PSU Library logo

 

Special Education

 

Resources of interest in special education and disabilities studies

See also related guides education | psychology | social work |
speech and hearing

 

 

Sections of this guide:
Encyclopedias   |  Reference Works  |   Databases and Indexes
| Subject Headings|     Call Numbers   |  Organizations & Societies | Other Important Resources  |   Web Resources

book Books in PSU Library; psu-only access via the web an online licensed resource limited to PSU users (requires proxy server authentication for remote users); CD ROM source a resource on a computer in the PSU Library Research and Learning Center on the 2nd floor of the Library; www resource a resource on the Web.

 

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing in which articles a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.
book Encyclopedia Of Disability And Rehabilitation
book Encyclopedia Of Special Education : A Reference For The Education Of The Handicapped And Other Exceptional Children And Adults
book The Family Encyclopedia Of Child Psychology And Development
book Encyclopedia of Human Behavior
book The Gale encyclopedia of medicine
book Gallaudet Encyclopedia Of Deaf People And Deafness
book

Handbook of Child Psychology
v. 1. Theoretical models of human development /
v. 2. Cognition, perception, and language /
v. 3. Social, emotional, and personality development / v. 4. Child psychology in practice

book Handbook Of Child And Adolescent Psychiatry
V. 1. Infants And Preschoolers : Development And       Syndromes
V. 2. The Grade School Child : Development And       Syndromes
V. 3. Adolescence : Development And Syndromes
V. 4. Varieties Of Development
V. 5. Clinical Assessment And Intervention Planning
V. 6. Basic Psychiatric Science And Treatment
V. 7. Advances And New Directions
www resource Medline Plus Health Topics Encyclopedia

Go to top of page

 

Reference Books

Handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.
book The Blackwell Dictionary Of Cognitive Psychology
book Comprehensive Textbook Of Psychiatry/VI
book Diagnostic And Statistical Manual Of Mental Disorders : DSM-IV.

www resource  Brief descriptions of disorders and syndromes.
book International Dictionary Of Medicine And Biology
book Learning Disabilities Sourcebook
book Magill's medical guide : health and illness
book Principles of Internal Medicine
book Resource Guide To Special Education : Terms, Laws, Assessment Procedures, Organizations
book Stedman's Medical Dictionary
book Health Reference Series

Go to top of page

 

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.
psu-only access via the web

Exceptional Child Education Resource
"ECER, Exceptional Child Education Resources, is the proprietary database of The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC), ERIC EC's host organization. It is devoted exclusively to the published professional literature in special education, gifted education, and related services."
"Some overlap exists between the ECER and ERIC databases. Approximately half of the database records that go into ECER also appear in ERIC. This overlap applies primarily to unpublished documents (curriculum and teaching guides, reports, etc.) and articles in core special educational journals."
See http://www.ericec.org/ecer-db.html for more complete description of the differences between ERIC and ECER.

psu-only access via the web

ERIC Database (Ebscohost)
ERIC is THE major database for education (including special education).

www resource  Department of Ed's interface to ERIC

www resource ERIC Thesaurus online

psu-only access via the web Professional Development Collection
Provides " abstract and index coverage for over 585 well-known professional development titles, and searchable full text for 504 journals covering the most current topics in the field of education."
psu-only access via the web Health Source Plus
Provides consumer health information
psu-only access via the web PsycINFO
The psychological and related disciplines literature. This database is particularly strong for human and child development topics
psu-only access via the web CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
The CINAHL (Nursing & Allied Health) database provides comprehensive coverage of the English language journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines. Focus is more towards clinical and research rather than in school settings.
www resource Medline (PubMed interface)
A database providing citations to the medical research literature. (Ovid interface)
psu-only access via the web Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Provides citations to journal articles about measures and instruments. Helpful in identifying instruments and assessing their value.
psu-only access via the web Mental Measurements Yearbook
Primary source for identifying tests and measures. Includes test descriptions and extensive scholarly test reviews.

Go to top of page

 

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in special education and specific disabilities. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library. 
 
 
special education
developmentally disabled children
gifted children
learning disabilities
exceptional children
Down syndrome

children with disabilities
(prior to ~1999:physically handicapped children)

hearing impaired children

children with visual disabilities

 

Go to top of page

 

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.

RC 321-571 Neurology and Psychiatry, Neuropsychiatry
RC 346-429 Neurology, Diseases of the Nervous System (including speech disorders)
RC 554 -569.5 Personality Disorders, Behavior Problems
RC 569.7-571 Mental Retardation
RE 48 Blindness in Children
RF 110-320 Otology, Diseases of the Ear
RJ Pediatrics
RJ 496 language, speech and hearing disorders and development
RJ 138-134 Developmental Disabilities
LC 3950-4806.5 Exceptional Children and Youth, Special Education
BF 712-724.85 Developmental Psychology
BF 721-723 Child Psychology
HQ 767.8-792.2 Children, Child Development (including child rearing, child life, play, socialization, children's rights)
HV Social Service to:
     701-1420.5 Children
     873-887 Destitute, Neglected, and Abandoned                     Children
      888-907 Handicapped Children
      1421 -1441 Young Adults, Youth, Teenagers
      1551-3024 Persons with disabilities (including blind, deaf,        persons with physical and mental disabilities)

 

Go to top of page

 

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society 
or an organization.
www resource Council for Exceptional Children
www resource Oregon Department of Education, Office of Special Education
www resource American Foundation for the Blind
www resource National Center for Accessible Media
www resource U.S. Dept. of Education. Office of Special Education Programs

 

Go to top of page

 

Important Resources

These sources don't fit any particular category, but are important for the discipline.
www resource IDEA Practices
www resource Web Accessibilty in Mind

 

Go to top of page

 

Web Resources

www resource ERIC/OSEP Special Project
Research briefs from U.S. Dept. of Education Office of Special Education funded projects.
www resource National State Policy Database
www resource Large Print and Speech Access to the World Wide Web
www resource Council for Exceptional Children
Portal for special and gifted education resources. Former Special Education ERIC clearinghouse.
www resource Family Village
www resource National Information Center for Children and Youth with Disabilities
www resource National Dissemination Center for Children with Disabilities
      Curriculum Resources
www resource Blindness Resource Center

Go to top of page

 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 

 

 

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home

Send comments to:
Sarah Beasley
 
Last updated: