PSU Library logo

 

Social Work Resources

 

Sections of this guide:
Encyclopedias   |  Reference Works  |   Databases and Indexes
| Subject Headings   |     Call Numbers   |   Organizations & Societies | Other Important Resources     |    Web Resources

 

 

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing in which articles a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.

book

 

Encyclopedia of Social Work (Revised every 3 years)
HV35 .S6
book Encyclopedia of Aging, 2nd ed.
HQ1061 .E53 1995
book Encyclopedia of Marriage & the Family
HQ9 .E52 1995
book Encyclopedia of Family Life
HQ534 .E53 1999
book International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
(on order)
book Encyclopedia of Social Issues
HN57 .E59 1997
book Encyclopedia of Relationships Across the Lifespan
HM32 .T83 1996

Go to top of page

 

Reference Books

Handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.
book Social Work Dictionary, 4th ed.
HV12 .B37 1999
book Social Work Almanac, 2ND ed.
HV90 .G53 1995
book Older Americans Almanac
HQ1064 .U5 O416 1994
book Statistical Handbook on the American Family, 2nd ed.
HQ536 .S727 1999
book Statistical Record of Children
HQ767.8 .S73 1994
book Statistical Record of Older Americans, 2nd ed.
HQ1064 .U5 S697 1996
book State Nonprofit Almanac 1997: Profiles of Charitable Organizations
HV85 .S73 1997
book Welfare Reform: A Reference Handbook
HV95 .H554. 1996
book Homelessness in America
HV4505 .H652 1996

Go to top of page

 

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.
psu-only access via the web Social Work Abstracts
psu-only access via the web PsycInfo
psu-only access via the web EbscoHost
psu-only access via the web Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
psu-only access via the web Ageline
psu-only access via the web Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
psu-only access via the web Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)
psu-only access via the web Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS)
psu-only access via the web Criminal Justice Abstracts
psu-only access via the web Sociological Abstracts

Go to top of page

 

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in social work. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library. 
 

 
  Adoption
  Aged
  Aging
  Child Welfare
  Community Organization
  Counseling
  Cross-Cultural Counseling
  Family Counseling
  Family Social Work
  Family Psychotherapy
  Group Counseling
  Medical Social Work
  Mental Health Services
  Old Age
  Old Age Assistance
  Poor Laws
  Psychiatric Social Work
  Public Welfare
  Social Casework
  Social Service
  Social Services
  Social Welfare
  Social Work
  Social Workers
  Welfare Services
  Welfare State

 

Go to top of page

 

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
  HV1 - HV4699
  RC450 - 488
  RJ401 - 499

 

Go to top of page

 

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society 
or an organization.
book Encyclopedia of Associations
HS17 .E5135
www resource National Association of Social Workers (NASW) http://www.naswdc.org/
www resource NASW - Oregon Chapter
http://www.earthlink.net/~nasw/
www resource National Indian Child Welfare Association
http://nicwa.org/
www resource Council on Social Work Education
http://cswe.org/
www resource Child Welfare League of America
http://cwla.org/

 

Go to top of page

 

Important Resources

These sources don't fit any particular category, but are important for the discipline.
book Human Services Directory of Multnomah County
HV89 .D5235
book Human Services Directory of Washington County
HV89 .D5236 2000
book Human Services Directory of Self-Help Groups
HV89 .S43 1999
book Violence Prevention Resource Manual.
(Published by the Oregon Health Division, Multnomah County Health Department, and the Oregon Public Health Association.)
HN79 .O73 V58 1996
book Summary Information on Master of Social Work. Programs (1994) - 1999 on order.
HV11 .A2 C65 (4th fl.)
book Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
BF76.7 .P83 2001

 

Go to top of page

 

Web Resources

www resource National Aging Information Center
http://www.aoa.dhhs.gov/naic/default.htm
www resource National Coalition for the Homeless http://www.nationalhomeless.org/
www resource Social Work Resources: About.com
http://socialwork.about.com/
www resource SWAN: Social Work Access Network
http://www.sc.edu/swan/
www resource Shirley's Social Work Web Resources
http://kml.uindy.edu/resources/socialwork/intro1.html
www resource Social Work & Social Services Web Site
http://gwbweb.wustl.edu/websites.html
www resource Social Work Search.Com
http://www.socialworksearch.com
www resource World Wide Web Resources for Social Workers
http://www.nyu.edu/socialwork/wwwrsw/
www resource Child Welfare Training Resources Online Network
http://www.childwelfaretraining.org/
www resource The New Social Worker: The Magazine for Social Work Students & Recent Graduates [free]
http://www.socialworker.com/

Go to top of page

 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 

 

 

 

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home
Page developed and maintained by:
Faye Powell
 
Last updated: