|
Music
|
| |
|
See also
related guides subject
| subject
| subject
| subject
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
Encyclopedias
Provide
excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin
research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience.
Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing
articles in which a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies
for further reading.
|

|
The new Grove dictionary of music and
musicians / ed. by Stanley Sadie. 2nd ed.
29 vols. ML100
.N48 2001
The
authoritative, exhaustive, current printed dictionary of music.
|
|

|
The
new Grove dictionary of music and musicians online /
ed. by Stanley Sadie. Available from Databases menu on the Library homepage.
The
electronic version of the “Grove” includes entries from
the printed Grove opera and jazz dictionaries as well as the complete
text of the printed 29-volume set.
It is copiously illustrated, with many musical examples and
links to other web sites of scholarly interest.
|
|

|
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart : allgemeine
Enzyklopadie der Musik. (MGG) 20 vols. (1994- ) ML100 .M92 1994
Extended
scholarly articles. Musical
subjects are treated in 8 Sachteil and Register volumes. Biographies (Personenteil) are treated
in 12 separate volumes. The
Sachteil volumes omit brief definitional entries such as are found
in the New Grove Dictionary.
|
|

|
The new Grove dictionary of jazz
/ ed. by Barry Kernfeld. 2nd
ed. ML102 .J3 N48 2002
|
|

|
The New Grove
dictionary of opera / ed. by Stanley Sadie.
4 vols. ML102 .O6 N5 1992g
|
|

|
The New Grove dictionary
of American music / ed. by H. Wiley Hitchcock and Stanley
Sadie. 4 vols. ML101 .U6 N48 1986
|
|

|
The New Grove dictionary
of musical instruments / ed. by Stanley Sadie. 3 vols. ML102 .I5 N48 1984
|
|

|
The encyclopedia
of popular music / comp. & ed. by Colin Larkin. 3rd
ed. 8 vols. ML102 .P66 G84 1998
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Reference
Books
Handbooks,
dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information
specific to the subject areas addressed.
|

|
Baker’s biographical dictionary of
musicians. 8th ed. ML105 .B16 1992
Brief
biographies with bibliographies and lists of works.
|
|

|
The new Harvard dictionary of music /
ed. By Don Michael Randle.
ML100 .N485 1986
Brief
articles by specialists.
|
|

|
Music reference and research materials :
an annotated bibliography / by Vincent H. Duckles. 5th ed. ML113 .D83 1997
The
best music research guide.
Arranged by form: dictionaries, encyclopedias, histories,
etc.
|
|

|
Irvine's writing about music / by
Demar Irvine. 3rd
ed. ML3797 .I79 1999
Style
manual for writing about music.
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Databases
and Indexes
Magazine,
periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments,
research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every
discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article
level information. Once articles are identified through the database or
index search, look up the source journal in Vikat,
PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete
list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's
Online Databases pages.
|

|
The
Music Index. (1979- )
Available from Databases menu on Library homepage.
Citations
and indexing drawn from 640 international music periodicals
|
|

|
The Music Index (1949-1996 ) ML118
.M865
Print
version of the above.
|
|

|
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. (1967- ) ML12 .I565
Abstracts
of scholarly books, articles, reviews and dissertations. Omits popular material. See also RILM abstracts of music
literature. English-language thesaurus for appropriate searching
terms. ML12 .I5652
|
|

|
Music Article Guide. (1966-1996) ML118 .M82
Indexed
articles on music with emphasis on music pedagogy.
|
|

|
Schwann
Online. Available from Databases menu on Library homepage.
“A
reference tool for music bibliographers, catalogers and enthusiasts” listing classical and non-classical recordings
currently available.
|
|

|
Canadian Music Periodical Index. Available online at: http://www.nlc-bnc.ca/wapp/cmpi/
Bibliographic
citations for information on musical activity in Canada. Updated
monthly. Includes more
than 25,000
entries
indexed from 475 Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines
from the late nineteenth century to the present day.
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Online
Full Text Journals
Many, but
by no means ALL, of the journals of interest in Music are available
online. Below is a selected list of Music full text journals to
which PSU has access. Most of the journals require
authentication for off campus use.
|
| |
|
Important
Resources
These sources
don't fit into any particular category, but are important for the discipline.
|

|
Thematic
catalogues in music : an annotated bibliography / by Barry S. Brook. 2nd ed. ML113
.B86 1997
An index of about 1,444 entries, arranged by
composer, listing thematic catalogs of that composer’s works. (e.g. the Kochel catalog for Mozart’s
works) Thematic catalogs
arrange a body of music in a systematic order and allows identification
of individual works using “incipits,” or musical citations
of the opening notes of a work.
|
|
| |
|
Subject
Headings
Subject
headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular
topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching
by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest
for research in Music. Copies of the complete set of the Library
of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout
the library.
|
Music—Theory—To 500 (or 500-1400, etc.)
|
|
Music, Greek and Roman (or Music—Middle East,
Music—Islamic)
|
|
Arabs—Music (or Jews—Music)
|
|
Chants (Byzantine) or (Jewish)
|
|
Music—India—500-1400 (or Music—Asia
or Music—China)
|
|
Antiphons (or Conductus, Masses, Motet, Organa,
Part songs, Polyphonic chansons, Sacred vocal music, etc.)
|
|
Singing—500-1400 (or Songs—Latin, Tropes
(music), Troubadours, Trouveres, etc.)
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Call
Numbers
Browsing
the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating
information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood"
in the library stacks.
|
M Music. (Musical scores, sheet music) Instrumental music; Vocal
music; Unidentified compositions.
|
|
ML
Literature of music.
Librettos; Bibliography; History and criticism;
Philosophy and physics of music; Juvenile literature.
|
|
MT
Musical instruction and study.
Composition; Improvisation; Orchestra and orchestration,
conducting, etc.; Analytical guides, etc.; Instrumental techniques;
Singing and voice culture; Production of operas, music in theaters.
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Organizations
Often
the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published
by a professional society or an organization.
|

|
Musical America.com. http://musicalamerica.com/
Information about the music industry. Online equivalent to print Musical
America International Directory of the Performing Arts. You can do a global search or
a “listing search” to limit your search to one of thirty
categories (record producers, festivals, etc..
You can also do an “Artist Search” or an “Artist
Manager Search.”
Includes daily music industry news and feature articles..
|
|

|
Music Library Association (MLA). www.musiclibraryassoc.org
Includes
information on music copyright for librarians and much more.
|
|

|
National Association
of Schools of Music. (NASM) http://nasm.arts-accredit.org/index.jsp
Lots
of useful information from the national accrediting organization.
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Web
Resources
|

|
Doctoral dissertations in musicology
online. www.music.indiana.edu/ddm/index.html
A listing of dissertations in musicology, including
lists by period such as Antiquity, Middle Ages, Renaissance, etc.
|
|

|
UCLA Music
Library web resources. http://eresources.library.ucla.edu/mus/browse.cfm?su=92
An
excellent list of music web resources with links to sites dealing
with music of all periods and places.
|
|

|
Indiana University Bloomington William and
Gayle Cook Music Library.
Reference services.
http://www.music.indiana.edu/reference/
An
outstanding list of music reference sources, printed and electronic,
including music-related databases, discographies, bibliographies
of music arranged by instrument or group of instruments, online
directories and periodicals, etc..
|
|

|
ClassicalUSA.com. http://classicalusa.com/
This
supersite contains an annotated list of classical-music-related
sites under the following headings: Music mega-sites; Selected reference,
education and history sites; Sound files and Intenet radio; Compact
discs; Film, video, and film music; High fidelity, A/V, and home
theatre; Composers, conductors, performers; Opera, theatre, and
song; Symphonic and band music; Musical instruments; British music
sites; Music publications; Newsgroups and e-mail discussion lists;
Jazz (nothing there at this time); Other music styles.
|
|

|
Classical Net. http://www.classical.net/
Classical
Net contains reviews of and makes recommendations for classical
music CD’s. It also features thousands of related
files and links to other classical music web sites.
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
Return
to Subject Resource Guides
|
| |
 |
Page
developed and maintained by:
Send comments to:
John Burchard |
|
Last updated:
|