
For more resources on teaching, see the Education
subject guide. For more resources on linguistics, see the Applied
Linguistics subject guide.
Concise
Oxford Spanish Dictionary (English-Spanish)
Concise
Oxford Spanish Dictionary (Spanish-English)
Oxford
Business Spanish Dictionary (English-Spanish)
Oxford
Business Spanish Dictionary (Spanish-English)
Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning
REF P51 .R66 2000
Chronologiá de la Literatura Española
REF PQ6038 .C76 1991
Dictionario de la Literatur a Latino-Americana
REF PQ7081 .P27
Dictionary of Mexican literature
REF PQ7106 .D53 1992
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
REF PQ7081 .A1 E56 1997
Gales
Literary Index
Reference Index, Z6511 .G35.
A master index to 43 literary series published by Gale. Use this resource
to find biographical entries on authors and critical analysis of literary
works. Indexes such resources as Contemporary World Writers,
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century, Hispanic
Literature Criticism, Hispanic Writers, Latin American
Writers, Reference Guide to World Literature, Twayne's
World Authors, World Literature and Its Times, and World
Literature Criticism.
Modern Latin American Literature
REF PQ 7081 .F63 1975
Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature
REF PQ6006 .O95
The Year's Work in Modern Language Studies
Shelves PB1 .Y45

MLN
(Modern Language Notes) 1886-1994
1995-present
through Project Muse
Over a century ago, MLN pioneered the introduction of contemporary
continental criticism into American scholarship. Its reputation for
high standards and excellent quality continue into the new millennium.
Critical studies in the modern languages (Italian, Hispanic, German,
French) and recent work in comparative literature are the basis for
the articles and notes in MLN. The journal publishes four single-language
issues and one comparative literature issue.
Online
Publications From and About Latin America
http://www.lib.utsa.edu/Research/Subject/latinamericapubs.html
Project
Muse: Scholarly journals online
Holds over 100 full text scholarly journals online in the arts &
humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics. The back files for
the journals are scant. Important for this subject are Comparative
Literature Studies (1999-present), Hopscotch:
A Cultural Review (2001-2002), Language
(2001-present), Linguistic
Inquiry (2000-present), and Studies
in Philology (2003).
Spanish
Language News and Newspapers
http://libraries.mit.edu/guides/types/flnews/spanish.html

To find articles on a specific topic in journals, magazines,
or newspapers, you will need to use one of the Library's print indexes
or article databases. An index or article database will allow you to look
for articles by title, by author, or by a few keywords that describe your
topic.
Fuente
Academica
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals
from renowned Latin American, South American and Spanish publishers.
This database provides full text coverage (including PDF) for more
than 150 scholarly Spanish language journals. Content is provided
in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide.
HAPI, Hispanic American periodicals index
Location: 1990-Present REF Z1605 .H16; 1970/4-1989 Shelves Z1605 .H16
Contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews,
documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing
in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published
throughout the world about Central and South America, Mexico, the
Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics
in the United States since 1970. HAPI citations are in English, Spanish,
Portuguese, French, German, and other languages. HAPI citations do
not include abstracts.
HLAS (Handbook of Latin
American Studies) Online
Location: http://lcweb2.loc.gov/hlas/
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works
selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division
of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates
annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year,
more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works
for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936,
the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available
resources. More information on the history of the Handbook can be
found in a paper written for the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin
American Library Materials (SALALM) annual meeting in 1996.
Humanities
Index 1984-present
AI3 .H8, Print edition in Reference covers 1975-present.
Citations to about English-language periodicals in the areas of archaeology,
classical studies, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music,
linguistics, literature, and religion. Provides article citations
to the major journals in these disciplines.
Linguistics
and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
P1 .L15, Print edition in Reference covers 1994-present; volumes for
1983-1993 are on the 4th floor.
This resource covers all aspects of the study of language and linguistics.
MLA
International Bibliography 1963-present
Z7006 .M64, Print edition in Reference covers the years 1921-?
For literature as a whole, this is the single most important bibliography.
The Modern Language Association's bibliography covers literature,
languages, linguistics and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series
published worldwide.

Vikat, the online
catalog, will help you locate books in PSU's library. You can search
by keyword, but often subject heading searching can be more productive.
Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research
in Spanish. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject
Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library.
Most books are located on the 4th floor of Millar Library under the
call numbers beginning with PC4000 (Spanish language) and PQ6000-8000
(Spanish literature) and PB1 (language learning).
Subject headings:
Spanish Literature
Spanish Language
Ethnic groups -- [country]
Ethnic relations --[country]
[name of country]
For literary criticism, use the term "Criticism" and the
name of an author or title in the catalog to find books analyzing specific
author's works. For example: enter criticism Cervantes as a general
keyword search in the catalog. Other useful subject headings may include:
Literature - History and Criticism, Rhetoric, Deconstruction, Feminist
Criticism, Formalism, and Literary Analysis.
Summit
If you are not able to find what you need in VIKAT, do the same
searches in SUMMIT, the catalog of the Orbis-Cascade Alliance. You can
request items through SUMMIT and they will be delivered to Millar Library
for you in two working days.
WorldCat
If you have no luck in Vikat or Summit, try WorldCat. This resource
contains more than 30 million records for materials cataloged by the
libraries around the world, including most academic and many public
libraries in the U.S. Items found here can be requested through Interlibrary
Loan, directly through the catalog.
Electronic
Text Collections in Western European Literature - Spanish
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/wess/etexts.html#spanish
American Association of Teachers
of Spanish and Portuguese
http://www.aatsp.org/
Biographical dictionary of Hispanic literature in the United
States: the literature of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and other
Hispanic writers
REF PQ7420.2 .K3 1989
Latin American
Studies Association
http://lasa.international.pitt.edu/
Latin American Writers
REF PQ7081 .A1 L37 1989
MLA - Modern Language Association
http://www.mla.org/
Voice of the Shuttle
http://vos.ucsb.edu/shuttle/litother.html
iLoveLanguages
http://www.ilovelanguages.com
Lanic: Hispanic/Latino (University of Texas)
http://lanic.utexas.edu/la/region/hispanic/
Stanford's
Spanish and Portuguese Links
http://www.stanford.edu/dept/span-port/links/#
|