|
Introduction
Financial
and operating ratios constitute a standard of comparison for company performance.
They can be used to compare a company's performance over time or to measure
a company's performance within its specific industry. There are a number
of publications which provide ratios of particular industries or groups
of industries. A common way to arrange industries is by Standard Industrial
Classification (SIC) code. For information on SIC codes see the Standard
Industrial Classification Manual HF1042.U58 1987 2nd Floor/Ready
Reference. In January 1998, the SIC system was replaced by the North
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) HF1042 .N67
1998 2nd Floor/Ready Reference. New publications will move to this
new classification system soon. Information on NAICS,
including bridge tables between SIC and NAICS, is available from the Bureau of the Census Web site.
To
Contents
ALMANAC
OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRIAL FINANCIAL RATIOS
Prentice Hall. Annual
HF
5681 .R25 T68 2nd Floor, Ready Reference
Data extracted from U.S. IRS tax forms, C and S. IRS data are the only
publicly available source of financial information on all active corporations,
not just large, publicly traded corporations. Organized by SIC code.
CENSUS
OF MANUFACTURES
U. S. Census Bureau. Quinquennial
C3.24 4th Floor / Gov Docs
Provides
selected operating ratios for each 4-digit manufacturing SIC.
CENSUS
OF SERVICE INDUSTRIES
U.S. Census Bureau. Quinquennial
C
3.257 4th Floor / Gov Docs
(At web
site, scroll down to Service Industries)
Annual payroll per employee, employees per establishment, receipts per
employee, receipts per establishment
INDUSTRY
NORMS AND KEY BUSINESS RATIOS
Dun & Bradstreet, Inc. Annual
HD 9724.I514 2nd Floor/Ready Reference
Information from over 1 million financial statements from public and private
U.S. corporations, partnerships, and proprietorships, in all size ranges,
including over 800 different lines of business.
101
BUSINESS RATIOS: A MANAGER'S HANDBOOK OF DEFINITIONS, EQUATIONS, AND COMPUTER
ALGORITHMS
McLane Publications. c1993
HF 5657.4 .G38 1993 2nd Floor / Reference
MOODY'S
INDUSTRY REVIEW
HG4961 .M68 2nd Floor/Ready Reference
Arranged by industry, this loose-leaf service provides financial
data for top-ranked companies, including P/E ratios, etc.
RMA
ANNUAL STATEMENT STUDIES
Robert Morris Associates. Annual
HC 101.R6 2nd Floor, Ready Reference
Composite financial data on manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service,
and contracting businesses. Financial statements on each industry shown
in common form & accompanied by widely used ratios. Comparative historical
data included.
STANDARD
& POOR'S ANALYST'S HANDBOOK
HG4519 .S77 2nd Floor/Reference
Provides financial history of 80+ industry groups from the S&P500
index, including ratios.
STANDARD
& POOR'S INDUSTRY SURVEYS
Standard & Poor's Corporation
HG4905 .S66 2nd Floor/Ready Reference
Organized in industry-specific fascicles, these reports provide narrative
and quantitative analyses of domestic industries. 1,000+ companies. Ratios
are available in the Compsoite Industry Data section and and in
the Comparative Company Analysis section
To
Contents
Industry
Specific Sources
DEPARTMENT
AND SPECIALTY STORE MERCHANDISING AND OPERATING RESULTS
National Retail Merchants Association. Annual
HF5465.U5 2nd Floor / Reference, 1996
Merchandising summary reports by division and by department detail.
ENCYCLOPEDIA
OF ASSOCIATIONS
Gale Research
HS17 .E5135 2nd Floor / Reference, 1997
Provides keyword access to trade association listings and their publications.
FINANCIAL
AND OPERATING RESULTS OF RETAIL STORES
National Retail Federation. Annual
HF
5465 .U4 N33 2nd Floor / Reference, 1996
Financial & operating trends over a 10-year span.
MANUFACTURING
AND DISTRIBUTION USA
Gale Research. Annual
HD9721 .M368 2nd Floor / Reference, 2000
Comprehensive information on industrial activity for 459 manufacturing
industries. Statistical data on establishments, employment, compensation,
production & capital expenditures. Ratios for 20 important industrial
measurements. 25,000 company listings. 15-year data series, including
projections.
MERCHANDISING
& OPERATING RESULTS OF RETAIL STORES IN [year]
New York : John Wiley.
HF5465 .U5 N28 2nd Floor / Reference
NATIONAL
TRADE AND PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATIONS
Columbia Books, Inc. Annual
HD2425.D53 2nd Floor / Reference, 2000
Alphabetical lists of trade and professional associations and their publications.
Subject, geographic indices.
SERVICE
INDUSTRIES USA: INDUSTRY ANALYSES, STATISTICS, AND LEADING ORGANIZATIONS
Gale Research
HD9981.1 S47 2nd Floor / Reference, 1996
Covers 150 service industries. Includes ratios, state and metro-level
data, and projections.
STATISTICAL
YEAR BOOK OF THE ELECTRIC UTILITY INDUSTRY
Edison Electric Institute. Annual
HD9685.U5 E33 2nd Floor / Reference, 1999
Includes operating ratios for the electric utility industry.
To
Contents
Mergent Online
Provides access
to financial and management data for U.S. and international companies.
Data include company financials, histories/profiles, stock market performance,
and peer analysis.
Investext
Database providing access to reports and forecasts prepared by top Wall
Street and international brokerage firms. More than 11,000 U.S.
and international companies and 53 industries are covered.
Business
Source Premiere
Subjects covered include:Finance, Acquisitions & Mergers, International Trade,
Money Management, New Technologies & Products, Local & Regional Business
Trends, Investments and Banking. Provides full text and abstracts.
Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe
Lexis-Nexis provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal,
and reference information. For company ratios, go to Business,
then Company financial. Type in the name of the company, then use
ratios as an additional term.
To
Contents
Internet
Resources
Wall
Street Research Net
Research companies, industries, and the economy. Includes Canadian company
information.
To
Contents
Library
Home
| University Home |
Subject Guides
Revised by Bob Schroeder December 2004
|