PSU Library logo

 

U.S. Marketing Research

 

Introduction | Demographic Data | Consumer Surveys & Market Information | Product & Industry Data | Company and Financial Information | Market Share | Market Surveys & Research Reports | Information about Specific Industries | Marketing Journals | Market Research Firms

 


 

INTRODUCTION

Researching the domestic market for goods and services can be a complicated and time consuming process. This guide will provide a starting point for your research, but you should remember that additional sources are available. You can browse the library shelves, search the Library's online catalog, check the bibliographies of books and articles on your topic, and search the world wide web. If you have any questions or are having trouble finding what you need, please visit the Reference Desk on the second floor..

All of the sources in this guide can be found in the Portland State University Library, accessed through the Library's computer network, or are available on the world wide web. Many are used widely and will also be found in other university and college libraries, or large public libraries.

Please see our other marketing guides, International Marketing and International Marketing – Statistical Sources for help with research in international marketing topics.

back to contents

 

DEMOGRAPHIC DATA

The sources below provide statistical data on people and populations, including housing, employment, income, education, mortality, families, race, and religion.

1990 Census of population and housing
U.S. Bureau of the Census
Provides detailed social and economic information for the nation, regions, states, counties, metropolitan areas, cities, census tracts, ZIP codes, and blocks.
C3.223/10:1990 Basement / Documents Collection
Also available from the U.S. Census Bureau webpage.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
U.S. Department of Labor
http://www.bls.gov

Bureau of Transportation Statistics
U.S. Department of Transportation
http://www.bts.gov

County Business Patterns
U.S. Census Bureau
HC101 .A184 / Stacks

Available in print, on CD-ROM and Web

County population estimates
U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/population/www/estimates/citypop.html

Digest of education statistics
U.S. Department of Education. Annual
LA 209.2 .A23 2nd Floor / Reference, 1999
WWW: http://nces.ed.gov/pubs2000/digest99/

Demographics USA. County edition
Market Statistics. Annual
HC110 .C6 s83 Basement / Reference, 1999

Metropolitan area population estimates
U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/population/www/estimates/metropop.html

National Center for Education Statistics
U.S. Department of Education
http://nces.ed.gov/

National Center for Health Statistics
Centers for Disease Control
http://www.cdc.gov/nchswww/default.htm

Place and county subdivision population estimates
U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/population/www/estimates/citypop.html

Rand McNally commercial atlas and marketing guide
Rand McNally. Annual
G1019 .R22 Basement / Oversized

The sourcebook of ZIP code demographics
CACI. Annual
Covers population change, population composition, income, spending potential profiles. Projections are for 1996/2001.
HA203 .S66 Basement / Reference, 1996

Statistical abstract of the United States
U.S. Bureau of the Census
HA202 Basement / Reference Desk, 2000
The Statistical abstract is also available from the U.S. Census Bureau in .pdf format.

Understanding the census : a guide for marketers, planners, grant writers, and other data users
Epoch. c1996
A helpful guide for using Census materials.
HA201 1990ar Basement / Reference

USA counties 1998
Government Information Sharing Project, Oregon State University.
USA Counties, from the Census Bureau, compiles useful demographic, economic, and governmental information spanning several years and sources for county comparisons and profiles.
http://govinfo.kerr.orst.edu/usaco-stateis.html

U.S. Census Bureau
U.S. Department of Commerce
http://www.census.gov/
Largest federal statistics gathering agency, responsible for the decennial census of population and housing, the economic census, the census of governments, and many other surveys and censuses.

back to contents

 

CONSUMER SURVEYS & MARKET INFORMATION

The information in the following sources is similar to that you'll find in the sources in the Demographic Data section, but focuses on consumption, buying patterns and projections, and other consumer data. Some of these sources are entirely composed of data (generally in the form of graphs and tables), but some contain narrative information as well.

American generations : who they are, how they live, what they think
New Strategist Publications. c1998. 2nd ed.
HC110 .C6 M545 1998 Basement / Reference

Best customers : demographics of consumer demand.
New Strategist, c1999
HC110 .C6 R87 Basement / Reference

Consumer expenditure survey, 1994-1995
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
L 2.3: 2492 Basement / Documents Collection

Consumer expenditures in ...
U.S. Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. Annual
HD8051 .A7876 Basement, 1993-
http://stats.bls.gov/news.release/cesan.toc.htm
(news release of most recent edition)
http://stats.bls.gov/csxhome.htm
(archive covering 1984- )

Generation X : the young adult market
New Strategist Publications. c1997
Information on young adults collected from the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, National Center for Education Statistics, and Chicago's National Opinion Research Center.
HC110 .C6 M544 1997 Basement / Reference

Hispanic Americans: a statistical sourcebook
Numbers & Concepts. Annual
E184 .S75 H5655 2nd Floor / Reference, 1997-1998

Household spending: who spends how much on what
New Strategist Publications. Biennial
Based on average spending data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Expenditure Survey.
HC110 .C6 O34 Basement / Reference, 1999

Lifestyle market analyst
Standard Rate & Data Service. Annual
Also known as the Polk directory.
HF5415.33 .U6 L54 Basement / Reference, 2000

Mediamark reporter
Mediamark Research Inc. 1998
Includes MRI's complete product volumes as well as Upper Deck and CablePro reports.
CD-ROM installed on workstation in Basement

Mediamark research ...
Mediamark Research Inc. Seminannual
Market data on various products.
HF5415.3 .M43 Basement / Reference

The mid-youth market: baby boomers in their peak earning and spending years.
New Strategist Publications. c1996
HN60 .R87 1996 Basement / Reference

National Opinion Research Center Library
http://www.norc.uchicago.edu/library/
National Opinion Research Center, University of Chicago
The National Opinion Research Center Library (NORC) provides online access to some NORC survey data in .pdf format. The NORC conducts research in the public interest for government agencies, educational institutions, private foundations, non-profit organizations, and private corporations.

The official guide to American incomes
New Strategist Publications. 1993
Provides a look at how much Americans have to spend, with a section on discretionary income.
HC110 .I5 R87 Basement / Reference

The official guide to the American market-place
New Strategist Publications & Consulting. 1995 2nd. ed.
Provides national data on social and political trends within the United States. Includes topics such as population, income, wealth, labor force, education, health, and attitudes.
HA214 .O35 Basement / Reference

Survey of Buying Power
Sales & Marketing Management, Annual Issue
HF5438 .A34 / Reference

Simmons study of media and markets
Simmons Market Research Bureau, Inc. Annual
Contains the results of a national probability sample of U.S. consumers. Over 40 volumes provide very detailed data for specific consumer goods.
HC110 .C6 S77 Basement / Reference Desk

U.S. market trends & forecasts
Gale Group. c1999
HF5415.1 .U7 Basement / Reference

Who's buying food & drink : who spends how much on food and alcohol, at and away from home
New Strategist Publications. 1996
HD9004 .M54 1996 Basement / Reference

Who's buying for the home
New Strategist Publications. Biennial
HD9971 .U6 W56 Basement / Reference, 1996

back to contents

 

PRODUCT & INDUSTRY DATA

Here you will find statistical data on industry, manufacturing, specific products and companies, production, consumption, and company and industry finances.

CRB Commodity Yearbook
Commodity Research Bureau

HF1041 .C56 / Reference, 2000

Encyclopedia of American industries
Gale Research
Very useful essays on numerous industries, documenting trends, major players, etc. Arranged by SIC codes with alphabetical index. Each industry area includes a section of further reading.
HC102 .E53 1998 Basement / Reference, 2001

Encyclopedia of Associations
Gale Research
HS17 .E55 / Reference
Also available on CD-ROM.

Manufacturing and distriubution USA
Gale Group. Annual
Provides analysis and synthesis of federal economic statistics in 448 manufacturing industries, including product share details.
HD9721 .M368 Basement / Reference, 2000

Monthly retail trade survey
U. S. Census Bureau. Monthly
Retail sales and inventory data.
C3.138/3: Basement / Documents Collection
WWW: http://www.census.gov/mrts/www/mrts.html

Monthly wholesale trade survey
U. S. Census Bureau. Monthly
Wholesale sales and inventory data.
C3.133: Basement / Documents Collection
WWW: http://www.census.gov/svsd/www/mwts.html

North American Industry Classification System
Executive Office of the President, Office of Management and Budget
PREX 2.6/2:IN 27/997/CLOTH / Reference
Electronic Version at Census Bureau (Includes conversion tables for SIC and NAICS)

National Trade and Professional Associations of the United States
Columbia Books
HD2425 .D53 / 2001

Service industries USA: industry analyses, statistics, and leading organizations.
Gale Research. Biennial
Provides analysis of economic activity in 150 service industries, subdivided into for-profit and non-profit categories.
HD9981.1 .S47 Basement / Reference, 1996

Statistical factbook
Direct Marketing Association. Annual
HF5415.122 .F3 Basement / Reference, 1999

Standard and Poor's industry surveys
Standard & Poor's Corporation. Weekly
Provides trend data and current analyses for 33 industries. The series is updated weekly, with each industry sector receiving an update about once a year.
HG4905 .S66 Basement / Reference Desk

U.S. industry profiles: the leading 100
Gale Research. Biennial
Provides industry snapshot, outlook, work force, research and technology, America and the world, associations and societies, periodicals and newsletters, databases, statistics sources, general works, and further reading.
HD2771 .U8 Basement / Reference, 1995

U.S. industry & trade outlook
U.S. Department of Commerce / DRI-McGrawHill. Annual
Provides industry overview and outlook for over 70 industries.
HC106.5 .A17 Basement / Reference Desk

back to contents

 

Company and Financial Information

Below is a listing of guides, handbooks and databases which can help you locate company reports, financial information, and other competitive intelligence.

Almanac of Business and Financial Ratios
Prentice-Hall
HF5681 .R25 T68 / Reference, 2001

D&B Business Rankings
Dun & Bradstsreet
HC102.2 .D86 / Reference, 2001

D&B million dollar directory : America's leading public & private companies
Dun & Bradstreet
HC102 .D8 / Reference, 2000

EDGAR Database of corporate information
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
http://www.sec.gov/edgarhp.htm
EDGAR (the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system) provides access to submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Documents include 10-K's, 10-Q's, Proxy Statements, etc.

Hoover's handbook of American business
Reference Press, Inc. Annual
HG4057 .A28617 Basement / Reference, 2001

Hoover's handbook of emerging companies
Reference Press. Annual
HG4057 .A28618 Basement / Reference, 2001

Hoover's handbook of private companies
Hoover's Business Press
HG4057 .A286185 Basement / Reference, 1997

Hoover's online
http://www.hoovers.com/
Company and industry data and related information.

Investext
Gale Group
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/oregon_portland/  
(click on Investext icon; Portland State University only)
Database providing access to reports and forecasts prepared by top Wall Street and international brokerage firms. More than 11,000 U.S. and international companies and 53 industries are covered.

Moody's Industrial Manual
Moody's Investors Service
HG4961 .M67 / Reference, 2000

Thomas register of American manufacturers
Thomas Pub. Co. Annual
T12 .T6 Basement / Reference
WWW: http://www.thomasregister.com
(note: the web version of the Thomas register is free, but registration is required for access.)

Wards Business Directory of U.S. private and public companies.
Vol. 3, Ranked by sales within industry
Gale Research
HG4057 .A532 / Reference, 2001

back to contents

 

MARKET SHARE

Market share reporter
Gale Research Co. Annual
Reports market share data for companies and over 2000 products, primarily for the U.S.
HF5410 .M35 Basement / Reference, 2001

Ward's business directory.
Gale Research. Annual
Lists companies by SIC code, ranks them and provides sales for each company and a total for the industry.
HG4057 .A532 Basement / Reference, 2001

back to contents

 

MARKET SURVEYS & RESEARCH REPORTS

Market reports and surveys are not generally available in the library. Most market reports can be ordered from research companies, usually for a substantial fee. The following sources can be used to identify market research firms and their reports.

Findex : the worldwide directory of market research reports, studies and surveys
NSA Directories. Annual
A comprehensive listing of commercially available market and business research, indexed by industry, company name, geographic area. (Market research reports which deal with a specific market or product tend to be very expensive.)
HF5415.2 .F55 Basement/Reference, 2000

Green book
New York Chapter, American Marketing Association. Annual
International directory of marketing research houses and services.
HF5415.2 .I55 Basement / Reference, 2000/01

MRA blue book, research services directory
New York, N.Y. : Marketing Research Association
HF5415.2 .M3557a Basement / Reference, 2000

back to contents

 

INFORMATION ABOUT SPECIFIC INDUSTRIES

General narrative and statistical information about specific industries can be found in some of the survey publications (such as Standard & Poor's industry surveys) found in the Product & Industry Data section of this guide. Professional associations for specific industries may also publish factbooks or guides to their industry. To find professional associations, use:

Associations yellow book
Monitor Publishing Co. Semiannual, Winter 2001
HD2425 .A88 Basement / Reference, 1996-

State and regional associations of the United States
Columbia Books. Annual
HD2425 .S68 Basement / Reference, 1998

In addition, many trade periodicals publish surveys and industry overviews which focus on particular topics. Often, specific issues or supplements of these publications present very useful overviews of a particular market or industry. To identify special issues use:

Directory of business periodical special issues
Reference Press. 1995
Z7164 .C81 D57 Basement / Z Collection

Below is a sample list of industry/product factbooks and trade journal special issues available in the Portland State University Library. Trade journals typically have current statistical data for their trade.

Aerospace Facts and Figures
Aerospace Industries Association of America. Annual
TL501 .A818 5th Floor, 1963-

The ... annual computer industry almanac
Computer Industry Almanac Inc. Annual
HD9696 .A1 C65 Basement, 1992, 1996

Automotive News
Crain Automotive Group. Weekly
The annual Market data book contains automobile sales by company and model for U.S.
HD9710 .U5 A85 Basement, 1945-46, 1971-

Beverage industry
[Magazines for Industry]. Monthly
Beverage industry annual manual is published annually in August.
HD9348 .A1 B44 Basement, 1972-

AAMA Motor Vehicle Facts and Figures
Government Affairs Division of the American Automobile Manufacturers Association. Annual
HD9710 .A1 M6 Basement, 1976-

Restaurant Business
[Restaurant Business]. 18 issues/year.
Restaurant growth index provides data on food services by market segment. Published annually.
TX901 .R4 Basement, 1978-

back to contents

 

MARKETING JOURNALS

There are a whole host of journals which deal with various aspects of marketing and the marketing industry. To search for articles in marketing and other business journals, use one of the following journal indexes or databases:

 

Business source premier
EBSCOhost
(Portland State University only)
EBSCOhost is a comprehensive service which includes many databases. To reach Business source elite from the main EBSCOhost search page, click on the "EBSCOhost Web" link, and then select Business source elite from the title list. Contains abstracts and full text of articles from more than 960 journals covering business, management, economics, and finance.

Lexis-Nexis : academic universe
Lexis-Nexis
(Portland State University only)
Includes the full text of magazines, wire services, business and legal publications, government documents, medical journals, and reference sources.

Below is a selection of journals dealing with different aspects of marketing, all of which are available at the Portland State Library. To find other journals, please use the Library's online catalog.

BtoB: the magazine for marketing and e-commerce strategists
Crain Communications, Inc.
http://www.netb2b.com/netMarketing200/

Direct marketing
[Hoke Communications]. Monthly
HF5861 .R4 Basement, 1969-

Food marketing review
U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Economic Research Service. Annual.
HD1751 .A91854 Basement / Microfiche Collection, 1985, 1988-
A1.107/3 Basement / Documents, 1997

Industrial marketing management
Elsevier North-Holland, Inc. Quarterly
HF5415.12 .E8 I53 Basement, 1971-

International journal of research in marketing
North-Holland. Quarterly
HF5410 .I53 Basement, 1984-

International marketing review
Corporate Press. Quarterly
Electronic access through Ingenta.com
HF1009.5 .I55 Basement, 1985-2000

The journal of business & industrial marketing
[Grayson Associates]. Bimonthly
Electronic access through Ingenta.com
HF5410 .J648 Basement, 1987-2000

The journal of consumer marketing.
[Grayson Associates]. Bimonthly
Electronic access through Ingenta.com

Journal of interactive marketing
Medill School of Journalism, Dept. of Advertising, Northwestern University. Quarterly
Electronic access through Ingenta.com
Formerly the Journal of direct marketing
HF5415.126 .J63 Basement, 1987-

Journal of marketing
American Marketing Association. Quarterly
HF5415 .A2 J6 Basement, 1936-

Journal of marketing education
Business Research Division. 3 issues/year.
HF5410 .J2 Basement, 1981-

Journal of marketing research
[American Marketing Association]. Quarterly
HF5415 .A2 J63 Basement, 1964-

Journal of professional services marketing
Haworth Press. Quarterly
HF5410 .J733 Basement, 1985/86-

Marketing
Haymarket Magazines Ltd. Monthly
HF5415 .A2 M3 Basement, 1965-

Marketing and research today.
European Society for Opinion and Marketing Research. Quarterly
Formerly European research.
HF5415.2 .E96 Basement, 1973-80, 1990-1999

Marketing news
American Marketing Association. Biweekly
HF5415 .A2 M37 Basement, 1974-

Marketing research
The [American Marketing] Association. Quarterly
HF5415.2 .M355 Basement, 1990-

Potentials
Lakewood Publications. Monthly
Electronic access through Ingenta.com
Formerly Potentials in marketing.
HF5410 .P65 Basement, 1989-

Psychology & marketing
Van Nostrand Reinhold. Quarterly
HF5415.2 .P84 Basement, 1984-

Sales & marketing management
Sales and Marketing Management. Monthly (except semimonthly in Feb., Apr., Aug. & Nov.).
Formerly Sales management, Advertisers' weekly and Sales management and advertisers' weekly.
HF5438 .A34 Basement, 1958-

back to contents

 

MARKET RESEARCH FIRMS

Although most of the firms listed below want to sell their research reports for a profit, some of the sites contain some free information and data.

American Marketing Association
International society of marketing professionals.
http://www.ama.org/

Best Market Reports
http://www.exportservices.com/best.html
Best Market Reports (a service of the National Export Offer Service (NEOS)) are surveys on specific U.S. industries with "high export potential."

Gartner.com
Information technology research firm.
http://www3.gartner.com/Init

Electronic Trend Publications
Publisher of market research reports on a variety of electronics topics.
http://www.electronictrendpubs.com/

Frost & Sullivan (F&S)
A computer-focused market consulting company.
http://www.frost.com/

The Gallup Organization
Provides consumer and demographic research nationally and around the world.
http://www.gallup.com/

International Data Corporation (IDC)
Company providing computer and information technology industry analysis, market research, and strategic analysis.
http://www.idcresearch.com/

The Information Gatekeepers Group
Firm providing telecommunications research and consulting.
http://www.igigroup.com/

Jupiter Communications
Firm specializing in internet and e-commerce research.
http://www.jup.com/

Marketing Research Association (MRA)
Professional society of marketers and market researchers.
http://www.mra-net.org/

The NPD Group
Market research firm specializing in consumer purchase behavior research.
http://www.npd.com/

The Roper Center
Public opinion research firm, engaging in survey research in the United States and abroad.
http://www.ropercenter.uconn.edu/

The top 50 U.S. research organizations (Honomichl 50)
American Marketing Association - Marketing News

Vivamus Concepts, Inc.
Information consulting firm specializing in research on the world wide web and high technology.
http://www.vivamus.com/

back to contents



Revised September 2001

University Home | Library Home | Subject Guides

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home
Page maintained by:
Elizabeth Howell and Daphne Allen
Send comments to:
howell@pdx.edu
 
Last updated: