
Encyclopedias
provide excellent background/overview information and are a great place
to begin your research. They frequently contain contain articles written
by experts for a general audience. Most of these tools include indexes
that indicate the scope of coverage of a topic and help pinpoint articles
in which a concept will be discussed. Sources for further reading are
usually included.
Routledge
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
ed. by Edward Craig 10 vols.
B51 .R68 1998 (Reference)
Encyclopedia
of Philosophy
ed. by Paul Edwards, 8 vols. (1967, with Supplement, 1996)
B41 .E5 (Reference)
The
Encyclopedia of Religion
ed. by Mircea Eliade, 16 vols.
BL31 .E46 1987 (Reference)
Companion
Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
ed. by Brian Carr
B121 .C66 1997 (Reference)
Encyclopedia
of Classical Philosophy
ed. by Donald J. Zeyl.
B163 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia
of Aesthetics
ed. by Michael Kelly, 4 vols.
BH56 .E53 1998 (Reference)
Encyclopedia
of Empiricism
ed. by Don Garrett
B816 .E53 1997 (Reference)
Encyclopedia
of Applied Ethics
ed. by Ruth Chadwick, 4 vols.
BJ63 .E44 1998 (Reference)
Encyclopedia
of Ethics
ed. by Lawrence C. Becker, 3 vols.
BJ63 .E45 2001 (Reference)
Ethics
ed. by John K. Roth, 3 vols.
BJ63 .E54 1994 (Reference)
Encyclopedia
of Phenomenology
ed. by Lester Embree, et al.
B829.5 .E53 1997 (Reference)
Stanford
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
http://plato.stanford.edu/contents.html
A "dynamic encyclopedia" with each entry maintained
and kept up to date by one or more experts in the field. A work in
progress-many "assigned entries" have not yet been written.

Other
reference resources, such as dictionaries and handbooks, can also be helpful
in getting your started on your research.
Biographical
Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers
ed. by Stuart Brown, Diané Collinson, and Robert Wilkinson
B104 .B56 1996 (Reference)
The
Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy, 2nd ed.
ed. by Robert Audi
B41 .C35 1999 (Reference)
Dictionary
of Ethics, Theology and Society
ed. by Paul Barry Clarke and Andrew Linzey
BJ63 .D53 1996 (Reference)
Dictionary
of Philosophical Terms and Names
by Garth Kemerling
http://www.philosophypages.com/dy/index.htm
Dictionary
of Philosophy, 3rd ed.
by A. R. Lacey
B41 .L32 1996 (Reference)
Masterpieces
of World Philosophy in Summary Form
ed. by Frank Magill
B21 .M3 1961a (Reference)
The
Oxford Companion to Philosophy
http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t116&subject=s22
The
Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t98&subject=s22
The
Philosopher's Guide to Sources, Research Tools, Professional Life,
and Related Fields
Richard T. De George
Z7125 .D445 (Reference)
Philosophy:
a Guide to the Reference Literature
Hans E. Bynagle, 2nd ed.
Z7125 .B97 1997 (Reference)
Research
Guide to Philosophy
Terrence N. Tice and Thomas P. Slavens
B52 .T5 1983 (Reference)
Women
Philosophers: a Bio-critical Source Book
Ethel M. Kersey
B105 .W6 K47 1989 (Reference)
World
Philosophers and Their Works
ed. by John K. Roth, 3 vols.
B104 .W67 2000 (Reference)
Directory
of American Philosophers 1996-1997 18th ed.
B935 .D5 (Reference)
A directory of philosophy and philosophers in U.S. and
Canada. Lists names of individuals and academic departments, and contains
lists of societies, journals and publishers.
International
Directory of Philosophy and Philosophers
B35 .I55 (Reference)
A directory of philosophy and philosophers outside the U.S. and Canada,
with information on academic departments, centers, societies, publishers,
and journals.
Philosophy
in Cyberspace: Section 3: Philosophy Organizations
http://www-personal.monash.edu.au/~dey/phil/section3.htm
American
Philosophical Association
http://www.apa.udel.edu/apa/index.html
Includes directory of members, texts of recent Proceedings, notices
of conferences and calls for papers, announcements of grants and fellowships.
Many links to other philosophy-related Internet sites.

To
find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, you will need to
use one of the Library's print indexes or article databases. An index
or article database will allow you to look for articles by title, by author,
or by a few keywords that describe your topic.
The
Philosopher's Index (1940-present)
The primary index for philosophy, listing scholarly research
published in books and journals in fifteen areas of philosophy.
Humanities
Index
(1984-present)
Cites articles from scholarly English-language publications in the
Humanities field, including Philosophy and Religion.
Humanities
& Social Sciences Retrospective (1907-1984)
Religion
Index One. Periodicals (1949-present)
Z7753 .A497 (Reference)
Repertoire
bibliographique de la philosophie
(vols. 23-29, 1971-1987)
Z7127 .R42 (Reference)
Bibliographie
de la philosophie. Bibliography of Philosophy
(PSU has vols. 6-34, 1959-1987)
Z7127 .B5 (Reference)
Philosopher's
Imprint
http://www.philosophersimprint.org/
Philosophers' Imprint is a refereed series of original papers in philosophy,
edited by philosophy faculty at the University of Michigan and published
on the World Wide Web by the University of Michigan Digital Library.
The mission of the Imprint is to promote a future in which funds currently
spent on journal subscriptions are redirected to the dissemination
of scholarship for free, via the Internet.
Subject
headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular
topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching
by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest
for research in Philosophy. Copies of the complete set of the Library
of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout
the library.
Philosophers
Philosophers, Modern (or Medieval or Muslim or Jewish...)
Philosophy Biography
Philosophy Bibliography
Analysis (Philosophy)
Philosophy Ancient (or Arab, Argentine, Buddhist, Chinese, etc.)
Philosophy and religion
Philosophy English 13th century (or 16th, 17th, 18th, 19th, 20th)
Browsing
the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for
locating information on a topic.
B Philosophy (General)
B53-67 Theory. Method. Scope. Relations
B69-4695 History and systems
BC Logic
BD Speculative
Philosophy
BD100-708 Metaphysics
BD150-235 Epistemology. Theory of knowledge
BD240-241 Methodology. Classification of the sciences
BD300-444 Ontology.
BD493-708 Cosmology
BH Aesthetics
BJ Ethics
If you
cannot find what you need in the our catalog (VIKAT) or the catalog
of the Orbis-Cascade Alliance (Summit), then you might try Worldcat.
WorldCat
http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=WorldCat&done=referer
Contains more than 30 millions records for materials cataloged by
the Library of Congress and OCLC member libraries, including most
academic and many public libraries in the U.S. Catalog includes books,
serials (journals, magazines and newspapers), musical scores, recordings,
videos, computer software, films, maps and manuscripts. Locations
for all materials are cited. Can be searched by author, title, subject,
year, language, material type.
Additional resources for finding books:
Women
Philosophers: a Bibliography of Books through 1990
Z7125 .B34 1992 (Reference)
Lists more than 2,800 titles of books written or edited by women,
covering women's contributions to all branches of philosophy. Entries
are organized by subject and also indexed by author name.
Early
English Books Online (EEOB)
The collection contains digitized images of over 125,000 titles listed
in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's
Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well
as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection.
ARTFL
(American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)
Nearly 2000 French texts, mostly from the 18th-20th centuries, though
a few medieval, Renaissance and Seventeenth century texts are included.
Subjects include literary criticism, philosophy, history, economics,
and biology.

Philosophy
in Cyberspace
http://www-personal.monash.edu.au/~dey/phil/
Comprehensive guide to philosophy resources on the Internet. Includes
mailing lists by topics, electronic journals (with information on print
journals), electronic texts, bibliographies, preprints, article reviews,
publishers, bookstores, organizations and associations, philosophy departments
and programs, philosophy projects and centers, and other resources.
The
World-Wide Web Virtual Library: Philosophy
http://www.bris.ac.uk/Depts/Philosophy/VL/
Provides an overview of philosophy resources on the Internet.
Philosophy
Around the Web
http://users.ox.ac.uk/~worc0337/phil_index.html
Oxford-based philosophy supersite, includes information on individual
philosophers, jobs for philosophers, university department …and some
sections having little directly to do with philosophy.
Guide
to Philosophy on the Internet
http://www.earlham.edu/~peters/gpi/index.htm
A philosophy supersite, includes links to information on individual
philosophers. Also has links to two philosophy-related search engines
(soon to be merged), Hippias and Noesis: Philosophical Research On-line.
Contemporary
Philosophy of Mind: an Annotated Bibliography
http://www.u.arizona.edu/~chalmers/biblio.html
Contains more than 5000 entries on this subject under 6 subject classifications:
consciousness and qualia, mental content, metaphysics of mind, philosophy
of artificial intelligence, philosophy of psychology, consciousness
in the sciences.
Contemporary
Philosophy, Critical Theory and Postmodern Thought
http://carbon.cudenver.edu/~mryder/itc_data/postmodern.html
A Web directory of freely available sources on contemporary philosophy,
critical theory, and postmodern thought.
Ethics
Updates
http://ethics.acusd.edu/
Primarily for use by ethics instructors and their students. Provides
"updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that
relates to ethics."
Perseus
Project
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/
A source for ancient Greek philosophical texts and their translations.
EpistemeLinks
http://www.epistemelinks.com
Links to materials on general philosophy, including full texts and
student discussions.
Philosophy
Research Base
http://erraticimpact.com/
A metaindex of text and online sources in philosophy.
|