PSU Library logo

 

Selected Trade Journals

 

 

INTRODUCTION

Trade journals are magazines focused on a particular trade or industry, containing feature and news articles, as well as job advertisements and product and service reviews. The articles in trade journals tend to be journalistic, rather than scholarly, in their approach. You will find trade journals useful for finding news of current events and discussion of issues relevant to the industry the journal covers. The following webpage, from the Environmental Design Library at the University of California at Berkeley, provides an excellent description of the differences between different types of journals:

Scholarly, Trade & Popular Journals.
Environmental Design Library, University of California at Berkeley
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/scholjour.html

 



The table below contains a selected list of trade journals held by Millar Library. The first column shows the journal name, call number and location in the library. The next three columns indicate each journal's availability in ABI/Inform Global, LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe, and the Business Source Elite portion of the EBSCOhost database. (To reach Business Source Elite from the main EBSCOhost page, click on the EBSCOhost Web link, and then click on Business Source Elite at the bottom of the page.) The last column gives each trade journal's webpage address, if full-text access is available through the journal's webpage.

If you are looking for a trade journal for an industry or trade not represented in this list, you can contact the association for that trade. Trade journals are often published by trade associations. You can find associations by checking association indices like the two listed below:

Associations yellow book.
Monitor Publishing Co. Semiannual.
HD2425 .A88 Basement / Reference, 1996-

State and regional associations of the United States.
Columbia Books. Annual.
HD2425 .S68 Basement / Reference, 1998

To find other business journals in our collection, please use the Library's online catalog.


Journal Title, Call #, and Website

ABI/Inform

LEXIS-NEXIS

EBSCOhost

ABA Banking Journal
HG1501 .B6 Basement, 1979-

abstracts 1971-
full text 1991-

full text 1980-

abstracts 1993-
full text 1996-

Advertising age
HF5801 .A2 Basement, 1950-
http://www.adage.com [full access]

abstracts 1971-
full text 1999-

full text 1986-

abstracts 1990-
full text 1996-

Adweek (western edition)
HF5801 .A396 Basement, 1998-
http://www.adweek.com/ [some full text access]

abstracts 1992-
full text 1997-

n/a

abstracts 1993-
full text 1994-

Air transport world
HE9761.1 .A45 Basement, 1977-

abstracts & full text 1991-

n/a

abstracts 1993-
full text 1997-

The American banker
HG1501 .A5 Basement, 1986-
http://www.americanbanker.com/
[some full text access]

n/a

full text 1979-

abstracts 1993-
full text 1997-

American demographics
HB3505 .A66 Basement, 1979-
http://www.demographics.com/

abstracts 1980-
full text 1991-

selected full text 1990-

abstracts & full text 1990-

Automotive news
HD9710 .U5 A85 Basement, 1945-46, 1971-

n/a

full text 1988-

abstracts 1993-
full text 1996-

The banker
HG1501 .B28 Basement, 1967-

abstracts 1971-
full text 1991-98

selected full text 1996-

abstracts 1993-

Banking strategies
HG1501 .A87 Basement, 1996-

abstracts 1971-
full text 1992-

full text 1981-

abstracts & full text 1996-

Beverage industry
HD9348 .U5 B44 Basement, 1977-

abstracts & full text 1997-

selected full text 1995-

abstracts & full text 1993-

Beverage world
HD9348 .U5 B47 Basement, 1982-

abstracts & full text 1991-

selected full text 1989-

abstracts 1993-

Brandweek
HF5801 .A39 Basement, 1992-

abstracts 1990-
full text 1996-

n/a

abstracts 1993-
full text 1994-

Broadcasting & cable
TK6540 .B85 5th Floor, 1993-
http://www.broadcastingcable.com/
[some full text access]

abstracts 1988-
full text 1996-

n/a

abstracts 1993-
full text 1999-

Builder
HD9715 .U5 B76 Basement, 1982-

abstracts & full text 1997-

n/a

abstracts 1999-

Business and commercial aviation
HE9761.1 .B8 Basement, 1973-

n/a

full text 1994-

n/a

Business insurance
HG8011 .B87 Basement, 1977-
http://www.businessinsurance.com/
[archives in full text]

abstracts 1975-
full text 1999-

full text 1981-

abstracts 1993-
full text 1999-

Chain store age
HF5468 .A1 C413 Basement, 1959-
http://www.chainstoreage.com/
[some full text access]

abstracts 1971-
full text 1992-

full text 1993-

abstracts & full text 1995-

Computerworld
TK7885 .A1 C66 5th Floor, 1979-
http://www.computerworld.com/

abstracts 1976-
full text 1991-

full text 1982-

abstracts 1993-
full text 1999-

Consumer reports
TX335 .A1 C6 Basement, 1964-

abstracts 1981-

full text 1988-

abstracts 1984-
full text 1997-

Consumer's research magazine
TX335 .A1 C68 Basement, 1957-

n/a

n/a

abstracts 1984-
full text 1990-

Datamation
HF5548.2 .A1 D34 Basement, 1959-1998
http://www.datamation.com
[full access, online only 1998- ]

