PSU Library logo

 

PSU Library Guide to Selected Resources on Islam, the Middle East and the Current Crisis

Created October 15, 2001
Last Updated November 16, 2004


Reference Works | Subject Headings | Select Bibliography
Country Information | Web Resources

Building Bridges: A Community Resource Center
for International and Multicultural Education at PSU
Selected List of Resources for Educators

Featured Site: War and Peace
Resources Related to the Current Iraq Crisis

A Librarian's Index to the Internet Theme Collection


 

 

 

 

Reference WorksConfronting Iraq
CQ Press - CQ Library Online
(Available off-campus with a PSU Odin account)
The CQ Library provides access to full text of the CQ Researcher (background analysis reports on current issues addressed in the Congress) and CQ Weekly (current legislative news and analysis).

Recent Terrorism Events: Background and Context
CQ Press - CQ Library Online
http://www.cqpress.com/context/
(Available off-campus with a PSU Odin account )
The CQ Library provides access to full text of the CQ Researcher (background analysis reports on current issues addressed in the Congress) and CQ Weekly (current legislative news and analysis).
BP40 .M83 1996


The Muslim almanac : a reference work on the history, faith, culture, and peoples of Islam / Azim A. Nanji, editor. BP50 .O95 1999


The Oxford history of Islam / edited by John L. Esposito. BP60 .M36 1999


Historical dictionary of Islamic fundamentalist movements in the Arab world, Iran, and Turkey / Ahmad S. Moussalli.BP67 .A1 I82 1992


Islam in North America : a sourcebook / edited by Michael A. K*oszegi and J. Gordon Melton.BP109 1983b


The Holy Qur'an : text, translation and commentary/A. Yusuf Ali. BP109 1988


The Holy Qur'an with English translation and commentary. Koran. English & Arabic. 1988. DS35.53 .I83 1994


Islamic desk reference / compiled from The encyclopedia of Islam by E. van Donzel. DS35.53 .O95 1995


The Oxford encyclopedia of the modern Islamic world / John L. Esposito, editor in chief DS35.63 .C35 1996b


The Cambridge illustrated history of the Islamic world / edited by Francis Robinson. DS43 .E53 1996


Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East / edited by Reeva S. Simon, Philip Mattar, Richard W. Bulliet. DS61.5 .W5


Who's who in the Arab world. DS62.8 .P64 1999


Political encyclopedia of the Middle East / Avraham Sela, editor. DS119.7 .H554 1996


An historical encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli conflict / edited by Bernard Reich ... [et al.]. G1785 .F3 1991


The atlas of the Arab world : geopolitics and society / Rafic Boustani, Philippe Fargues. Z3014 .R44 S55 1999


U.S. foreign relations with the Middle East and North Africa : a bibliography. Supplement, 1998 / Sanford R. Silverburg and Bernard Reich. Z7835 .M6 H24 1997


The Islamic revival since 1988 : a critical survey and bibliography / Yvonne Yazbeck Haddad and John L.

Index Islamicus: Z7835 .M6 L623 (see Vikat record)

Encyclopaedia of Islam: DS37 . E523 (see Vikat record)

Encyclopedia of the Palestinians: DS113.6 .E53 2000 (see Vikat record)


Encyclopedia of the Palestine Problem
: DS119.7 .N2928 1991 (see Vikat
record)
This work is also available online:"Encyclopedia of the Palestine Problem" by Issa Nakhleh
http://www.palestine-encyclopedia.com/

Return to the top

Subject Headings
Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research on Islam and the Middle East. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desk. Search the Library Catalog (Vikat)Afghanistan--Politics and government
Arab Americans--Ethnic identity
Arab countries
Arab-Israeli conflict
Asia, Central--Foreign relations.
Asia, Central--Strategic aspects
Civilization, Islamic
Conflict management
Conflict resolution
Dispute resolution (Law)
Human rights
Islam.
Islam--20th century
Islam--Customs and practices
Islam--History
Islam and politics--Middle East
Islam and politics--Afghanistan
Islam and secularism
Islam and state--Afghanistan
Islam and world politics
Islamic countries--Politics and government
Islamic fundamentalism
International relations and culture
Jewish-Arab relations
Middle East--Foreign relations--United States
Muslims--United States
Palestinian Arabs
Taliban.
Terrorists--Middle East
United States--Foreign relations--Middle East
Women in Islam.Return to the topSelect Bibliography

Cultures

Arab World

Arab American and Muslim American Experience

Islam

Regions

Middle East

Central Asia

Countries

Afghanistan
Pakistan
Saudi Arabia
Syria
Iran
Iraq

Resources on Terrorism

Arab World United Nations Development Programme
Arab Human Development Report 2003
Arabic version - free online
English version - charge for downloadDS36.7 .F47 1985
The Arab world : personal encounters / by Elizabeth Warnock Fernea and Robert A. Fernea ; photographs by Thomas Hartwell.DS36.77 .N93 1996
Understanding Arabs : a guide for westerners / Margaret K. (Omar) Nydell. DS37.7 .H67 1991
A History of the Arab peoples / Albert Hourani. DS39 .P64 1991
The Arab world today / William R. Polk. Edition: 5th ed. DS63.2 .U5 S85 1988
The Arabs in the mind of America / Michael W. Suleiman. HN766 .A8 A7 1997
Arab society : class, gender, power and development / edited by Nicholas S. Hopkins, Saad Eddin Ibrahim (3rd ed.) Return to Bibliography top Arab American/Muslim American ExperienceE184 .A65 D48 1994
The development of Arab-American identity / edited by Ernest McCarus.PN1995.9 .A68 S53 1997
Arab and Muslim stereotyping in American popular culture / Jack G. Shaheen. IslamBP55 .S3413 1992 INTERNET
Islam [computer file] : an introduction / Annemarie Schimmel.
(This is a NetLibrary ebook, click here for information about how to set up a NetLibrary account)
BP60 .D38 1998
Islamic fundamentalism / Lawrence Davidson. BP60 .A264 1996
Intellectual origins of Islamic resurgence in the modern Arab world / Ibrahim M. Abu-Rabi* ; [foreword by Mahmoud Ayoub]. BP60 .P64 1997
Political Islam : revolution, radicalism, or reform? / edited by John L. Esposito. BP63 .A1 N35 1998
Beyond belief : Islamic excursions among the converted peoples / V.S. Naipaul.
BP67 .U6 S6 1999
Islam in America / Jane I. Smith. BP161.2 .E85 1998
Islam : the straight path / John L Esposito BP161.2 .R47 1996 INTERNET
Seven doors to Islam [computer file] : spirituality and the religious life of Muslims / John Renard.
(This is a NetLibrary ebook, click here for information about how to set up a NetLibrary account) BP161.2 .R53 1990
Muslims : their religious beliefs and practices / Andrew Rippin. Rippin, Andrew, 1950- BP163 .I763 1999b
Islam outside the Arab world / edited by David Westerlund and Ingvar Svanberg.DS35.74 .E85 I84 1999
Islam, modernism and the West : cultural and political relations at the end of the millennium / edited by Gema Martín Muñoz.DS62.8 .S44413 2000
A modern history of the Islamic world / Reinhard Schulze. Schulze, Reinhard.DS63.74 .G46 1999
America and political Islam : clash of cultures or clash of interests? / Fawaz A. Gerges GT2112 .E5 1999
Veil : modesty, privacy, and resistance / Fadwa El Guindi. HQ1170 .F48 1998
In search of Islamic feminism : one woman's global journey / by Elizabeth Warnock Fernea. HQ1170 .M64 1999
Feminism and Islamic fundamentalism : the limits of postmodern analysis / Haideh Moghissi.Return to Bibliography top Middle EastDS63.1 .D548 2001
Diplomacy in the Middle East : the international relations of regional and outside powers DS63.1 .M5426 2000
The Middle East, opposing viewpoints / Mary E. Williams, book editor. DS62 .L594 1995
The Middle East : a brief history of the last 2,000 years / Bernard Lewis. DS63.2 .G7 F76 1989
A peace to end all peace : creating the modern Middle East, 1914-1922 / David Fromkin. DS109.93 .G55 1996
Jerusalem in the twentieth century / Martin Gilbert. DS119.7 .F736 1989
From Beirut to Jerusalem / Thomas L. Friedman. DS119.7 .M657 1999
Righteous victims : a history of the Zionist-Arab conflict, 1881-1999 / Benny Morris.DS119.76 .A35 1999
Dialogue, Conflict Resolution, and Change : Arab-Jewish Encounters in Israel / Mohammed Abu-Nimer. DS119.76 .K354 2001
Beyond the handshake : multilateral cooperation in the Arab-Israeli peace process, 1991-1996 / Dalia Dassa Kaye.DS119.76 .R83 1999
The transformation of Palestinian politics : from revolution to state-building / Barry Rubin.DS119.76 .S245 2000
The end of the peace process : Oslo and after / Edward W. Said. E184 .P35 S25 1999
Out of place : a memoir / Edward W. Said. HC415.15 .E247 2000
Economic and political impediments to Middle East peace : critical questions and alternative scenarios / edited by J.W. Wright, Jr. and Laura Drake ; foreword by Queen Noor of Jordan.HG3883 .A67 S64 1999
The Hidden Hand of American hegemony : petrodollar recycling and international markets / David E. Spiro. HQ1726.5 .N37 1999
Women in the Middle East and North Africa : restoring women to history / by Guity Nashat and Judith E. Tucker. JQ1850 .A91 D46 1994
Democracy without democrats? : the renewal of politics in the Muslim world / edited by Ghassan Salame. Return to Bibliography topCentral AsiaDK859.5 .C485 2001
Central Asian security : the new international context / Roy Allison and Lena Jonson, editors. DK859.5 .H86 1996
Central Asia since independence / Shireen T. Hunter DK859.5 .O43 1996
Central Asia's new states : independence, foreign policy and regional security / Martha Brill Olcott. Return to Bibliography topAfghanistanDS356 .A27 1997 INTERNET
Historical dictionary of Afghanistan [computer file] / Ludwig W. Adamec.
(This is a NetLibrary ebook, click here for information about how to set up a NetLibrary account) DS371.2 .M28 1998
Afghanistan : mullah, Marx, and mujahid / Ralph H. Magnus, Eden Naby. DS371.3 .M38 1999
The taliban phenomenon : Afghanistan 1994-1997 / Kamal Matinuddin. DS371.2 .R367 2000
Taliban : militant Islam, oil, and fundamentalism in Central Asia / Ahmed Rashid. HQ1735.6 .E45 2000
Women of the Afghan War / Deborah Ellis. PakistanDS383.5 .A2 A75 2000
Pakistan's foreign policy : a reappraisal / Shahid M. Amin. DS384 .A785 2001
Khaki shadows : Pakistan 1947-1997 / K.M. Arif. DS384 .S2195 2000
Pakistan : political roots and development, 1947-1999 / Safdar Mahmood. HC440.5 .P3638 1999
Pakistan, Islam, and economics : failure of modernity / Izzud-Din Pal.Saudi ArabiaDS244.63 .F36 1999
Saudi Arabia and the politics of dissent / Mamoun Fandy. SyriaDS98.4 .W43 1999
Ambiguities of domination : politics, rhetoric, and symbols in contemporary Syria / Lisa Wedeen.DS98.4 .Z562 2001
Asad's legacy : Syria in transition / Eyal Zisser ; with a foreword by Itamar Rabinovich.IranDS63.1 .S73 1986
The State, religion, and ethnic politics : Afghanistan, Iran, and Pakistan / edited by Ali Banuazizi and Myron Weiner. DS318.8 .B78 2001
Reinventing Khomeini : the struggle for reform in Iran / Daniel Brumberg.IraqDS79.744 .C46 H37 1999
The continuing storm : Iraq, poisonous weapons and deterrence / Avigdor Haselkorn. DS79.75 .G734 1999
Sanctioning Saddam : the politics of intervention in Iraq / Sarah Graham-Brown. HD9016 .I732 C48 1996
The Children are dying : the impact of sanctions on Iraq / reports by the UN FAO, Ramsey Clark, world leaders ECAI Iraq
The Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative (ECAI) Iraq website offers users "a temporal-spatial portal into existing digital resources about history, cultural sites, archaeological excavations and heritage preservation initiatives."
Return to Bibliography topTerrorismHV6430 .B55 B63 1999
Bin Laden : the man who declared war on America / Yossef Bodansky. HV6431 .D433 2000
Death squad : the anthropology of state terror / edited by Jeffrey A. Sluka. HV6431 .H365 2000
Terrorism today / Christopher C. Harmon. HV6431 .L35 1999
The new terrorism : fanaticism and the arms of mass destruction / Walter Laqueur. HV6431 .N48 1995
Fighting terrorism : how democracies can defeat domestic and international terrorists / Benjamin Netanyahu. HV6431 .T485 2000
Terrorism : opposing viewpoints / Laura K. Egendorf, book editor. HV6431 .S74 1999
The ultimate terrorists / Jessica Stern. HV6432 .F35 1998
America's Achilles' heel : nuclear, biological, and chemical terrorism and covert attack / Richard A. Falkenrath, Robert D. Newman, and Bradley A. Thayer. HV6432 .R42 1999
The new jackals : Ramzi Yousef, Osama Bin Laden and the future of terrorism / Simon Reeve.LD4349 .A85 2001.S35
The challenge of distinguishing between terrorist actions and the stereotypes that are associated with them / by Khalid Salloom. (PSU Thesis)UG447.8 .O84 2000
Living terrors : what America needs to know to survive the coming bio-terrorist catastrophe / Michael T. Osterholm & John Schwartz. Return to Bibliography topReturn to topCountry InformationBackground Notes
U.S. Department of State
http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/
New Background Notes on Afghanistan from the U.S. Department of State, published October, 2001
http://www.state.gov/r/pa/bgn/index.cfm?docid=5380
CIA World factbook 2001
URL: http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.htmlCountry Studies
Library of Congress
http://memory.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html Countries and their cultures / Melvin Ember and Carol R. Ember, editors.
GN307 .C68 2001 (Reference) Return to top Selected Web SitesECAI Iraq
http://ecai.org/iraq/The Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative (ECAI) Iraq website offers users "a temporal-spatial portal into existing digital resources about history, cultural sites, archaeological excavations and heritage preservation initiatives."


Google Current News
A guide to developing news stories, global news sources, official government web sites, relief funds, support resources, and anthrax information
http://www.google.com/news/ 100 Questions and Answers About Arab Americans: A Journalist's Guide http://www.freep.com/jobspage/arabs/
Published by the Detroit Free PressAfghanistan, the Taliban, and the US: selected internet resources
U.C. Berkeley Library
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/SSEAL/SouthAsia/afghan_US.html"Terrorism: A Select Guide to Information"
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/terrorism.html
"Alternative Resources on the U.S. 'War Against Terrorism'"
Social Responsibilities Round Table, American Library Association
http://www.pitt.edu/~ttwiss/irtf/Alternative.html
Oregon Peace Institute and Portland Peaceful Response Coalition
http://orpeace.org/ Managing Traumatic Stress: Tips for Recovering From Disasters and Other Traumatic Events
American Psychological Association
http://helping.apa.org/daily/traumaticstress.html Building Bridges: A Community Resource Center for International and Multicultural EducationThe PSU Middle East Studies Center has a collection of videotapes, culture boxes, printed materials and curriculum guides that are available for campus and community use. Lending policies, hours, and other information about the Center are listed on the resource page below.Portland State University, Middle East Studies Center Selected Resources for Educators Related to September 11th, 2001 and Subsequent Developments
For more information contact:

Building Bridges
Sixth Avenue Building
1950 SW Sixth
503-725-8192
Hours: 12-5 M-F and by appointment

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home
Page developed and maintained by:
kernk@pdx.edu
 
Last updated: