Portland State University Library

Medieval Studies: a Research Guide






 

 

Encompassing the years roughly from the sixth century - fifteenth century, A.D., the medieval period (or "Middle Ages") is typically described as a distinct historical period ranging from the fall of the Roman Empire to the birth of the Renaissance in Europe. The resources listed in this guide will help you to locate materials relevant to the study of the Middle Ages. Medievalists or those with an interest in the medieval time period-- come from a wide variety of disciplines including Art History, History, English, Music, Divinity, Linguistics, Romance and Germanic Languages and Literatures, and NELC (Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations). Momentarily this research guide has an Art, History and Literature focus. In the future we wll expand the guide to include a broader spectrum of studies.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TO FIND ARTICLES
ART // HISTORY // LITERATURE // INTERDISCIPLINARY

Art Full Text
Art Full Text provides indexing and abstracting of art periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.http://www.lib.pdx.edu/resources/databases/databases_A-K.html#a

Art Index Retrospective. Comprehensive, retrospective indexing from Art Index from 1932-1984. All personal names, uniform titles, organization names, topical terms, and geographic names have been reconciled with current Art Index headings. The file size is currently over 400,000 records, citing articles and reproductions from 420 periodicals. Coverage: 1929 - 1984 http://www.lib.pdx.edu/resources/databases/databases_A-K.html#a

Bibliography of Asian Studies. Published by the Association for Asian Studies, the online Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), provides citations to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. http://ets.umdl.umich.edu/b/bas/

Bibliography of the History of Art. The Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs. The database covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. The Bibliography of the History of Art includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) from 1973 to 1989 and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) from 1975 to 1989.http://eureka.rlg.org/cgi-bin/zgate2.prod

Grove's Dictionary of Art Online
. "The Grove Dictionary of Art contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. Compiled over a period of 15 years, it represents the work of more than 6,800 scholars from around the world, each writing on his or her own specialist field of study."
http://www.groveart.com/index.html



Historical Abstracts
Database indexes over 2,000 history, social sciences and humanities journals, providing citation information for resources that offer historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

International Medieval Bibliography: "The International Medieval Bibliography was founded in 1967 with the support of the Medieval Academy of America, with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide."

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
An online bibliography that includes citations of works covering the period 400-1700. The citations
are to journal articles published from 1943 to present, and to essays published in collections from 1995 to present. The database grew out of a project of the Renaissance Society of America in conjuction with a few Universities.



MLA Bibliography: Language and literature. http://www.lib.pdx.edu/resources/databases/databases_L-Z.html#m . A database that gives citations for journal articles in the fields of folklore, literature and language.

Early English Books Online: "From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Libraries possessing this collection find they are able to fulfill the most exhaustive research requirements of graduate scholars - from their desktop! - in many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science."http://eebo.chadwyck.com/home


Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
An online bibliography that includes citations of works covering the period 400-1700. The citations
are to journal articles published from 1943 to present, and to essays published in collections from 1995 to present. The database grew out of a project of the Renaissance Society of America in conjunction with a few Universities

Literature Online -- LION: http://lion.chadwyck.com/. "A fully searchable library of more than 290,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources



Arts & Humanities Citation Index: Citation databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases may be searched by: topic, author, publication journal, author address, cited author, cited work, or cited year. http://isi8.isiknowledge.com/portal.cgi/wos

Bibliography of Asian Studies. Published by the Association for Asian Studies, the online Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), provides citations to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. http://ets.umdl.umich.edu/b/bas/

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. http://www.haverford.edu/library/reference/mschaus/mfi/mfi.html

Early English Books Online: "From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Libraries possessing this collection find they are able to fulfill the most exhaustive research requirements of graduate scholars - from their desktop! - in many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science." http://eebo.chadwyck.com/home

Humanities Index: http://www.lib.pdx.edu/resources/databases/db_descriptions.html#h Citations to 500 English-language periodicals in the areas of archaeology, classical studies, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature, and religion. Provides article citations to the major

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
An online bibliography that includes citations of works covering the period 400-1700. The citations
are to journal articles published from 1943 to present, and to essays published in collections from 1995 to present. The database grew out of a project of the Renaissance Society of America in conjuction with a few Universities.
http://proxy.lib.pdx.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.itergateway.org/

JSTOR

JSTOR contains the back files of some important scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. While it is possible to search this collection, the source lends itself better to browsing the online journals or retrieving specific full-text articles.
http://proxy.lib.pdx.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/cgi-bin/jstor/gensearch

Project Muse: Scholarly journals online http://muse.jhu.edu/
Provides access to full text scholarly journals online in a variety of disciplines including the arts, humanities, social sciences, mathematics. In general expect to find the more current journals from 1996 to the present.



TO FIND BOOKS
Use Vikat, PSU's online catalog: http://vikat.pdx.edu

For a tutorial on finding books using KEYWORDS: http://www.lib.pdx.edu/instruction/tutorialquickhits/findbookskeywordnewvikat.html


For a tutorial on fequesting books that are checked out of PSU Library using Summit:

REFERENCE BOOKS : a selection

Oxford Reference Online: http://proxy.lib.pdx.edu/databases/databases_L-Z.html#o
Multidisciplinary database of approximately 100 dictionaries, handbooks and other reference books published by Oxford University Press. Check for included titles by broad subject area.

The Cambridge Economic History of Europe. General editors M. M. Postan and H J. Habakkuk.   Cambridge:  The University Press, 2nd ed., 1966.  HC240 .C312 Reference Shelves.
An authoritative survey of an aspect of society not included in the Cambridge medieval and modern histories. Contents organized in chapters which deal with a well-defined topic (e.g., "Markets and Fairs"). Bibliographies for each chapter appear at the end of the volume. v. 1. Covers the agrarian life of the Middle Ages.


Chronology of world history
/ H.E.L. Mellersh. D11 .M39 1999 4 vols.Reference Shelves Volume 2 is an extensively revised and updated edition of Chronology of the expanding world, 1492-1762.

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co. 1988-  Ongoing.  
"Excerpts from criticism of the works of world authors from classical antiquity through the fourteenth century, from the first appraisals to current evaluations." Very thorough information on authors, works, and cultural settings, with as much as 100 pages devoted to some works. Extensive up-to-date bibliographies.  PA1 .C355 Reference Shelves

D
ictionary of the Middle Ages. Joseph R. Strayer, editor in chief. New York, Scribner, 1982-1989. 13 vols.  A copy is also in Lilly Ref.
An encyclopedia rather than a dictionary, this well-written, up-to-date source includes people, places, and topics pertaining to the Middle Ages. Some entries are only a quarter of a page in length while others are more than ten pages long. Topics discussed are both specific ("Brewing") and quite general ("Bulgaria"). There is a bibliography at the end of each entry. D114 .D5 1982 Reference Shelves

Early Christian and Byzantine architecture: an annotated bibliography and historiography
by W. Eugene Kleinbauer. _____ Ref Z5943 .C56 K55 1992

Encyclopedia of medieval church art
. Edward G. Tasker; edited by John Beaumont. _____ Ref N7943 .A1 T37 1993

Encyclopedia of medieval literature / edited by Robert Thomas Lambdin and Laura Cooner Lambdin. PN669 .E53 2000   Reference Shelves “T his is a monumental work of scholarship with 523 well-written entries, each supplemented by a well-chosen bibliography as well as a general bibliography. Essential for academic libraries, this should be considered by public libraries as well.” Library Journal


Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages,  edited by Andre Vauchez  Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000.  2 v. D114 .E53 2000 Reference Shelves.
Arranged alphabetically, this reference work was created by over 600 contributors from a wide range of disciplines.  At the end is a table of monarchs, patriarchs, and popes, including Muslim rulers and those from Central Europe
.

Encyclopedia of women in the Middle Ages. Jennifer Lawler. _____ Ref HQ1143 .L38 2001

Encyclopedia of World Art _____ Ref N31.E533. 17 volumes. Published between 1959 and 1987, this massive and comprehensive resource is especially good for in-depth articles, with extensive bibliographies, on broad topics (e.g., Byzantine Art)

Extraordinary women of the Medieval and Renaissance world : a biographical dictionary / Carole Levin ... [et al.]. HQ1143 .E93 2000 Reference Shelves. This work is "aimed at the "unsung" women who were extraordinary for either their accomplishments or their tragic lives or both. The 70 women covered moved outside what was considered a "woman's sphere" and participated in the religious, political, and social changes that are hallmarks of this period. They lived between the tenth and seventeenth centuries and not all were Western European but also from Eastern Europe, Asia, and Africa."   


From Justinian to Charlemagne: European art, 565-787: an annotated bibliography by Lawrence Nees. _____ Ref Z5933.2 .N44 1985

Historical Art Index, A.D. 400-1650 : people, places, and events depicted _____ Ref N8210.R6 1989. This valuable research tool helps one locate art objects (in museums as well as book reproductions) which represent people, places, or events belonging to the period between 400 and 1650.

Islamic art and architecture 650-1250. Richard Ettinghausen, Oleg Grabar, Marilyn Jenkins-Madina. _____ Ref N 6260.E79 2001

Medieval art: a topical dictionary. Leslie Ross. _____ Ref N7850 .R67 1996

Medieval England : an encyclopedia / editors: Paul E. Szarmach, M. Teresa Tavormina, Joel T. Rosenthal. DA129 .M43 1998  Reference Shelves An introduction to the society and culture of England from the coming of the Anglo-Saxons in the 5th century through the accession of the Tudor dynasty (1485) at the turn of the 16th century." Containing more than 700 entries by more than 300 international scholars, the volume encompasses the fields of Old English and Middle English language and literature, music and liturgy, history, and history of art. According to the introduction, it is designed to be accessible to the general reader as well as to the scholar.

Medieval folklore : an encyclopedia of myths, legends, tales, beliefs, and customs / Carl Lindahl, John McNamara, John Lindow, editors. GR35 .M43 2000 Reference Shelves. 2 vols "This two-volume encyclopedia offers an A-to-Z guide to the mundane and supernatural lore of the Middle Ages. Definitive and lively articles focus on the great myths and legends of the age; religious beliefs of pagan, Christian, Muslim, and Jew; key works of oral and written literature; traditional music and art; holidays and feasts; food and drink; and plants and animals (real and mythic). 150+ illustrations."  

Medieval Germany : an encyclopedia / edited by John M. Jeep. DD157 .M43 200Reference Shelves. 2 vols. Nearly 650 alphabetically arranged entries cover German- and Dutch-speaking Europe from A.D. 500 to 1500. Articles cover "major persons, places, historical occurrences, artistic and technological accomplishments, intellectual developments, and daily life."

Medieval iconography: a research guide. John B. Friedman and Jessica M. Wegmann. _____ Ref Z5933 .F75 1998

Medieval Italy : an encyclopedia / Christopher Kleinhenz, editor. New York : Routledge, 2004. DG443 .M43 2004 Reference Shelves Provides an introduction to the many and diverse facets of Italian civilization from the late Roman empire to the end of the fourteenth century.

Mythological and Classical World Art Index : a locator of paintings, sculptures, frescoes, manuscript illuminations, sketches, woodcuts, and engravings executed 1200 B.C. to A.D. 1900, with a directory of the institutions holding them _____ Ref N7760.R63 1991. By the same author as the Historical Art Index, its focus is on Greek and Roman art works.

Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium _____ Ref DF521.O93 1991. 3 volumes. This resource is a comprehensive dictionary of Byzantine civilization. “It features over 5,000 entries written by an international group of eminent Byzantinists covering all aspects of life in the Byzantine world.”


To Find Images
PSU Subject Guide for Image Searching:
PSU Subject Guide: http://www.lib.pdx.edu/resources/pathfinders/ImageSearching.htm


To Find Primary Sources
PSU Subject Guide: http://www.lib.pdx.edu/resources/pathfinders/history_primary_sources.html






Associations & Organizations


Online Conference Proceedings
Electronic Scriptorium (University of Calgary)
Cultural Frictions: Medieval Cultural Studies in Post-Modern Contexts (Labyrinth)

Listservs
Medieval Discussion Lists



Teaching Resources
Mappamundi (Princeton University)
James O'Donnell's New Tools for Teaching (University of Pennsylvania)
James O'Donnell's seminar on Augustine (University of Pennsylvania)
James O'Donnell's seminar on Boethius (University of Pennsylvania)


Reference Librarians
John Burchard: Art Librarian, 5-4192
Sharon Elteto: Literature in English, 5-4190
Jennifer Dorner: History, 5-4125

 


Finding Articles
Finding Articless

Finding Books


Finding Reference Books


Finding Images

Finding Primary Sources

Reference Books

WWW Gateways

Academic Departments, Centers & Programs

Associations
&
Organizations

Online Conference
Proceedings

 


 

Last updated: