|
Introduction
Quoting from
Big Dog's
Leadership Page - Organizational Behavior: "Organizational Behavior
is the study and application of knowledge about how people, individuals,
and groups act in organizations. It does this by taking a system approach.
That is, it interprets people-organization relationships in terms of the
whole person, whole group, whole organization, and whole social system.
Its purpose is to build better relationships by achieving human objectives,
organizational objectives, and social objectives."
The field
of organizational behavior draws on a variety disciplines, including human
resource management, management theory and behavioral psychology. Some
of the areas of study include organizational culture, cross-cultural issues,
creativity and motivation, organizational leadership, organizational development
and design, communication in organizations, learning organizations, conflict
management, group decision making, teams and diversity in the workplace.
If you need
assistance in defining your research problem, come to the Library for
help or send an inquiry via our "Ask
A Librarian" service. You may also contact our business librarian
directly: Elizabeth Howell.
Return
to top
Reference
Works and Introductory Materials
All of the
sources listed below are shelved in the Business Reference collection
in the Millar Library unless otherwise indicated.
AMA
Management Handbook
John J. Hampton, ed.
HD31 .A418 1994
Blackwell
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Human Resource Management
Lawrence H. Peters, Charles R. Greer and Stuart A. Youngblood, eds.
HF5549 .A23 B58 1997b
Blackwell
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Organizational Behavior
Nigel Nicholson, ed.
HD58.7 .B57 1995b
Effective
behavior in organizations : cases, concepts, and student experiences.
6th ed.
Allan R. Cohen ... [et al.]
Chicago : Irwin, c1995
HD58.7 .E35 1995 Stacks
Encyclopedia
of Business
Jane A. Malonis, ed.
HF1001 .E466 2000
Handbook
of industrial and organizational psychology. 2nd ed. 4 vols.
Marvin D. Dunnette and Leaetta M. Hough, eds.
Palo Alto, Calif. : Consulting Psychologists Press, c1990
HF5548.8 .H265 1990
Handbook
of Organizational Behavior
by Golembiewski, Robert T.
New York, NY : M. Dekker, c1993
Human Resource Management Handbook
David Lewin, Daniel J.B. Mitchel and Mahmood A. Zaidi, eds.
HD31 .H8124 1997
International
Encyclopedia of Business and Management
Malcolm Warner, 1996
HF1001 .I53
Regional
Encyclopedia of Business and Management
Malcolm Warner,
ed.
HF1001
.R44 2000
Return
to top
Finding
Journal Articles
Business
Periodical Databases
You will find information on organizational behavior and management
topics in the business literature. Business databases with journal articles
in full text are ABI/Inform Global, Business Source Elite, Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe, F&S Index Plus Text and Wall
Street Journal Online.
Many of the
journals listed below are available both in print and full-text
through one of the Library's databases:
Click
here to check on the full-text availability of a journal
| Academy
of Management Journal |
HD28
.A24 |
| Academy
of Management Review |
HD28
.A2424 |
| Administrative
Science Quarterly |
HD28
.A25 |
| European
Journal of Work and
Organizational Psychology |
HF5548.7
E95 |
| Human
Resource Management |
HF5549
.A2M3 |
| Journal
of Management |
HD28
.J597 |
| International
Journal of Value Based Management |
HD60
.J66 |
| Journal
of Management Inquiry |
HD28
.J5987 |
| Journal
of Organizational Behavior |
HD6951
.J68 |
| Organizational
Behavior and Human Performance |
BF636
.A1 O7 |
| Personnel
Psychology |
HF5549
.A2P38 |
| Research
in Ethical Issues in Organizations |
HF5387
.R47 |
| Research
in Organizational Behavior |
HD28
.R47 |
| Trends
in Organizational Behavior |
HD58.7
.T735 |
Return
to top
Finding
Books
The Library's
collection may be browsed by Library of Congress Call Number. The
following call number ranges can be useful for a broad survey of materials
within the call number category. For additional materials not in these
categories, search our Catalog by subjects
or keywords.
Call Numbers
| BF501-BF505 |
Psychology
of motivation |
| BF636-BF637 |
Applied
psychology |
| BF698-BF698.9 |
Personality |
| HD58.78-HD58.95 |
Organizational
behavior, change and effectiveness, corporate culture |
| HD66 |
Work
groups, team work in industry, quality circles |
| HD6951-HD6957 |
Industrial sociology, social conditions
of labor |
| HF5548.7-HF5548.85 |
Industrial
psychology |
| HF5549-HF5549.5 |
Personnel
management, employment management |
| HM711-HM806 |
Groups
and organizations |
| HM1001-HM1281 |
Social
psychology |
Library
of Congress Subject Headings
Subject
headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular
topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching
by simple keywords. Listed here are some headings of interest to research
in organizational behavior and organizational management. Copies of the
complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings
are available at the Reference Desk.
Use these
subject headings to search the Catalog
(Vikat). Or, use keywords for searching words not included as subjects.
Subjects:
Business communication
Communication in management
Communication in organizations
Cognitive styles
Conflict management
Corporate culture
Cross-functional teams
Decision making
Emotional intelligence
Employee morale
Employee motivation
Group facilitation
Industrial organization
Industrial management
Job analysis
Leadership
Mediation
Negotiation
Organizational behavior
Organizational change
Organizational effectiveness
Organizational learning
Personnel management
Psychology, industrial
Self-directed work teams
Small groups
Teams in the work place
Teams in the work place--cross-cultural studies
Work ethic
Keywords may be used when subject headings
are not available for a particular concept. Sample keywords are:
Creativity
and organizations
Group process
Human resource management
Management theory
Organization development
Organizational psychology
Work groups
Return
to top
Societies
& Associations
Academy
of Management
The Academy
of Management is a professional society primarily composed of professors
who conduct research and teach management in colleges, universities, or
research institutes and doctoral students who are pursuing PhD's in management.
The Academy publishes scholarly papers, conducts forums for the exchange
of management knowledge, and provides services that enhance the science
and practice of management.
American
Management Association International
The American Management Association (AMA) is the world's leading membership-based
management development organization. AMA offers a full range of business
education and management development programs for individuals and organizations
in Europe, the Americas and Asia.
The
Association for Behavior Analysis
Dedicated to promoting the experimental, theoretical, and applied analysis
of behavior. It encompasses contemporary scientific and social issues,
theoretical advances, and the dissemination of professional and public
information.
Association
of Management and the International Association of Management (Click
on Links for research sites).
The Association of Management/International Association of Management
(AoM/IAoM) is an international nonprofit professional organization comprised
of academicians and practitioners of management, education, cybertechnology,
and leadership.
Center
for the Study of Work Teams - Links to related sites
University of North Texas. The Center
was created for the purpose of education and research in all areas of
collaborative work systems. The Center officially incorporated as a nonprofit
organization in 1992.
Indiana
University Center for Survey Research
The
primary mission of the Center for Survey Research (CSR) is to provide
research services to academic and public policy researchers and to facilitate
educational and experiential opportunities for researchers, graduate,
and undergraduate students. The CSR is a social science research facility
that focuses on academic, social science, and public policy research.
Organizational
Behavior Teaching Society
The
mission of the Organizational Behavior Teaching Society is to enhance
the quality and promote the importance of teaching and learning across
the management disciplines with a focus on the dynamics within and at
interface of individuals, groups, organizations, and cultures.
Society
for Human Resources Management
The
Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) is the leading voice of the
human resource profession. SHRM provides education and information services,
conferences and seminars, government and media representation, online
services and publications to more than 165,000 professional and student
members throughout the world.
Society
of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
Division
14 of the American Psychological Association Organizational Affiliate
of the American Psychological Society
Return
to top
Statistical
Sources
Bureau
of Labor Statistics
U.S. Department of Labor
Mission: The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding
agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics
and statistics.
STAT-USA
U.S.
Department of Commerce
STAT-USA/Internet is the site for the U.S. business, economic and trade
community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government.
There are two sections to this web site: State of the Nation (U.S. economic
and business data) and Globus & NTDB (international business, trade
and market data).
Statistical
Universe (Portland
State University only)
Statistical
Universe indexes and abstracts printed federal, state, and international
statistical publications as well as selected business and professional
publications containing statistics. It does not, however, cover the statistics
issued by foreign governments. Approximately 15% of the federal statistical
publications are available in full text. See also the University of Michigan
guide: STATISTICAL
UNIVERSE Index to Federal, State, International and Business Statistics
U.S.
Census Bureau
U.S.
Department of Commerce
Census
data for the United States and links to other Federal and state government
data sites and international data sites. Includes Statistical
Abstract of the United States and other statistical compendia from
the U.S. Government.
Return
to top
Web
Resources
The following
selection of web sites is a sampling of resources found on the Internet,
from documents on a specific topic to academic and commercial research
meta sites. There is much redundance among sites devoted to human resource
management, however, ease of use and style of searching will lead you
to your favorite sites. You may also use the Google search engine below
to construct your own search of the web using specific key words.
Big
Dog's Leadership Page - Organizational Behavior
Defines and explains elements of organizational behavior, including
models of organizational behavior; social systems, culture and individualization;
and quality of work life.
CEO
Express
Commercial metasite based on the 80/20 rule: 20% of the resources
are used 80% of the time.
Creating
Learning Organizations Through Core Competence in Community Building
by Kazimierz Gozdz
Cross
Cultural Communication Guide
Study
Abroad - International Student Serivices, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Historical
Background of Organizational Behavior
Professor
Edward G. Wertheim, College of Business Administration, Northeastern University
Human
Resource Management Resources on the Internet (UK)
Nottingham
Trent University School of Business
A comprehensive collection of human resource management links, with
a focus on resources for the United Kingdom, but also many useful links
to U.S. resources.
Knowledge
Management & Organizational Learning
@Brint.com
Brint.com is the premier Business Technology knowledge portal and global
community network. Brint.com portals are the largest and most popular
resource for E-Business, Information, Technology and Knowledge Management
related content, community and commerce for the brave new world of business.
Leading
Learning Organizations
Peter M. Senge
This article was excerpted and reprinted with permission from Leader of
the Future, (Jossey-Bass, 1996).
The
Learning Organizations Home Page
Ed. by Kai
R. Larsen. Hosted by College of Business, University of Colorado at Boulder
Nyenrode
Business Information Services
Nyenrode University
Library, The Netherlands
Click on "Internet Sources" for links to management-related
sites on the Internet.
OD
Network Online
Organization
Development Network
A service
to the community of organization development practitioners.
Self
Directed Work Team
cSDWT
Collaboration in the workplace. The SDWT web site provides links to team
resources located across the Net. Here, teams can discover how other teams
work, find ways to develop collaborative thinking and key skills to be
more effective. Building a high functioning work team is a journey which
takes commitment, patience and learning.
Social
Science Information Gateway (SOSIG)
The service
aims to provide a trusted source of selected, high quality Internet information
for researchers and practitioners in the social sciences, business and
law. It is part of the UK Resource Discovery Network.
U.S.
Department of Justice - ADA Home Page
Information on the Americans with Disabilities Act.
U.S.
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
The
mission of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) is
to save lives, prevent injuries and protect the health of America's workers.
To accomplish this, federal and state governments must work in partnership
with the more than 100 million working men and women and their six and
a half million employers who are covered by the Occupational Safety and
Health Act of 1970.
Work
Index
Cornell
University
Workindex.com is the world's most comprehensive index of workplace-related
Web sites as well as human resource tools and information. The site is
produced and maintained by the publishers of Human Resource Executive
magazine, in cooperation with Cornell University's School of Industrial
Labor Relations.
Workforce
For HR professionals. HR trends & tools for business results. Membership
required for access to research materials.
Return
to top
|