z7006 .M64 (Reference)

MLA international bibliography (1963-present)

For literature as a whole, this is the single most important bibliography. MLA Bibliography covers literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide. Licensed from the Modern Language Association.
book Nineteenth Century Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature 1890-1899, with supplementary indexing 1900-1922.
Reference Index, A1 .R4 1996.
book Poole's Index to Periodical Literature 1892-1896.
Reference Index, AI3 .P7.
psu-only access via the web Project Muse:
Scholarly journals online


Holds over 100 full text scholarly journals online in the arts & humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics. The back files for the journals are scant. Important inclusions for this subject are the Yale Journal of Criticism (1996-present), and Studies in English Literature, 1500-1900 (1999-present).
book

psu-only access via the web
Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, 1900-.
Reference Index, AI3 .R48

Readers' Guide Retrospective 
book Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900.
Reference Index, AI3 .W45.
psu-only access via the web WorldCat
http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=WorldCat&done=referer

Contains more than 30 millions records for materials cataloged by the Library of Congress and OCLC member libraries, including most academic and many public libraries in the U.S. Catalog includes books, serials (journals, magazines and newspapers), musical scores, recordings, videos, computer software, films, maps and manuscripts. Locations for all materials are cited. Can be searched by author, title, subject, year, language, material type.

Go to top of page

   

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in Literature in English. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library. 

For general works, check under different types of literature or literary periods, for example:
 

American literature-twentieth century-history
Children's literature
English literature-nineteenth century-history and criticism
Folklore
Romanticism
Western stories-history and criticism
Women in literature

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
P- Language and literature
PE- English language
PR- British literature
PS- American literature
PZ- Juvenile belles letters

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society or an organization.
www source English and Comparative Literature Departments/Voice of the Shuttle: English Literature
http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2743
www source English Department Home Pages Worldwide.
(More than 1300 departments. A growing list of English Department home pages, in great variety.)
Http://www.nyu.edu/gsas/dept/english/links/engdpts.html
www source Resources of Scholarly Societies-Literature.
Http://www.scholarly-societies.org/literature_soc.html

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Web Resources-Literature in General

www source Bartleby: Great Books Online.
http://www.bartleby.com
www source Labyrinth: A Worldwide Server for Medieval Studies. http://www.georgetown.edu/labyrinth/labyrinth-home.html
www source Literary Resources on the Net. Http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/
A comprehensive collection of links to sites on the Internet dealing especially with English and American literature.
www source The Perseus Project. Digital library of source material. http://www.perseus.tufts.edu.

Go to top of page

Web Resources for Writers

 
www source Paradigm Online Writing Assistant.
http://www.powa.org/
www source MLA Style Guide.
http://www.newark.ohio-state.edu/~osuwrite/mla.htm
www source Merriam-Webster Dictionary.
http://www.m-w.com/dictionary
www source Roget's Thesaurus. http://humanities.uchicago.edu/forms_unrest/ROGET.html
www source A Dictionary of Slang.
http://www.peevish.co.uk/slang/

 

 

 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 

  PSU Library Home
Page developed by:

Please send comments to:

 

Last updated: