PSU Library Logo
 
 

Speech and Hearing Disorders

   

Sections of this guide:
Encyclopedias   |  Reference Works  |   Databases and Indexes
| Subject Headings   
Call Numbers
  |   Organizations & Societies
| Other Important Resources 
Web Resources

 

   

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing in which articles a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.
book Concise Encyclopedia of Language Patahology
RC423 .C656 1999
book

Encyclopedia of Special Education (3 vol.)
LC4007.E53

book Concise Encyclopedia of Language Pathology
RC423.C656 1999

Go to top of page

   

Reference Books

Handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.
book Assessment in Special-Language Pathology: A Resource Manual
RC423.S49 1998
book Comprehensive Dictionary of Audiology Illustrated
RF291.S73 1997
book Dictionary of Communication Disorders
RC423.M597 1997
book Directory of Speech-Language Pathology Assessment Instruments
RC423.D555
book Handbook of Clinical Speech Physiology
QP306.B28 1999
book Quick Reference of Speech-Language Pathology
RC423.P665 1999
book Singular Illustrated Dictionary of Audiology
BF290.M464 1999
book Special-Language Pathology Desk Reference
RC423.R586 1998
book Tests and measurements in speech-language pathology
RC423 .T435 2001
psu-only access via the web Merck Manual

Go to top of page

 

   

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.
book Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography 1928
HQ750.A1 C47
book Communication Abstract 1978
P87.C59733
psu-only access via the web

Dissertation Abstracts
Z5055.U5 A53 1969-

book Education Index 1929-
Z5813.E23
psu-only access via the web Education Abstracts Full Text 1996-
psu-only access via the web ERIC (Also available in print on the 2nd Floor)
via First Search
psu-only access via the web Exceptional Child Education Resources (ECER)
book Index Medicas 1960-
Z6660.I42
psu-only access via the web Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), 1973-
psu-only access via the web Medline
psu-only access via the web Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
psu-only access via the web PsycInfo 1889-

Go to top of page

 

   

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in speech and hearing. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library. 
 
 
  Acoustics
  Alexia
  Aphasia
  Articulation Disorder
  Audiology
  Communication Disorder
  Communicative Disorder
  Deafness
  Hearing impaired
  Sign Language
  Speech Disorders-Rehabilitation
  Speech Therapy
  Speech-Language Pathology
  Stuttering
  Voice Disorder
  Word Deafness

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
  HV2350 - HV2990.5
  LC3950 - LC3990
  RC394
  RC423 - RC428.8
  RF286 - RF320
  RF510 - RF540
  RJ496

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society 
or an organization.
www source American Academy of Audiology
http://www.audiology.com
www source Canadian Association of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists (CASLPA)
http://www.caslpa.ca/english/index.asp
www source Council for Exceptional Children
http://www.acadcom.com
book Encyclopedia of Associations
HS17.E5135
www source National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
http://www.nidcd.nih.gov

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Important Resources

These sources don't fit any particular category, but are important for the discipline.
www source ASHA Directory
http://www.asha.org
www source Clearinghouse for Subject-Oriented Internet Resource Guides
http://www.clearinghouse.net
www source Deaf Resource Library
http://www.deaflibrary.org
book Directory for Exceptional Children
LC4007.D5
book Directory of Bilingual Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists
RC423.A44
book Directory, Resources for Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
HE20.3037/2:D34
www source Gallaudet University Homepage
http://www.gallaudet.edu
book How to find Health in Formation on the Internet
RA773.6.M39 1998
www source NORD: National Organization for Rare Disorders
http://www.rarediseases.org/

 

Go to top of page

 

   

Web Resources

www source American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
http://professional.asha.org
www source Judith Kuster's Net Connection for Communication Disorders and Sciences
http://www.communicationdisorders.com
www source National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
http://www.nidcd.nih.gov
www source National Parkinson Foundation
http://www.parkinson.org
www source Useful Internet Resources: Meta links hearing and hearing disorders
http://www.ifhoh.org/internet.htm

Go to top of page

 

 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 

 

  PSU Library Home

Page developed by:
Rosalind Wang

 

Last updated: