PSU Library logo

 

Theater and Drama

 

See also related guides: Film, Television and Radio

Sections of this guide:
Encyclopedias   |  Reference Works  |   Databases and Indexes
| Subject Headings    |     Call Numbers   |  Organizations & Societies | Other Important Resources 

 

 

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing in which articles a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.

book

 

McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of world drama, 2d ed.
PN1625 .M3 1984, 5 volumes (Reference)

Contains entries for individual playwrights (biographical information, critique of works), extensive articles on national and ethnic theater traditions and on theater in individual countries or areas, with emphasis on performance-related topics. Includes title entries for anonymous plays and articles on theater companies. There are extensive bibliographies with each article, a glossary of terms (p. 215-264) and, in volume 5, a play title list and general index. Good illustrations.
book

The encyclopedia of the New York stage, 1940-1950 PN2277 .N5 L365 1992
The encyclopedia of the New York stage, 1930-1940
PN2277 .N5 L364 1989
The encyclopedia of the New York stage, 1920-1930 PN2277 .N5 L36 1985, 2 volumes

Each volume includes a calendar of productions, play categories, awards, sources of plays, foreign companies and stars, lists of longest running plays, seasonal statistics and theater statistics. Arranged by title of play, giving personnel. Critical description of show, including contemporaneous critical appraisals, brief plot summary. Samuel L. Leiter, ed.

book The encyclopedia of the American theatre, 1900-1975
ed. by Edwin Bronner
PN2266 .B68

Arranged by titles of plays written or adapted by American or Anglo-American authors and produced on Broadway or off-Broadway 1900-75. Gives date of opening, theater, number of performances, synopsis or statement of play's theme and brief evaluation, principal players, author, producer, director, and notes on revivals. Musicals are not included. Screen versions are cited. Personal name index.
book Enciclopedia dello spettacolo
PN1625 .E7, 9 volumes

Covers the "grand spectacle" from antiquity to the present--includes opera, theater, ballet, motion pictures, vaudeville, the circus, etc.
book The encyclopedia of world theater
PN2035 .E52 1977

Brief entries on actors and actresses, playwrights, directors, designers, types of drama, theatrical institutions, awards, etc.
book

The reader's encyclopedia of world drama
John Gassner
PN1625 .G3 1969

Entries for playwrights, selected titles and types of drama. Brief historical surveys of theatrical development in individual countries.

Go to top of page

 

Reference Books

Handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables; detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.
book Popular entertainment research: how to do it and how to use it
Barbara J. Pruett
PN1576 .P78 1992

Includes database searching, interviewing, "small town research." Covers general entertainment, theater, popular music and recorded sound, film research, broadcast research, collecting, etc.
book

Performing arts research; a guide to information sources
Marion Whalon
Z6935 .W5 (Reference)

Annotated guide in several sections: (1) guides; (2) dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks; (3) directories; (4) play indexes and finding lists; (5) sources for reviews of plays and motion pictures; (6) bibliographies, indexes and abstracts; (7) illustrative audiovisual sources.

book The performing arts: a guide to the reference literature Linda Keir Simons
Z6935 .S56 1994 (Reference)

Includes theater, dance and drama. Lists guides, bibliographies, catalogs, indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias and companions, handbooks and yearbooks, directories, review sources, chronologies and histories, electronic discussion groups, core periodicals, libraries and archives, professional organizations and societies.
book The New York Public Library performing arts desk reference
PN1584 .N49 1994

Covers theater, music and dance with a glossary of terms for each discipline; an article on dramatic structure, biographies of major writers and synopses of major plays. Articles on production and a list of major theaters and companies; directing and biographies of directors; acting and biographies of actors. Short historical essays on world theater, forms of theater, drama criticism, film, theater awards, and funding sources/grants. List of theater reference books, magazines, libraries, museums, and other theater organizations.
book International dictionary of theatre
PN2035 .I49 1992 (Reference)
3 vols.: Vol. 1: Plays. Vol. 2: Playwrights. Vol. 3: Actors, directors, and designers.
book The Oxford companion to the theatre
PN2035 .H3 1983 (Refenece)
book The Cambridge guide to the theatre
PN2035 .C27 1995 (Refenece)
book An International dictionary of theatre language
ed. by Joel Trapido
PN2035 .I5 1985 (Reference)
book

Performing arts books, 1876-1981: including an international index of current serial publications
Z6935 .P43 (Reference)

50,000 entries for books by subject with author and title indexes.

book English theatrical literature, 1559-1900: a bibliography
James F. Arnott
Z2014 .D7 A74 1970 (Reference)

Annotated list of theatrical literature (vs dramatic literature--does not include plays and critical accounts of them). Subject arrangement.
book Theatre and allied arts: a guide to books dealing with the history, criticism, and technic of the drama and theatre and related arts and crafts
Blanch M. Baker
Z5781 .B18 (Reference)

Annotated list of 6000 titles in 3 parts (1) drama, theatre, and actors (2) stagecraft and allied arts (3) Misc. reference material. Each part subdivided by subject or geographical region. Items included were published 1885-1948 with a few later titles.
book Bibliographic guide to theatre arts, 1975-1986.
Z6935 .N46a (Reference)

Annual list of materials newly cataloged by the NY Public Library and by the Library of Congress.
book A guide to reference and bibliography for theatre research
Claudia Jean Bailey
Z5781 .L87 (Reference)
book Variety obituaries : including a comprehensive index
(1905-1995)
PN1583 .V35 1988 (Reference)

Reprints, in chronological order, obituaries originally appearing in Variety, of showbusiness personalities, giving biographical data as well as performing, directing, producing, etc., credits. Name index in final volume.
book A reference guide for English studies
Michael J. Marcuse
PN56 .M37 1990 (Reference)
book

Literary research guide: an annotated listing of reference sources in English literary studies, 3rd ed.
James L. Harner
Z2011 .H34 1998 (Reference)

Excellent guide to doing research in literature (including theater and drama). "Identifies reference tools essential for the study of American and British literatures, other literatures in English, and related topics."

Go to top of page

 

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.

book

psu-only access via the web

MLA international bibliography (1921-present)
Z7006 .M64 (3rd floor Index Tables)

MLA international bibliography (1963-present)

MLA Bibliography covers literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide. From the Modern Language Association.
book International bibliography of theatre. IBT (1982-present)
Z6935 .I53 (Reference)

An essential source for theater research. Lists theater books, book articles, dissertations, journal articles and other documents dealing with "any aspect of theatre significant to research, without historical, cultural or geographical limitations." Entries may come from theater histories, essays, studies, surveys, conference papers and proceedings, catalogs of theatrical holdings, portfolios, handbooks and guides, dictionaries, bibliographies, and other reference works, records and production documents.

Does not include reprints or purely literary scholarship. Texts of plays are excluded unless they appear with "extensive or especially noteworthy introductory materials, or when the text is the first translation or adaptation of a classic from an especially rare language into a major language." Book reviews and reviews of performances are not included, "except for reviews of sufficient scope to constitute a review article, or clusters of reviews published under one title."

Entries arranged by subject classification (Theatre in General, Dance, Dance-Drama, Drama, Media [including Film], Mixed Entertainment, Music-Drama, Puppetry) with subject sub-headings. Extensive subject index and Geographical-Chronological Index. Document Authors Index and lists of periodicals indexed.
book International index to film periodicals (1972-present) Z5784 .M9 I49 (Reference)

Indexes 85 film periodicals selected for their value to film research and scholarship.
book Biography index
Z5301 .B5 (Reference)

Indexes biographical information appearing in more than 2,700 periodicals and books of individual and collected biographies.
book Biography and genealogy master index (1980-present)
Z5305 .U5 B57 (Reference)

An index to more than 300,000 biographical sketches in biographical dictionaries.

book

psu-only access via the web

Humanities index (April, 1974-present)
AI3 .H8 (Reference)

Humanities Index
Journals in Humanities Index held by PSU.
book Arts & humanities citation index (1974-present)
AI3 .A75 (Reference)

Allows searching of references cited in books and journal articles as well as author, title and subject searching.

book

psu-only access via the web

Essay and general literature index (1900-1996)
AI3 .E752 (Reference)

Essay and General Literature Index 
psu-only access via the web Inter-Play: an on-line index to plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals. http://www.lib.pdx.edu/systems/interplay

An index to the complete texts of plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals in the PSU Library.
psu-only access via the web WorldCat
http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=WorldCat&done=referer

Contains more than 30 millions records for materials cataloged by the Library of Congress and OCLC member libraries, including most academic and many public libraries in the U.S. Catalog includes books, serials (journals, magazines and newspapers), musical scores, recordings, videos, computer software, films, maps and manuscripts. Locations for all materials are cited. Can be searched by author, title, subject, year, language, material type.
psu-only access via the web Dissertation abstracts international. (Dissertations 1861-present; Masters Theses, 1988-present)
psu-only access via the web Academic search premier (1984-present)

Provides full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
psu-only access via the web ArticleFirst (1990-present)

Contains nearly two million bibliographic records from the tables of contents of more than 3,000 journals, covering a broad range of subjects including business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, and technology. Most journals in ArticleFirst have been indexed from 1990 to the present.
psu-only access via the web ContentsFirst (1990-present)

Contains approximately two million bibliographic records from the tables of contents more than 13,000 journals, covering a broad range of subjects, including business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, and technology. Most journals in ContentsFirst have been indexed from 1990 to the present.
psu-only access via the web Ingenta (Fall, 1988-present)

In March 2000, ingenta acquired UnCover, a resource for the search and delivery of research articles. The database provides information about current articles published in ~26,000 journals. Coverage is drawn from all disciplines. As well as a source for article citations, articles may be purchased from ingenta.

Go to top of page

 

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in theater. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library. 
 

 
  Acting
  Acting--auditions
  Acting--vocational guidance
  Actors
  Actors, Black
  Actresses
  Afro American actors
  Architectural acoustics
  American drama
  American drama--Afro American dramatists
  Authors and the theater
  Black theater
  Copyright--drama
  Copyright--performing rights
  Costume
  Dance
  Ballet
  Choreography
  Jazz dance
  Modern Dance
  Movement notation
  Music and dance
  Tap dancing
  Etc.
  Drama
  Drama--dictionaries
  Drama--history and criticism--bibliography
  Dramatists
  English drama
  English language--dialects
  English language--slang
  Expression
  Gesture
  Monologues
  Performing arts
  Playbills
  Set designers
  Scene painting
  Stage
  Stage fright
  Stage lighting
  Stage machinery
  Stage management
  Stage photography
  Theater
  Theater--dictionaries
  Theater and society
  Theater architecture
  Theaters
  Theaters--decorations
  Theaters--fire and fire prevention
  Theaters--sound effects
  Theaters--stage setting and scenery

 

Go to top of page

 

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
  P1-1091 Philology and Linguistics (General)
  PA Classical languages and literature
  PG Slavic. Baltic. Albanian language and literature
  PH Finno-Ugrian, Basque languages and literature
  PJ Oriental (Middle East) languages and literature
  PK Indo-Iranian languages and literature
  PL Languages and literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania e.g. Japanese language and literature in PL501-889, Chinese in PL1001-3207
  PN Literary history and collections (General) e.g. PN1600-3300 includes Theater and Drama
  PQ Romance literatures e.g. French in PQ1-3999, Spanish in PQ6001-8929
  PR English literature
  PS American literature
  PT Germanic literature
  PZ Juvenile literature

 

Go to top of page

 

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society 
or an organization.
www resource Theater libraries & organizations
(from Indiana U. Bloomington Libraries)
http://www.indiana.edu/~libhper/DTD/theatersublibandorg.html
A list with links to web sites.
www resource Drama publishers
(from Indiana U. Bloomington Libraries) http://www.indiana.edu/~libhper/DTD/theatersubpublishers.html
A list with links to publishers' web sites
www resource Performing Arts Online http://www.performingarts.net/Links/resources.html
A directory of online resources and organizations, with links to web sites.
www resource Actors' Equity Association
http://www.actorsequity.org/
www resource Screen Actor's Guild
http://www.sag.com/
www resource Writers Guild of America
http://www.wga.org/
www resource The United States Institute for Theatre Technology http://www.ffa.ucalgary.ca/usitt/
"The association of design, production and technology professionals in the performing arts and entertainment industry."
www resource League of American Theatres and Producers http://www.broadway.org/about.html
National trade association for the American theater.
www resource World Entertainment Technology Federation
http://www.esta.org/worldetfpr.html
A federation of world entertainment technology associations.

 

Go to top of page

 

Important Resources

These sources don't fit any particular category, but are important for the discipline.
book

English books, 1641-1700
PR1127 .U5 (Microfilm)
English books, 1475-1640
PR1101 .U5 (Microfilm)

Two microfilm collections containing full-text reproductions of printed materials from England, 1473-1700. The PSU online catalog has records for all titles in these collections, citing microfilm reel number and item number on the reel. e.g. PR1127 .U5 259:E.200 (reel 259, item number 200)

book Ottemiller's index to plays in collections: an author and title index to plays appearing in collections published between 1900 and 1985, 7th ed.
Z5781 .O8 1988 (Reference)
book Play Index. (1949/52-1988/92)
Z5781 .P53 (Reference)
book Chicorel theater index to plays in collections, anthologies, periodicals, and discs in England
ed. by Marietta Chicorel.
Z5781 .C486 (1972) (Reference)

Contains references to many obscure plays, including some unpublished titles.
book Index to plays in periodicals
Dean H. Keller
Z5781 .K43 1979
Index to plays in periodicals, 1977-1987
Dean H. Keller
Z5718 .K43 1990
( Reference)
book Drury's guide to best plays, 4th ed.
Z5781.D8 1987 (Reference)

Includes plot summaries, a cast index, index by subject of the play, a list of prize plays, and a selection guide for potential producers.
book Best plays of [1899-present].
PN6112 .B45

Excerpts and extended summaries of major plays from the current season. Notes awards, number of performances, photographs and some actors' biographies.
book New York Times theater reviews (1870-1995/96)
PN1581 .N4 (Reference)

Contains reprints of theater reviews from the New York Times.
book Book Review Index (1965-present)
Z1035 .A1 B6 (Reference)
book Book Review Digest (vol. 51, 1955-present)
Z1219 .C95 (Reference)
book Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities (1960-1990) Z1035 .A1 I63 (Reference)
book Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974. 10 vols.
Z1035 .A1 C65 (Reference)
book Combined retrospective index to book reviews in scholarly journals, 1886-1974. 15 vols.
Z1035 .A1 C64 (Reference)
www resource Indiana University Bloomington Dance, Theater and Drama Resources
http://www.indiana.edu/~libhper/DTD/

An excellent site with comprehensive coverage of theater, dance and drama topics, including a list of online resources for production/stage design, African American theater, U.S. and international theater (geographically arranged), and of sites of interest to actors and playwrights.
www resource Theater and Drama Resources Online Journals
(from Indiana U. Bloomington Libraries)
http://www.indiana.edu/~libhper/DTD/theateronlinejournals.html

Annotated list of theater-related journals, some available on the Internet, with links to the journals.
www resource Guides to WWW theater resources
(from Indiana U. Bloomington Libraries) http://www.indiana.edu/~libhper/DTD/theatersubresources.html

Annotated list of theater super-sites on the Web, with links.
www resource Children's theater resource page
http://faculty-web.at.nwu.edu/theater/tya/

A guide to web resources for children's theater, with links to sites.
www resource A brief guide to Internet resources in theater and performance studies
Kevin McCoy (Stetson University) http://www.stetson.edu/departments/csata/thr_guid.html

A guide to web resources in theater and performance studies, with links to sites.
www resource Worldwide arts resources: theater
http://wwar.com/categories/Theater/

A guide to web resources in theater, with links to sites
.
www resource Theatre central
http://www1.playbill.com/cgi-bin/plb/central?cmd=start

A guide to theater web resources. This site also includes "Connections," a searchable directory of theater professionals, provided by Playbill.
www resource Working actor's guide: the online resource for performers & other entertainment industry professionals
http://www.workingactors.com/

A guide to services for Los Angeles area entertainment industry professionals.
www resource

Playbill on-line
http://www.playbill.com/

For information about Broadway and regional theater.

www resource

Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
http://daphne.palomar.edu/shakespeare/default.htm

An annotated guide to Shakespeare resources on the Internet, with links to texts of his works and materials on his life, Elizabethan England and the theater of his time. Includes a guide to specifically-Shakespeare search tools.

www resource

Infomine:Visual & Performing Arts
http://infomine.ucr.edu/cgi-bin/search?arts

A powerful academic Internet finding tool with links to Internet-accessible databases, journals, conference proceedings, guides and other materials relating to the performing arts. Allows browsing and provides advanced searching capabilities. Because Infomine is indexed by Library of Congress subject headings, keywords and authors, it may be searched similarly to the Library's online catalog.

 

Go to top of page

 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 

 


 

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home
Page developed and maintained by:

Send comments to:
John Burchard
 
Last updated: