|
Community Health
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
Encyclopedias
Provide
excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin
research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience.
Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing
articles in which a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies
for further reading.
|

|
Alternative
Health & Medicine encyclopedia
R733 .M38 1998
|
|

|
Encyclopedia
of Infectious Diseases
RC112. T887 1998
|
|

|
Encyclopedia
of Human Nutrition, (3 vols)
QP141 .E526 1999
Provides
coverage of all aspects of human nutrition, including clinical applications.
|
|

|
Encyclopedia
of mental health,
(3 vols.)
RA790.5 .E53 1998
|
|

|
Gale
Encyclopedia of Medicine, (5 vols)
RC41.G35 1999
A comprehensive source provides information on more than 1600 common
medical disorders, including high profile diseases such as AIDS,
Alzheimer’s disease, cancer and heart attack. It also includes
more than 240 tests and procedures.
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Reference
Books
Handbooks,
dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information
specific to the subject areas addressed.
|

|
Bioethics,
health care, and the law:
a dictionary
R725.5 .H44 1999
|
|

|
Dorland’s
Illustrated Medical Dictionary
R121. D73
|
|

|
Health Professions Education Directory, 27th
ed.
R847 .D57 1999/00
|
|

|
Health
services cyclopedic dictionary: a compendium of health-care and
public health terminology
RA393 .T56 1997
|
|

|
Health United States
RA407 .U57a
|
 |
Herbal
Internet Companion: Herbs and Herbal Medicine Online.
By David Owen
RM666
.H33 O975 2002
|
|

|
Merck
Manual
RC55 .M4 1999
Merck
Manual online
|
|

|
Oxford Medical Companion
RC41 .O84
|
|

|
Physician's Desk Reference
RS75 .P5
|
|

|
Physician’s Desk Reference for Nonprescription Drugs
RM671 .A1 P48
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Databases
and Indexes
Magazine,
periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments,
research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every
discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article
level information. Once articles are identified through the database or
index search, look up the source journal in Vikat,
PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete
list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's
Online Databases pages.
|

|
Ageline
Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons, contains
citations and abstracts of books, journals, research reports, consumer
guides, and book chapters.
Topics covered include: Medicare/Medicaid, elder care, health
care costs and policy, fitness, nutrition…etc.
|
|

|
Alt-HealthWatch
Full text database of resources focus on complementary alternative
and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. 1990-
|
|

|
CINAHL
Index to 650 English language nursing and allied health journals
on biomedicine, behavioral sciences, education, and consumer health,
1982-
|
|

|
Dissertation
Abstracts International
This database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North
American graduate schools and European universities. From 1980 forward,
each entry also includes 350-word abstracts, written by the author.
|
|
|
EBSCOhost
(Health Source: Nursing/Academic edition): consumer health information.
(Clinical Reference Systems): index to magazines and journals in all fields of medicine, with selected
full text. Provides some coverage of journal literature. May work for students working on health
or physical condition paper. Wimpy in terms of coverage, but helpful
in that we don’t have many of the Medline journals.
|
|

|
Environmental
Abstracts
Consists of 13 databases relating to environment and pollution,
i.e. ecology abstracts, pollution abstracts, water resource abstracts,
and others in toxicology, health and safety…etc.
|
|

|
ERIC
Indexes journal articles and documents in the field of education
and includes information from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE
(Current Index to Journals in Education). 1966-
|
|

|
Catalog
of U.S. Government Publications
Contains most of the information available through the federal depository
Library Program and is available for online searching as part of
the GPO Access Federal Locator services.
1994-
|
|
|
Medline
Comprehensive index to 3,200 international journals in clinical
and research biomedicine, dentistry, epidemiology, health, hospital
literature, nursing, nutrition, pharmacology, psychiatry, and veterinary
medicine. 1965-
|
|

|
PAIS
Contains abstracts of journal articles, books, statistical yearbooks,
directories, conference proceedings, research reports and government
documents covering topics in public and social policy, public administration,
political science, and other social sciences. 1972-
|
|

|
PsycINFO
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and
related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology,
education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics. 1889-
|
|

|
Social
Work Abstracts
Indexes 450 journals in all areas of social work, including areas
of service, social issues, and social problems. 1977-
|
|

|
Sociological
Abstracts
Covers academic and professional literature in sociology and related
disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It contains information
from 2,600 international journal, serials publications, conference
papers, books, and dissertations. 1963-
|
|

|
SPORT
Discus
Comprehensive, international database containing sport and fitness
literature, 1975-
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Online
Full Text Journals
Many, but
by no means ALL, of the journals of interest in Public Health are
available online. Below is a selected list of Public Health full
text journals to which PSU has access. Most of the journals require
authentication for off campus use.
|

|
American
Journal of Public Health
R421 .A41
|
|

|
Future of children
P ublishes articles related to research and policies on the well-being
of children, such as birth weight, the environment, school issues,
welfare programs, and education.
www.futureofchildren.org
|
|

|
International electronic journal of health education
Publishes peer reviewed health education articles on the web. Subject include philosophical, qualitative
research, quantitative research, technology based applications,
and health content-based articles.
www.iejhe.org/
|
|

|
JAMA (journal of the American
Medical Association)
R15 .A48
http://jama.ama-assn.org/
|
|
| |
|
Important
Resources
These sources
don't fit into any particular category, but are important for the discipline.
|

|
Directory of Nursing Homes.
RA997 .A2D49 2000
|
|

|
Guide to the Nation's Hospices
R726.8 .G85 1998-99
|
|

|
Health Reference Series published by Omnigraphics,
Inc.
(i.e. AIDS Sourcebook, Alternative Medicine Sourcebook, Cancer Sourcebook,
Public Health Issues Sourcebook, Substance Abuse Sourcebook, and
Women’s Health Concerns Sourcebook…etc.)
Each volume is cataloged separately.
|
|

|
Medical and Health Information Directory (3 vols)
Covers organizations, agencies and institutions, publication, libraries
and other information sources, and health services. Annotated
entries with contact information and indexes are provided in each
volume.
R711 .M4 1999
|
|
| |
|
Subject
Headings
Subject
headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular
topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching
by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest
for research in Public Health. Copies of the complete set of the
Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks
throughout the library.
|
Dietetics
|
|
Epidemiology
|
|
Hospitals
|
|
Mental health
|
|
Nursing
|
|
Nutrition
|
|
Physical therapy
|
|
Public health
|
|
Wellness
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Call
Numbers
Browsing
the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating
information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood"
in the library stacks.
|
HV
|
|
R
|
|
RA
|
|
RC
|
|
RM
|
|
RS
|
|
RT
|
|
QM
|
|
QP
|
|
| |
|
Organizations
Often
the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published
by a professional society or an organization.
|
| |
|
Web
Resources
|

|
Go Ask Alice: interactive and reference information
maintained by Columbia University Health Education Dept. http://www.goaskalice.columbia.edu
|
|

|
Hardin Meta Directory of Internet Health Sources: The
University of Iowa health science library indexes and evaluates
other health directories.
A truly extensive site with an abundance of links not easily
found as well as the more common one.
http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin/md/index.html
|
|

|
Harvard School of Public Health: from Harvard public
Health NOW, including biostatisticians Crunch Data Vital to AIDS
Research, Genetics…etc.
http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/
|
|

|
Healthfinder: provides information and referral guide
to free health information from federal, state, and local agencies,
universities and not-for-profit organizations, as well as selected
commercial health care sites.
http://www.healthfinder.gov
|
 |
Kaiser
Family Foundation's State Health Facts Online.
This new resource contains the latest state-level data on demographics,
health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing,
and state legislation.
http://www.statehealthfacts.kff.org/
|
|

|
Medical Matrix: provides ranked, peer-reviewed, annotated,
up-dated, clinical medicine resources relevant to medicine, nursing,
allied health personnel as well as the general public.
http://www.medmatrix.org/index.asp
|
|

|
National Health Information Center: an index to health
resources from the government
http://www.health.gov/nhic/
|
|

|
NOAH: New York Online Access to Health Home Page: All
its resources are available in Spanish as well as in English. This site offers information on patients’
rights, support groups, pain, children’s health, home safety,
and injury prevention, as well as the expected medical conditions.
http://www.noah-health.org
|
|

|
OHSU library home page.
http://www.ohsu.edu/library
|
 |
PubMed Tags |
|

|
RXList: the Internet Drug Index: includes patient information
on prescription drugs and herbal and other alternative therapies,
links to monographs, news, and free newsletters on a wide variety
of topics.
http://relist.com
|
|

|
United States Public Health Service: link to Health & Human Services Home page. Office of
the US Surgeon General. List agencies and programs from the USA
Department of Health & Human Services.
http://www.os.dhhs.gov/phs/
|
|

|
WWW Virtual Library: Public Health—Directory
of public health links sorted topically and geographically.
http://www.ldb.org.vl/
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
Return
to Subject Resource Guides
|
| |
 |
Page
developed by:
Rose Jackson
Please send comments to:
Rose Jackson |
|
Last updated:
|