|
ESL / Bilingual
Education
|
| |
|
Resources
of interest for the study of second language acquisition and instructional
and teaching methodologies to support language instruction.
See also
related guides education | applied
linguistics
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
Encyclopedias
Provide
excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin
research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience.
Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing
articles in which a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies
for further reading.
 |
Cambridge
Encyclopedia of Language. 2nd ed.
By David Crystal
P29 .C64 1997 |
 |
Concise
Encyclopedia of Educational Linguistics
P40.8 .C66 1999 |
 |
Encyclopedia
of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education
LC3707 .53 1998 |
 |
Encyclopedia
of Language and Linguistics. 10 vols.
Ed. By R.E. Asher.
P29 .E48 1994 |
 |
International
Encyclopedia of Linguistics. 4 vols.
Ed. By William Bright.
P29 .I58 1992 |
 |
Oxford
companion to the English language.
PE31 .O94x 1992 |
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Reference
Books
Handbooks,
dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information
specific to the subject areas addressed.
 |
Crosscultural,
language, and academic development handbook.
PE1128 .A2 D45 2002 |
 |
Dictionary
of Linguistics and Phonetics, 4th ed.
By David Crystal.
P29. C65 1997 |
 |
Dictionary
of Languages: the definitive reference to more than 400 languages.
By Andrew Dalby.
P29 .D35 1998 |
 |
Encyclopedic
Dictionary of Applied Linguistics: a Handbook for Language Teaching.
Ed. by Keith Johnson and Helen Johnson
P129 .E53 1998 |
 |
Encyclopedic
dictionary of language and languages.
P29 .C68 1992 |
 |
Handbook
of research on multicultural education.
LC1099.3 .H35 1995 |
 |
Linguistics:
a Guide to the reference literature, 2nd ed.
By Anna L. DeMiller
Z7001 . D45 2000 |
 |
Literacy:
an international handbook.
LC149 .L4956 1999 |
 |
Longman
dictionary of language teaching and applied linguistics
P129 .R5 1992 |
 |
MLA
Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
LB2369 .G53 1999 |
 |
Oxford
English Dictionary. 2nd ed.
PE1625. O87 1989
Oxford English Dictionary Second Edition on Compact Disc.1992 |
 |
Routledge
dictionary of language and linguistics.
P29 . B875 1996 |
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Databases
and Indexes
Magazine,
periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments,
research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every
discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article
level information. Once articles are identified through the database or
index search, look up the source journal in Vikat,
PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete
list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's
Online Databases pages.
 |
ComAbstracts—citations
and abstracts for articles from the primary research journals in Communication.
Coverage dates vary; most of them start in mid-1980s or early 1990s.
|
 |
Communication
Abstracts (1978- ).
P87 .C59733 |
 |
Exceptional
Child Education Resources (1969-)
Citations to books, journal articles and reports related to special
education. |
 |
Education
Full Text (1983-)
Journal articles and citations from ~400 education periodicals
Excel spreadsheet
listing journals available in full text in Professional Development
Collection and the Education Full Text databases.
|
 |
ERIC
FirstSearch
interface
EBSCOhost
interface
—provides reference to a wide variety of educational topics, including
citations to journal articles, books, theses, curricula, conference
papers, standards, guidelines…etc. 1966-
AskERIC
interface
Online
ERIC
Thesaurus
List
of journals indexed in ERIC held by PSU Library
|
 |
REI
and CIJE –These two become ERIC. 1966- |
 |
Humanities
Index—indexes and provides abstracts to over 500 English –language
journals in the humanities. 1984- |
 |
Linguistics
Abstracts: Emphasis on theory and practice of general linguistics.
P1 .A1 L5123 |
 |
Linguistics
and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (1973-)
Printed version (1967-) P1 .L15
Citations
and abstracts for books, journal articles and dissertations covering
all aspects of the study of language and linguistics including.
|
 |
MLA
Bibliography
Citations to journal articles, books, disserations on modern literatures
and languages.
|
 |
MLA International Bibliography (1921- ). Z7006 .M64 |
 |
Professional
Development Collection
Full text educator/practitioner journals. Some inclusion of ESL/Bilingual
journals.
Excel spreadsheet
listing journals available in full text in Professional Development
Collection and the Education Full Text databases.
|
 |
PsycINFO—sponsored
by American Psychological Association. It provides indexing and abstracts
for over one million articles in 1,500 journals from over 50 countries.
Abstracts for dissertation, books and book chapters are included.
1887- |
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Online
Full Text Journals
Many, but
by no means ALL, of the journals of interest in ESL are available
online. Below is a selected list of ESL full text journals to which
PSU has access. Most of the journals require
authentication for off campus use.
|
| |
|
Important Resources
These sources
don't fit into any particular category, but are important for the discipline.
 |
Compendium
of the World’s Languages, 2 vols. By George L. Campbell.
P371 .C36 1991 |
 |
Education
Resources on the Internet (formerly titled On-Line
English Grammar): a valuable and free resource for student and teachers
of English as a foreign language. http://www.edufind.com/english/grammar/
|
 |
ESL
Programs in the USA: the education guide for international
students, with profiles of hundreds of ESL programs, colleges and
universities and boarding schools in the USA. Contact and apply to
programs online! http://www.StudyUSA.com
|
 |
Multicultural
America: a resource book for teachers of humanities and American
studies: syllabi, essays, projects, and bibliography.
LC1099.3 .M8 1993 |
 |
Phonetic
Symbol guide. By Geoffrey K. Pullum and William A. Ladusaw.
P221 .P85 1986 |
|
| |
|
Subject
Headings
Subject
headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular
topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching
by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest
for research in ESL and bilingual education. Copies of the complete
set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference
desks throughout the library.
| Adult
education |
| Bilingualism |
| Communication,
International |
| Education,
Bilingual |
| English
language--ability testing |
| English
language--composition and exercises |
|
English
language--grammar
|
| English
language--pronunciation by foreign speakers |
| English
language--study and teaching--foreign speakers |
| Immigrants--Education--United
States |
|
International
education
|
| Language
acquisition |
| Language
and languages |
| Language
and languages--study and teaching |
| Language
policy |
| Linguistic
minorities |
| Literacy--United
States |
| Multicultural
education |
| Second
language acquisition |
| Second
language acquisition--computer--assisted instruction |
| Teachers
of English to Speakers of Other Languages |
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Call
Numbers
Browsing
the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating
information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood"
in the library stacks.
| LB1576
Elementary Education: the teaching of the English Language
as the mother tongue. |
| LB1579
Elementary Education: the teaching of the English Language
as a non-mother tongue. |
| LC1099
Multicultural education (General) |
| LC
3701-3740 Bilingual Education |
| LC5225
Education extension; Adult education; Continuing Education--Special
Topics. |
| LC5251
Education extension; Adult education; Continuing Education--United
States, General Works |
| P35
General Linguistics |
| P40.5
Socio-lingistics--special topics |
| P51-53
General Linguistics |
| P118
Language Acquisition |
| PE1068
Study and Teaching of Modern English Language |
| PE1121
Modern English Language--intermediate and advanced
readers |
| PE1128
English as a Second Language--Teaching and Readers. |
| PE1157-59
Modern English Language Alphabet |
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Organizations
Often
the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published
by a professional society or an organization.
 |
AAAL
(American Association for Applied Linguistics)
http://aaal.org/ |
 |
ASHA
(American Speech Language Hearing Association) http://www.asha.org/
|
 |
CAL
(Center for Applied Linguistics)
http://www.cal.org/ |
 |
Center
for the Advancement of Language Learning
Foreign language learning resources and links are collected for learners
and teachers. Includes links to periodicals in popular and less common
foreign languages.
http://www.language-learning.net/cgi-bin/show/US/orgs/orgSeite47.htm
|
 |
Language
Education Association
http://www.languagebooks.com/ |
 |
NCBE
(National Clearinghouse for Bilingual Education): funded by U.S. Department
of Education.
National Center for Research on Cultural Diversity and Second Language
Learning
http://www.ncela.gwu.edu/links/biesl/index.htm |
 |
NCATE
(National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education) http://ncate.org/
|
 |
NCLE
(National Center for ESL Literacy Education) http://www.cal.org/ncle/
|
 |
TESOL
(Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages) http://www.tesol.org/
|
Go
to top of page
|
| |
|
Web
Resources
Go
to top of page
|
| |
Return
to Subject Resource Guides
|
| |
 |
Page
developed by:
Rosalind Wang
|
|
Last updated:
October 15, 2003
|