abstracts 1971-98
full text 1996-98

abstracts 1995-98

abstracts 1984-

Direct marketing
HF5861 .R4 Basement, 1969-

abstracts 1972-
full text 1991-

abstracts 1994-

abstracts & full text 1994-

Discount merchandiser
HF5001 .D2 Basement, 1970-

abstracts 1972-
full text 1991-

n/a

abstracts & full text 1993-

Drug topics
RS1 .D65 2nd Floor, 1977-

abstracts 1974-
full text 1991-

abstracts 1995-

abstracts 1993-

Electronic business
HD9696 .A3 U5376 Basement, 1983-95, 1997-
http://www.eb-mag.com
[full access for recent issues]

abstracts 1995-
full text 1996-

n/a

abstracts 1997-
full text 1999-

Electronic news
HD9696 .U5 E4 Basement, 1986-

n/a

n/a

abstracts 1993-
full text 1994-

eWeek (formerly PC week )
QA75.5 .P37 5th Floor, 1989-
http://www.zdnet.com/eweek/ [some full text access]

n/a

n/a

abstracts 1993-

Future banker
HG1501 .F88 Basement, 1997-

n/a

full text 1998-

abstracts & full text 1999-

Hotel and motel management
TX909 .A1 H54 Basement, 1979-

abstracts 1986-
full text 1997-

abstracts 1996

abstracts 1993-
full text 1995-

Industry week
TS300 .I745 5th Floor, 1930-
http://www.industryweek.com [some full text access]

abstracts 1972-
full text 1991-

full text 1981-

abstracts 1993-
full text 1996-

InfoWorld
QA76.5 .I53 5th Floor, 1983-
http://www.infoworld.com [some full text access]

abstracts 1986-
full text 1991-

full text 1983-

abstracts 1993-
full text 1997-

The Investment dealers' digest
HG4501 .I732 Basement, 1967-

abstracts & full text 1991-

n/a

abstracts 1997-
full text 1998-

Iron age new steel (a.k.a. New steel)
HD9510.1 .N46 Basement, 1993-

abstracts & full text 1998-

selected full text 1997-

abstracts 1993-
full text 1999-

Journal of current issues and research in advertising
HF5801 .C84 Basement, 1978-90, 1992-

n/a

n/a

abstracts 1999-

Marketing news
HF5415 .A2 M37 Basement, 1974/75-

abstracts 1974-
full text 1991-

abstracts 1994-

abstracts & full text 1993-

National petroleum news
HD9560.1 .N3 Basement, 1961, 1963-

n/a

selected full text 1998-

abstracts 1993-
full text 1995-

National underwriter (life & health ed.)
HG8751 .N3 Basement, 1964-

abstracts 1979-
full text 1992-

selected full text 1996-

abstracts 1993-
full text 1996-

National underwriter (property & casualty/risk ed.)
HG8011 .N35 Basement, 1964-

abstracts 1979-
full text 1992-

full text 1998-

abstracts 1993-
full text 1996-

Pensions & investments
HD7106 .U5 P425 Basement, 1981-

abstracts 1975-
full text 1999-

full text 1987-

abstracts 1993-
full text 1996-

Progressive grocer
HF5469 .A2 P7 Basement, 1964-
http://www.progressivegrocer.com/
[some full text access]

abstracts & full text 1991-

selected full text 1997-98

abstracts 1993-
full text 1996-

Real estate review
HD251 .R44 Basement, 1971-

abstracts 1972-

abstracts 1995-

abstracts 1990-
full text 1990-98

Realtor magazine
HD251 .R293 Basement, 1968-

n/a

abstracts 1998-

n/a

Restaurant business
TX901 .R4 Basement, 1978,1980,1982-
http://www.restaurantbiz.com [some full text access]

abstracts & full text 1991-

n/a

abstracts 1993-
full text 1995-

Restaurants and institutions
TX1 .I58 Basement, 1979-

abstracts 1992-
full text 1995-

n/a

abstracts 1993-
full text 1999-

Stores : the bulletin of the N.R.D.G.A.
HD9951 .N36 Basement, 1964-

abstracts 1991-

abstracts 1996-

abstracts 1993-

Supermarket business
HF5469 .A2 S84 Basement, 1971-
http://www.supermarketbusiness.com/
[some full text access]

abstracts 1988-
full text 1996-

n/a

abstracts 1993-

United States banker
HG1 .U52 Basement, 1977-

n/a

full text 1993-

abstracts 1993-1994

Ward’s auto world
HD9710 .U5 W32 Basement, 1965-

abstracts & full text 1994-

selected full text 1983-

abstracts 1993-
full text 1997-



This guide was compiled by Dee Magnoni in 1999, and updated & enlarged by Emily-Jane Dawson in July of 2000.

University Home | Library Home | Subject Guides

 

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home

Page maintained by:
Elizabeth Howell
Send comments to:
howell@pdx.edu

 
Last updated: