|
Physics
|
| |
|
Subject
Resource Guide for Physics
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
Encyclopedias
Provide
excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin
research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience.
Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing
articles in which a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies
for further reading.
 |
Macmillan Encyclopedia
of Physics (QC 5 .M15 1996)
4 volumes
Useful for explanations of various physics concepts, theories,
principles and phenomena. Also contains brief biographies of more
famous physicists.
|
 |
Encyclopedia
of Applied Physics (QC 5 .E543 1991)
23 volumes
More detailed entries (10-40 pages) discussing various subjects
within applied physics. Includes topics related to electrical engineering.
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Reference
Books
Handbooks,
dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information
specific to the subject areas addressed.
 |
CRC
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (QD 65 .H3)
Useful for many data tables: physical constants of chemical compounds,
vapor pressures, lattice energies, properties of metals and semiconductors,
optical constants, magnetic properties, etc.
|
 |
Conversion
Tables of units for science & engineering, Horvath, Ari L.
(QC 88 .H67 1986)
When you need to go from Debyes to Coulomb-Meters or ounces per
square inch to tons per square kilometer.
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Databases
and Indexes
Magazine,
periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments,
research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every
discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article
level information. Once articles are identified through the database or
index search, look up the source journal in Vikat,
PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete
list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's
Online Databases pages.
 |
SPIN
The SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) Database provides
the most current indexing and abstracting of major American and
Russian physics and astronomy journals. SPIN contains the abstracts
of over 80 scientific journals published by the American Institute
of Physics and its member societies, as well as selected articles
from other scientific journals, totaling approximately 475,000 articles.
|
 |
EI
Compendex Web
The Compendex database provides coverage of the world's engineering
literature. It corresponds to the printed publication Engineering
Index, plus additional conference records from the Engineering Meeting file.
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Online
Full Text Journals
Many, but
by no means all, of the journals of interest in physics
are available online. Most of the journals require
authentication for off campus use.
 |
Physics journals online
|
 |
arXiv.org e-Print Archive (http://www.arxiv.org/)
This site archives many thousands of articles in physics, mathematics,
nonlinear science, and computer science. This includes electronic
versions of published journal articles, as well as non-peer-reviewed
personally posted articles. This is a very important resource in
the physics community.
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Call
Numbers
Browsing
the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating
information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood"
in the library stacks.
| Astronomy textbooks: QB 42 -62
Physics textbooks: QC 21-23
Mathematical Physics: QC 19.2 - 20.85
Mechanics: QC 114 - 168
Atomic Physics: QC 170 - 197
Acoustics: QC 221 - 246
Thermodynamics: QC 251-338
Optics: QC 350 - 467
Radiation Physics: QC 474 - 496
Electricity and Magnetism: QC 501 - 766
Nuclear and Particle Physics: QC 770 - 798
Geophysics: QC 801 - 849
Meteorology/Climatology: QC 851 -999
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Organizations
Often
the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published
by a professional society or an organization.
 |
American Institute of
Physics
The American Institute of Physics (AIP) is a not-for-profit membership
corporation for the promotion, advancement ,and diffusion of the
knowledge of physics and its application to human welfare. Includes
links to SPINWeb and online journals.
|
 |
American Physical Society
APS represents more than 40,000 members in the arena of national,
international, and governmental affairs. It publishes physics research
journals; conducts over 20 national, divisional and regional meetings
every year; and develops and implements effective programs in physics
education and outreach.
Site inlcudes links to virtual journals in science and technology,
current events, and employment links.
|
 |
Institute of Physics
The Institute of Physics is an international learned society and
professional body for the advancement and dissemination of physics,
pure and applied, and promotion of physics education.
Site includes online journals, current events, and busines and
industry links.
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Web
Resources
 |
Physics
Central
Physics Central communicates the excitement and importance of physics
to everyone. We'll answer your questions on how things work and
keep you informed with daily updates on physics in the news. We'll
describe the latest research and the people who are doing it and,
if you want more, where to go on the web.
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
Return
to Subject Resource Guides
|
Page
developed by:
Gretta Siegel
Please send comments to:
Gretta Siegel
|
|
Last updated:
|