PSU Library logo

 

WOMEN'S STUDIES RESOURCES IN THE PSU LIBRARY

 

The information resources listed below are located in the Reference Area on the 2nd floor of the Library unless otherwise noted.

 

 

Encyclopedias

Provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts for a general audience. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing in which articles a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.
book From suffrage to the Senate: An encyclopedia of American women in politics, 2 vols.
HQ1236.5 .U6 S32 1999
book Women in the Third World: An encyclopedia of contemporary issues
HQ1870.9 .W6548 1998
book Women's studies encyclopedia, 3 vols.
HQ1115 .W645 1999
book Encyclopedia of feminist theories
HQ1190 .E63 2000
book A to Z of Native American women
E98 .W8 S65 1998
book Facts on File encyclopedia of Black women in America,
11 vols.
E185.96 .F2 1997
book Women's issues, 3 vols.
HQ1115 .W6425 1997
book Encyclopedia of women and world religion, 2 vols.
BL458 .E53 1999
book Encyclopedia of women artists of the American West
N8214.5 .U6 K68 1998
book American women in technology: an encyclopedia
T36 .Z54 2000

Go to top of page

 

Reference Books

book Women in World History : a biographical encyclopedia, 13 vols.
HQ1115 .W6 1999
book Women's atlas of the United States
G1201 .E1 G5 1995
book Nobel prize women in science
Q141. M358 1998b
book

Chronology of women worldwide : people, places & events that shaped women's history
HQ1121 .C617 1996

book Historical dictionary of feminism
HQ1115 .B65 1996
book Dictionary of feminist theory
HQ1115 .H86 1995
book The Information please women's sourcebook: resources and information to use everyday
HQ1406 .I54 1995
book 1001 things everyone should know about women's history
HQ1121 .J634 1998
book Directory of financial aids for women, 1997-99
LB2338 .D564
book The women's movement in the Seventies: an International English-language bibliography
Z7961 .K74
book Feminist research methods : an annotated bibliography
Z7963 .F44 M54 1991

Statistical Sources

book Statistical handbook on women in America
HQ1420 .T34 1996
book Statistical handbook on the American family
HQ536 .S727 1999
book Statistical handbook on women worldwide
HQ1420 .T34 1996
book

Where to find BLS statistics on women 1998
HD8051 .A7876

book Statistical Abstract of the United States (annual)
HA202

Bibliographies

For additional bibliographies on women of specific countries or ethnic groups, search the subject field in Vikat using "women - [name of country/ethnicity] - bibliography. You can also find many bibliographies on women in many areas using the subject "women-bibliography."
book African American women: an annotated bibliography
E185.86 .T43 2001
book Cuban and Cuban-American women: an annotated bibliography
Z7964 .C85 S76
book Women in Japanese society: an annotated bibliography of selected English language materials
Z7964 .J3 H82 1992
book

psu-only access via the web

Gender equity in education : an annotated bibliography
Z5814 .D5 S75 1994
Z5814 .D5 S75 1994 INTERNET

book Gypsies: an interdisciplinary reader
DX145 .G94 1998
book

psu-only access via the web
Muslim women throughout the world : a Bibliography
Z7963 .I74 K56 1997
Z7963 .I74 K56 1997 INTERNET
book

psu-only access via the web
Northwest women : an annotated bibliography of sources on the history of Oregon and Washington women, 1787-1970
Z7964 .U5 O73 1997
Z7964 .U5 O73 1997 INTERNET
book Notable women in world history: a guide to recommended biographies and autobiographies
Z7963 .B6 A28 1998
book Reader's guide to women's studies
Z7961 .R43 1998
book

psu-only access via the web
Women & aging: a guide to the literature
Z7963 .A4 W54
Z7963 .A4 W54 INTERNET
book Women and children of the mills: an annotated guide to nineteenth-century American textile factory literature
Z1227 .R36 1999
book Women and health: an annotated bibliography
Z6671 .B45 1997
book Women and mass communications in the 1990's: an International annotated bibliography
Z5633 .W65 L45 1999
www resource Women and social movements in the United States, 1820-1940 [computer file]
HQ1410 .W644 INTERNET
book

psu-only access via the web
Women in modern American politics : a bibliography, 1900-
Z7963 .P64 C69 1997
Z7963 .P64 C69 INTERNET
book Women in U.S. history: a resource guide
HQ1410 .H3645 2000

Go to top of page

 

Databases and Indexes

Magazine, periodical and journal articles provide information on current developments, research trends, experiments and hot topics in a discipline. For every discipline, there are specific databases or indexes that provide article level information. Once articles are identified through the database or index search, look up the source journal in Vikat, PSU Library's online catalog, to locate them in the library. For a complete list of online databases and indexes, see the Library's Online Databases pages.
book Sage Family Studies Abstracts
HQ728 .S24
book Women Studies Abstracts
HQ1101 .W67
book Women's Studies Index
Z7962 .W66
psu-only access via the web America History and Life
psu-only access via the web Historical Abstracts
psu-only access via the web PsycInfo
psu-only access via the web Social Work Abstracts
psu-only access via the web Sociological Abstracts
psu-only access via the web Wilson Biographies Plus
CD ROM source Social Sciences Index
CD ROM source Women's Studies on Disc

Go to top of page

 

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in women's studies. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desks throughout the library. 
 
 
  Feminism
  Feminist theory
  Feminists
  Lesbianism
  Lesbians
  Mothers
  Sex Role
  Women
  Women-[country name]
  Women artists (authors, etc.)
  Women's rights
  Women's studies

 

Go to top of page

 

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
  HQ1101-HQ2030

 

Go to top of page

Organizations

Often the best way to find information on a topic is to look for material published by a professional society 
or an organization.
www resource National Women's Studies Association
http://nwsa.org/
www resource National Abortion and Reproductive Rights League (http://www.naral.org/index.html)
www resource National Organization for Women (NOW)
(http://www.now.org)

 

Go to top of page

 

Selected Online Journals

 
psu-only access via the web Differences 1998-present
psu-only access via the web Hypatia 1999-present
Also in print (HQ1101 .H9 v.1-8 1986-1993)
psu-only access via the web Journal of Women's History 1999/2000-present
Also in print (HQ1101 .J68 v.1- 1989-)
psu-only access via the web NWSA Journal 1999-present
Also in print (HQ1101 .N9 v.1- 1988-)
psu-only access via the web GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies 2000-present

 

Go to top of page

 

Web Resources

www resource National Women's History Project
http://www.nwhp.org
www resource Women's Studies Programs, Departments & Research Centers
http://research.umbc.edu/~korenman/wmst/programs.html
www resource WSSLINKS: Women & Gender Studies Web Sites
http://libraries.mit.edu/humanities/WomensStudies/wscd.html
www resource Women's Studies/Women's Resource Sites
http://umbc7.umbc.edu/~korenman/wmst/links.html
www resource Ecofeminism
http://www-rcf.usc.edu/~orenstei/ecofem/
www resource SAWNET: South Asian Women's NETwork
http://www.umiacs.umd.edu/users/sawweb/sawnet/
www resource Margaret Sanger Papers Project http://www.nyu.edu/projects/sanger/index.html

Go to top of page

 

Return to Subject Resource Guides 

 

 

Return to top 

 

    Jump to PSU Library Home PSU Home
Page developed and maintained by:
Faye Powell
 
Last updated: