PSU Library Logo

 

Public Administration

 

Doing Library Research:
Introduction | Reference Works |Journal Articles and Databases | Electronic Journals | Finding Books | Electronic Books | Writing and Citation Guides

Web Resources | Election Information

Ask A Librarian for assistance with your research.

See also related guides: Business Librarian's Page | Economics | Economics Internet Resources | Government Information | Legal Resources | Nonprofit Management | Organizational Behavior

 

Introduction

This is a selective guide to reference resources in the field of Public Administration available at Portland State University and on the Internet.
It seeks to highlight the great variety information sources for
all aspects of management of public sector agencies, nonprofit organizations and nongovernmental organizations, from supranational organizations to local community governance.

Return to top

Reference Works
book Almanac of American Politics JK8 .A45 2000
book Almanac of the 50 States HA203 .A5 2001
book Applied Statistics for Public Administration HA29 .M46 1997
book Basic documents of American public administration, 1776-1950 JK411 .B3
book Biographical Dictionary of Public Administration JA61 .W54 2001
book The Book of the States JK2403 .B6
bookwww source

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Print & CD-ROM: PREX2.20: Government Information Workroom, 4th Floor

book County and City Data Book HA202 .A36
bookwww source Cumulative List of Organizations described in Section 170(c) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. (Tax Exempt Organizations) HV89.A3 1998 3v. Search for Charities and Exempt Organizations (IRS Site)
book Encyclopedia of Associations. Regional, state, and local organizations
HS17 .E53 1994/95
book Encyclopedia of Conflict Resolution HM136 .B783 1997
book Encyclopedia of Housing HD7287 .E53 1998
book Encyclopedia of policy studies H97 .E6 1994
book Europa World Year Book 2v. JN1 .E85 2000
book Foundation Directory AS911 .A2 F65 2001
psu-only access via the web GPO Access (1990s+) Contains full text of the Federal Register, Congressional Record, U.S. Code and other legislative and regulatory information. Updated daily.
book Handbook of Comparative and Development Public Administration.
JF1351 .H267 2001 / Reference
bookpsu-only access via the web Handbook of Public Administration
JF1351 .H275 1998
Electronic Version
book Handbook of Research Methods in Public Administration
JF1338 .A2 H34 1999
book Handbook of State Government Administration JK2443 .H35 2000
book Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics. 4th ed.
HD8051 .A63 2000
book Information-Finding and the Research Process: A Guide to Sources and Methods for Public Administration and the Policy
Sciences Z7164 .A2 S53 1993
book International encyclopedia of public policy and administration
H97 .I574 1998
book Municipal Year Book JS344 .C5 A24
book National Directory of Corporate Giving
HV89 .N26 1997
book National Directory of Corporate Public Affairs
HD59 .N24 2000
book National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations AS29.5 .N38 2002 / Reference
book National Trade and Professional Associations of the United States
HD2425 .D53 2001
book Nonprofit Handbook: Fund Raising
HD62.6 .N662 1997
book Nonprofit Handbook: Management
HD62.6 .N662 1997b
book Occupational Outlook Handbook
HF5382.5 .U5 O23 / Latest in Ready Reference
bookwww source Oregon Blue Book JK9031 Annual
Electronic Version
book Public Administration: A Bibliographic Guide to the Literature
Z7164 .A2 M29 1986
book The Public Administration Dictionary
JA61 .C47 1988
book Public Administration Research Guide
Z7164 .A2 C48 1992
book Public Expenditure Management Handbook HJ7461 .P825 1998
book Public Policy Dictionary H97 .K78 1987
book

State and Local Government Political Dictionary JK2408 .E44 1988

book State of Working America HD8051 .S73 2000/2001
bookwww source Statistical Abstract of the United States
HA202 Annual / Latest in Ready Reference
Electronic Version
(PDF Format)
book Survey Research for Public Administration HM261 .F65 1996
book Think Tank Directory: A Guide to Nonprofit Policy Research Organizations (on order)
bookwww source The United States Government Manual JK421 .A3
Electronic Version (1995-2001)
book

West's Encyclopedia of American Law. 12v. KF154 .W47 1998

book

World Almanac AY67 .N5 W7 Annual / Latest in ReadyReference

bookcd rom Word Develpment Indicators
HC59.15 W647 2002 / Reference
CD-ROM / Reference Partial data may also be found on the Web at World Bank Data & Maps
bookwww source
World Factbook HC59 .N248 2000 / Reference
Electronic Version
book
Yearbook of International Organizations JX1904 .A42 1999/00

Return to top

Journal Articles and Databases

The following subject databases are sources for journal articles, and in some instances, reports and documents.
Those with full-text are indicated in this chart. Not all titles in a full-text database appear in full text. Some titles may have links to publisher web sites. In addition, some catalog (Vikat) entries for individual titles may link to the publisher's web site. Some titles simply are not available to us in full text. Additional databases may be found on the Library's Online Databases page.
Access UN 1951-2001 - UN Microfiche collection contains full documents. PSU has: Microfiche 1970- Abstracts
Ageline 1978- Abstracts
Agricola (Good source for policy information on agriculture and environment.) Citations; Some links to full text
Article1st 1990- Interdisciplinary Citations
CIS Congressional Universe Selected full-text
Contents1st (Index of Tables of Content of leading journals.) Tables of Content
CQ Library Includes: CQ Researcher 1991- ; CQ Weekly 1983- CQ's Electronic Encyclopedia of American Government Full-Text
Dissertation Abstracts International 1861-
PSU Theses 1997- are Full Text (slow).
Abstracts
Econlit 1969- (Economics journals, collective volumes, books, dissertations, and working papers.) Abstracts
EBSCOhost - Academic Search Elite, Business Source Elite, MasterFILE Premier, Newspaper Source, Professional Development Collection (1990- ; coverage varies) Full-Text
ERIC 1966- (Comprehensive index for Education.)
ERIC Documents (Contains full text, 1996- ; earlier - Fiche)
Education Abstracts Full Text (Journals; 1996- full text)
Varies
Emerald Library MCP Press journals in fields of business and management, library and information science, engineering, and education. (Coverage varies.) Full-Text
Environmental Abstracts 1980- Abstracts
GeoBase 1980- Useful source for environmental and development issues as well as earth science topics. Abstracts

Impact/ACCESS GDOCS 1976- (U.S. Government Publications)

Citations
Index to Current Urban Documents Abstracts
JAKE (Find out which databases index a journal title.)  
JSTOR Multidisciplinary academic journal backfiles - articles in PDF files. (Coverage varies) Full-Text
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Contains: Congressional Universe, Statistical Universe, journals and newspapers Mostly full text
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Abstracts
Newspaper Source Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers. Full-Text
Oregon Index 1995- (Varying coverage of Oregon Newspapers.) Citations
Oregonian 1995- (Does not cover news wire stories.) Full-Text
PAIS International 1972- Abstracts
PsycINFO 1889- Good source for literature on group dynamics. Abstracts
Social Sciences Citation Index Now available with Web of Science Earlier years - print: Z7161 .S65 Citations
Social Science Index  Abstracts
Social Services Abstracts Abstracts
STAT-USA Business, trade and economic information. Full-Text
Statistical Universe Incorporates American Statistics Index, Index to International Statistics and Statistical Reference Index
Abstracts/Selected tables
TRIS Online 1960's- Transportation Research Board Citations; some links to full text
Wall Street Journal Online 1984- Eastern Edition Full-Text
Web of Science 1997- Incorporates Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index Astracts
World News Connection Foreign Broadcast Information Service Full-Text
WORLDCAT WORLDCAT includes over 35 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries including manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. Citations only
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Abstracts

Return to top

Electronic Journals

Comprehensive List | Selected Electronic Journals

Many, but by no means ALL, of the journals of interest to Public Administration are available online. Below is a selected list of full text journals to which PSU has access. Most of the journals require authentication for off campus use.

Comprehensive listing of PSU Electronic Journals
by title  | by subject

Selected Electronic Journals

American Journal of International Law 1907-Jan. 2001
American Journal of Political Science 1973-1999
American Political Science Review 1906-1997
Chronicle of Philanthropy [username: psulibrary; password: 6stewa46] Oct. 1997-present
Ethics 1938-1995
GovExec.com - Government Executive Magazine (free to qualified professionals) Daily news is free.  
Human Rights Quarterly 1995-present
International Journal of Intelligent Systems in Accounting, Finance & Management 1998-present
International Organization 1947-1995

International Studies Quarterly

1997-present
International Studies Review 1997-present
Journal of Democracy 1995-present
Journal of Policy Analysis and Management 1996--present
Journal of Policy History 2000-present
Journal of Politics 1936-1996
Journal of Urban Affairs 1997-present
Journal of Urban Planning and Development 1999-present
Managerial Auditing Journal 1998-present
Milbank Quarterly 1997-present

Nonprofit & Voluntary Sector Quarterly (SwetsWise--be sure to click on login via IP authentication)
Also in Current Periodicals HV1 .J63

1999-present
Parliamentary Affairs 2000-present
Philosophy and Public Affairs 1971-1994
Political Science Quarterly 1886-1995/1996
Population Index 1935-1985
Proceedings of the American Political Science Association 1904-1913
Public Administration and Development 1996-present
Public Administration and Management: an Interactive Journal 1996-present
Public Culture 1999-present
Public Opinion Quarterly 1937-1999
SAIS Review 1996-present
Social Science History 1999-present
Theory & Event 1997-present
Voluntas To access: At the SwetsnetNavigator site, click on Journals (top-right of page). Next, under Search Term, enter Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly. Click Go, then on the next page click Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quaterly. You will then arrive at the full text files.  2002-present
Washington Quarterly 2000-present
World Politics 1948-present

Return to top

Finding Books

Subject Headings
| Keywords | Call Numbers

Use these catalogs to search for your monographic materials and documents. Selected Subjects and Keywords are provided below.
WORLDCAT
Includes over 35 million records in libraries in U.S. and elsewhere.

For materials not found at PSU, you may submit an Interlibrary Loan Request (PSU only).

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in public administration. A complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings is available at the Reference Desk.

Using the "Complex" search you may combine any Subject Heading with Keywords by using the pull-down menus to the left of each search frame. Choose "subject" for subjects, and "words or phrases" for key words.

Administrative law
Administrative theory
Affirmative action programs
Associations - Management
Benchmarking (Management)
Charitable uses, trusts and foundations
Charities
City planning - Environmental aspects
Civil service
Collective bargaining
Common good
Communication in organizations
Conflict resolution
Crisis management
Disaster relief
Emergency management
Endowments
Energy policy - (country)
Environmental policy - (country or region)
Environmental protection
Environmental risk assessment
Finance, public
Finance, public - Accounting
Forest policy - (country or region)
Fund raising
Globalization
Health policy - (country or region)
Health services administration
Health services - Economics
Housing policy - (country or region)
Human services
Human services - Management
Industrial management
Industrial organization
Industrial productivity
Intercultural communication
International organization
International relations
Knowledge management
Natural resources - Government policy
Non-governmental organizations
Nonprofit management
Nonprofit organizations - Accounting
Nonprofit organizations - Marketing
Nonprofit organizations - Management
Operations research
Organizational change
Organizational learning
Personnel management
Policy analysis
Program evaluation
Proposal writing for grants
Public administration - United States (or other country)
Public contracts
Public lands
Public-private sector cooperation - (country)
Social sciences - Research - Methodology
Strategic planning
Sustainable development
Trusts and trustees
Urban ecology
Urban transportation policy

Keywords
Sometimes a subject heading does not exist for a particular area of focus, or perhaps the keyword approach allows the use of more contemporary terminology. Here are a few suggestions for keywords related to areas of public administration.
Administrative process
Benefit-cost analysis
Best practices
Collaborative communities
Communities of practice
Cross-cultural communication
Human resource management
Leadership development
Management theory
Nonprofit accounting
Nonprofit boards
Nonprofit marketing
Performance auditing
Philanthropy
Public budgeting
Public personnel management
Public relations management
Qualitative research
Service learning
Service organizations
Water policy

Call Numbers
Public Administration does not have distinct ranges of numbers in the Library of Congress Classification system. Instead, the literature of Public Administration is dispersed among the areas of social sciences dealing with management, government, social institutions, and behavioral science. The best approach to finding materials is to use a Subject or Keyword search in the Online Catalog.

Return to top

Electronic Books
The PSU Library belongs to NetLibrary, a collection of electronic texts on the web. If the Library owns a particular title in NetLibrary, you may access the item through our On-Line Catalog (Vikat). You may do a Keyword Search, combining "Netlibrary" and other key words, title words, or subjects (see instructions at bottom of search page.) Or, you may search the NetLibrary site and obtain access to titles we own. Instructions for Opening a Netlibrary Account. Here are some sample selections:
Affirmative Action Plan Workbook. John C. Fox. CCH Inc., c1997
AMA Management Handbook. 1994
Environment as a Focus for Public Policy. Lynton Keith Caldwell.
Texas A&M University Press, c1995.
Framing the Social Security Debate. Brookings Institution, 1998.
Handbook of organization theory and management. Thomas D. Lynch, Todd J. Dicker. M. Dekker, 1998
Handbook of Organizational Behavior. Robert T. Golembiewski, ed.
M. Dekker, 1993
Handbook of Public Administration. Jack Rabin. M. Dekker, c1998
Handbook of Public Finance. Fred Thompson, Mark Green. M. Dekker, 1998
How to Develop a Personnel Policy Manual. Joseph W.R. Lawson II. AMACOM, c1998
Human Resources Management & Development Handbook. 2nd ed. William R. Tracey, editor. Amacom, 1994
Inflation, Unemployment, and Monetary Policy. Robert M. Solow and John B. Taylor. Alvin Hansen Symposium on Public Policy.
(1st: 1995: Harvard University.)
Institutions And Organizations. W. Richard Scott. Sage, c1995
The Manager's Desk Reference. Cynthia Berryman-Fink and Charles B. Fink.
AMACOM, 1996
Public Expenditure Management Handbook. World Bank, 1998

Should the United States Privatize Social Security? Henry J. Aaron and John B. Shoven. Alvin Hansen Symposium on Public Policy.
(2nd: 1998: Harvard University)

Return to top

Web Resources Administrative Law | Budgeting and Financial Management | Federal Resources | International Development, Environment and Sustainability | Law | Nonprofit Management | Organizations | State and Local Resources | Statistics | General Resources for Public Administration

If you do not find what you are looking for in the following lists of resources, try your own web search: Or, you may Ask A Librarian.

If you wish to limit your search to Federal web sites, you may use Google/Unclesam.

Administrative Law

ABA Administrative Procedure Database
This site is designed to facilitate the exchange of information about Federal and State administrative law among legislators, lawyers, hearing officers, judges, and citizens. This site contains links to federal and state Administrative Procedure Acts (APA), reform proposals, and organizational and other resources.

Administrative Agencies: an Overview
Administrative law encompasses laws and legal principles governing the administration and regulation of government agencies (both Federal and State). Such agencies are delegated power by Congress (or in the case of a state agency, the state legislature) to act as agents for the executive. Generally, administrative agencies are created to protect a public interest rather than to vindicate private rights.

Administrative Law Research
M.G. Gallagher Law Library, University of Washington
A very useful guide for doing research on administrative law.

Return to Web Resources | Return to top

Budgeting and Financial Management

Association for Budgeting and Financial Management
A section of the American Society for Public Administration

Bureau of the Public Debt Online

FinanceNet
Financial Management in Government

Government Finance Officers Association
The Government Finance Officers Association of the United States and Canada is the premier association of public-sector finance professionals and is dedicated to providing high-quality support to state and local governments.

National Budget Simulation
A project of UC-Berkeley's Center for Community Economic Research and was created by Anders Schneiderman and Nathan Newman.

Office of Management and Budget (U.S.)
Includes The Budget, Circulars, OMB Testimony, Memoranda, Selected OMB Bulletins, Federal Register and Administration Policy.

United States General Accounting Office (GAO)
The investigative arm of Congress. GAO exists to support the Congress in meeting its Constitutional responsibilities and to help improve the performance and accountability of the federal government for the American people. GAO examines the use of public funds, evaluates federal programs and activities, and provides analyses, options, recommendations, and other assistance to help the Congress make effective oversight, policy, and funding decisions.

Return to Web Resources | Return to top

Federal Resources

The Congressional Institute
A not-for-profit organization dedicated to helping Members of Congress better serve the nation, and helping to better understand public policy debates and the operations of the national legislature. Through the sponsorship of educational conferences and seminars, values-based research and this Internet site, the Institute seeks to further discourse on issues of public importance.


eGov
U.S. General Services Administration

The Federal Web Locator
A service provided by the Center for Information Law and Policy and is intended to be the one stop shopping point for federal government information on the World Wide Web.

Fedworld Information Network
Offers multiple distribution channels to disseminate information to the public and to the Federal Government. The modes of access, the variety of documents available, and the technological expertise at FedWorld are expanding with technology. Fedworld is a comprehensive central access point for searching, locating, ordering and acquiring government and business information.

FirstGov
Portal to 30 million pages of government information, services, and online transactions.

GPO Access: Official Federal Government Information At Your Fingertips
Contents: Government information databases; Permanent Public Access; Tools to locate Government information; Collections of Government information available through the Federal Depository Libraries; Federal agency files available for download.

THOMAS - U.S. Legislative Information on the Internet

Return to Web Resources | Return to top

State and Local Resources

Association of Metropolitan Planning Organizations
AMPO is a nonprofit, membership organization established in 1994 to serve the needs and interests of "metropolitan planning organizations (MPOs)" nationwide.

CGR - Center for Governmental Research
An independent nonprofit research organization focusing on municipal, county and metropolitan government, including studies on management and financial analysis.

CMRC: Crime Mapping Information Center
The goal of the Center is "the promotion, research, evaluation, development, and dissemination of GIS (geographic information systems) technology and the spacial analysis of crime.

Council of State Governments
Founded on the premise that the states are the best sources of insight and innovation, CSG provides a network for identifying and sharing ideas with state leaders. To this end CSG: Builds leadership skills to improve decision-making; Advocates multi-state problem solving and partnerships; Interprets changing national and international conditions to prepare states for the future; and Promotes the sovereignty of the states and their role in the American federal system.

Municipal Codes Online
Seattle Public Library

National Association of Counties
NACo maintains as part of its mission to improve public understanding of counties. NACo collects, researches, publishes and disseminates a variety of different information for, on and about counties. NACo maintains a comprehensive database of information on counties, including a listing of county officials, and links to the HPI InfoSystem, which provides nationwide county statistics such as economic and demographic data.

National Council of State Legislatures
Mission: Improving the quality and effectiveness of state legislatures, fostering interstate communication and cooperation, and ensuring legislatures a strong, cohesive voice in the federal system.

National League of Cities
NLC provides a wide range of programs and services to strengthen the ability of city officials to serve their communities.

Oregon Progress Board
Oregon's Strategic Plan: Oregon Shines; Benchmarks: Oregon's Progress Measures; The Oregon Population Survey; Special Reports from the Progress Board; and Links: Managing for Results.

Organization for Community Networks
An Ohio non-profit corporation established as a central repository for information dealing with Free-Nets/Community Networks. There is a collection of documents which have been supplied by various systems to share with new and existing systems.

Regional Councils of Government and Metropolitan Planning Organizations (Directory - U.S. and World Wide)
Association of Bay Area of Governments

State and Local Government on the Net
A Piper Resources guide to government sponsored Internet sites.

State Profiles
NASCIO
Representing state chief information officers and information resource executives and managers from the 50 states, six U. S. territories, and the District of Columbia.

URISA (Urban and Regional Information Systems Association)
"...an association of government information technology management professionals and others interested in applying information technology in public agencies."

U.S. State and Local Gateway
FirstGov

USA CityLink
The USA CityLink Project is a city's interface to the world. It is the Internet's most comprehensive listing of U.S. States and Cities offering information on travel, tourism and relocation.

Urban Design
Environmental Design Library, University of California, Berkeley
A bibliographic research guide to Internet sites and library resources supporting urban design research at UC Berkeley.

Return to Web Resources | Return to top

International Development, Environment and Sustainability

Amazing Environmental Organization Web Directory
"Earth's Biggest Environment Search Engine"

Country Studies
Library of Congress

CorpWatch - Holding Corporations Accountable

Directory of NGOs in Official Relations with WHO
World Health Organization

The EcoGateway - Your Guide To Sustainability Online
EcoIQ.com
Portal to environmental news and organizations.

EcoNet
IGC Internet

Environmental Protection Agency (U.S.)
Links to State Environmental Agencies and Community-Based Environmental Management.

EM (Environmental Management)
U.S. Department of Energy - Office of Environmental Management "...managing the legacy of contamination from the nuclear weapons complex."

Federation of American Scientists
FAS conducts analysis and advocacy on science, technology and public policy, including national security, nuclear weapons, arms sales, biological hazards, secrecy, education technology, information technology, energy and the environment.

FedStats - Environmental Statistics

GEMI - Global Environmental Management Initiative
Mission: To help business achieve environmental, health and safety excellence.

Green Cities
U.S. State Department International Information Programs

IEMA - Institute of Environmental Management & Assessment (U.K.)
"The professional body for the Environment"
Formed in September 1999, following the merger of the Institute of Environmental Management, the Environmental Auditor's Registration Association, and Institute of Environmental Assessment, the Institute is the leading UK membership organisation dedicated to the promotion of the goal of sustainable development and to the professional development of individuals involved in environmental management and assessment, whether they be in business, government, consultancy or the regulators.

InterAction
A coalition of over 165 non-profit organizations working world-wide, and the U.S.'s leading advocate for sustainable development, refugee and disaster assistance, and humanitarian aid.

Integrated Natural Resource Management
INRM can be defined as the responsible and broad-based management of the land, water, forest and biological resources base--including genes--needed to sustain agricultural productivity and avert degradation of potential productivity.

International Development
WWW Virtual Library - International Affairs Resources

International Development Network - Information Resources for Sustainable Development

Internet Resources for Latin America
Princeton University

Joint Center for Sustainable Communities
The United States Conference of Mayors and The National Association of Counties
The primary mission is to provide a forum for cities and counties to work together to develop long-term policies and programs that will lead to job growth, environmental stewardship and social equity.

NAEM - National Association for Environmental Management
A non-profit educational association composed of professional, private and public sector environmental managers. NAEM provides professional development, recognition, and opportunities.

Natural Resource Management Links
United Nations Capital Development Fund

Nongovernmental Organizations
The WWW Virtual Library - International Affairs Resources

Nongovernmental Organizations with Environmental Interest (Pacific Northwest)
University of Washington
Organizations offering information on environmental issues. Some also provide volunteer and internship opportunities.

Oregon Natural Resources Council
News, conservation programs and links to conservation organizations.

Scorecard
An information service provided by Environmental Defense. "Scorecard is the ultimate source for free and easily accessible local environmental information."

Sustainable Development
World Wide Web Virtual Library
" A comprehensive list of internet sites dealing with sustainable development, including organisations, projects and activities, electronic journals, libraries, references and documents, databases, directories or metadatabases."

Urban Environmental Management
The World Wide Web Virtual Library

Virtual Library on International Development
Canadian International Development Agency
A collection of links to international development resources on the Internet

The Virtual Library on Microcredit
The World Wide Web Virtual Library

World Health Organization
WHO continuously monitors disease outbreaks, including deliberate chemical /biological attacks, through The Global Outbreak Alert and Response Network.

Return to Web Resources | Return to top

Law

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe
Harold B. Lee Library, Brigham Young University
Includes very current material. Good source for constitutions.

Findlaw.com
Online Legal Reference - Searchable legal resources including legal subject guides, law schools, law reviews, governmental resources and much more.

Global Resources
Law.com

Law Research
Internet Law Library designed for Legal Professionals. Contains directories to INTERNATIONAL LAW & GOVERNMENT BY COUNTRY, UNITED STATES LAW & GOVERNMENT BY FEDERAL BRANCH, UNITED STATES LAW & GOVERNMENT BY STATE, US SUBSTANTIVE CASE LAW, US STATUTORY LAW, and US REGULATORY LAW. Also covered are the following areas of practice: Public Accounting, Intellectual Property, Forensic Investigations, Medical Directory and Taxation Directory.

Researching Constitutional Law on the Internet
University of Chicago D'Angelo Law Library

Return to Web Resources | Return to top

Nonprofit Management

CascadeLink Regional Volunteerism
"...to connect potential volunteers with volunteer opportunities and to provide support for organizations seeking volunteers."

Center for the Study of Philanthropy
Information on world wide philanthropy, including some resources for research.

Give.org
Better Business Bureau Wise Giving Alliance

Independent Sector
Mission: to promote, strengthen, and advance the nonprofit and philanthropic community to foster private initiative for the public good.

Internet Nonprofit Center
A project of the The Evergreen State Society of Seattle.

The National Committee for Responsive Philanthropy
A 501(c)3 nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting philanthropy that addresses the unmet needs of disadvantaged populations, including very low-income communities, people of color, gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender populations, and other groups facing discrimination or marginalization. NCRP conducts action research, provides technical assistance to nonprofits, and engages in policy advocacy. NCRP's reform activism targets foundations, corporations, individual donors, and workplace fund-raising.

Nonprofit Gateway - "A network of links to Federal government information and services"

The Nonprofit Resource Center
For the past few years the Nonprofit Resource Center has been the Internet's premier information source for nonprofit organizations.

Peacework - International Volunteer Programs
Peacework arranges international volunteer service projects around the world for colleges, universities, and service organizations.

Resources for Nonprofit Organizations
University of Wisconsin Grants Information Center

Volunteer Match - A Quick Index of Organizations in Oregon

Return to Web Resources | Return to top

Organizations

Academy of Management Online
An academic organization devoted to research, learning, teaching and practice in the field of management.

Alliance for Nonprofit Management
Formed in 1998 by the merger of the Support Centers of America and the Nonprofit Management Association.
The purpose "...is to challenge and strengthen those who deliver management and government support services to nonprofit organizations."

American Evaluation Association
An international professional association of evaluators devoted to the application and exploration of program evaluation, personnel evaluation, technology, and many other forms of evaluation. Evaluation involves assessing the strengths and weaknesses of programs, policies, personnel, products, and organizations to improve their effectiveness.

American Planning Association

American Society for Public Administration
Information professional activities and publications, with access to free electronic newsletters.

Conference of Minority Public Administrators
A section of American Society for Public Administration.

European Union (EU)
Europa - The European Union On-Line

Government Finance Officers Association
GFOA is the professional association of state/provincial and local finance officers in the United States and Canada, and has served the public finance profession since 1906.

IPAC - The Institute of Public Administration of Canada
IPAC is a national bilingual English/French non-profit organization, concerned with the theory and practice of public management, with 17 regional groups across Canada. It provides networks and forums regionally, nationally and internationally.

The Institute of Management and Administration

Professional information, publications and ezines.

International City/County Management Association (ICMA)
Requires membership for access to resources.

International Institute of Administrative Sciences
The purpose of IIAS, together with its two Specialised Associations, the International Association of Schools and Institutes of Administration (IASIA) and the European Group of Public Administration (EGPA), is to promote the development of the administrative sciences and the better operation of public administrative agencies at all levels.

International Institute for Sustainable Development
The International Institute for Sustainable Development is concerned with advancing policy recommendations on international trade and investment, economic policy, climate change, measurement and indicators, and natural resource management to make development sustainable--not just for tomorrow, but for countless generations to come.

International Monetary Fund (Publications)
The IMF is an international organization of 183 member countries, established to promote international monetary cooperation, exchange stability, and orderly exchange arrangements; to foster economic growth and high levels of employment; and to provide temporary financial assistance to countries to help ease balance of payments adjustment.

International Personnel Management Association
Membership required for access to full resources.

Metropolis
World Association of the Major Metropolises

National Academy of Public Administration (NAPA)
The National Academy of Public Administration is an independent, nonpartisan organization chartered by Congress to assist federal, state,
and local governments in improving their effectiveness, efficiency, and accountability.

National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration
An institutional membership organization which exists to promote excellence in public service education. The membership includes 248 U.S. university programs in public affairs, public policy, public administration and nonprofit
management.

OECD Online
Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development

UNESCO
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

United Nations
The Library maintains a microfiche depository of UN documents listed in the database
Access UN.

USAID
The United States Agency for International Development

The World Bank Group
Also known as the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development.

Return to Web Resources | Return to top

Statistics